New Arrivals!

I have been going to the library picking up more than the one book I allow myself every now and then. The books I saw looked so nice and new, I had to have them.

I did well on winning books recently: I won one book from a Dutch literature website, and 3 on twitter: two by retweeting a post (one is the Twitter book below, the other a Mysterious Paperback, to be received) and one is a book voucher from a Dutch book shop that I won by answering some questions correctly on Twitter. Yes, Twitter is the new way to obtain books, it seems!

Books that I won

A Twitter Year by Kate Bussmann

A Twitter Year by Kate Bussmann

I won this book from Penguin Benelux (@PenguinBenelux) by retweeting their tweet about this book.

It seems like a really good Christmas present for any Twitterer that you may now, even if they’re not great readers. Important events of the year are introduced briefly and then described through tweets from people all over the world. There is politics, celebrity, science and nature, arts, religion, etc. At the end of the book there is a tweet for every day of the year.

Een steek diep ["Six Feet Under"] by F. Starik

Een steek diep [Six Feet Under] by F. Starik

I won this book from the Dutch literary website Tzum by answering some literary questions.

This is a non-fiction book about “solitary funerals”: funerals where there are no guests because the deceased was all alone in the world or their identity is unknown. The writer researches the background of the deceased and presents a poem (that is read at the funeral, made especially for the occasion, if I got this right). Sounds… interesting!

Books from the library

The Truth About Food by Jill Fullerton-Smith

The Truth About Food by Jill Fullerton-Smith

From Dutch online book store bol.com: “Is red wine good or bad for you? Can certain foods stop you needing glasses? Is it worth drinking eight glasses of water a day? Which foods are aphrodisiacs, and which are just passion killers? Why does your thin friend eat what she likes, yet never put on weight? Do detox diets really work? It’s time to find out.

The Truth About Food is the biggest-ever investigation of its kind. For the very first time, all the common myths about food have been put to the test in the science lab and in real-life trials, in order to prove once and for all which are fact and which are merely fiction. Whether exploring spinach, soya, omega-3 or dairy products, this landmark book reveals the truth, and nothing but the truth, about the effects of food on our bodies.”

Don't Look Now by Daphne du Maurier

Don’t Look Now by Daphne Du Maurier

I’ve enjoyed several books by Daphne du Maurier but not yet this book of short stories. It looked so beautiful and new that I just had to take it home with me!

From Dutch online book store bol.com:”Daphne du Maurier’s Don’t Look Now was published in 1971 and became a haunting film in 1973. It describes a young couple who travel to Venice to try and escape the pain of their daughter’s death. Instead of laying their ghosts to rest, however, they find themselves caught up in a series of increasingly strange and violent events, in a brilliant meditation on loss, fear and fate.”

The Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate Harrison

The Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate Harrison

Another book that I (mainly) got for its cover. I’ve read it meanwhile and it was OK (not brilliant, but a fast read).

The second in the Secret Shopper series, in which three friends, who worked together in the first book as secret shoppers, are having men trouble and with Christmas dinners at the in-laws not going as planned, they support each other through the difficult holiday period.

Garden Spells by Sarah Allen

Garden Spells by Sarah Allen

For my local book group meeting. I’d heard a lot about this book. I read it yesterday on the train and in the evening. Quite a simple, nice read.

A woman returns to her home town after having been away for many years. Her sister is still living in the old family home and she takes her and her daughter in. In the garden are plants and an apple tree that seem to work magic when people consume them. Featuring several love interests and an abusive husband.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Uniflame says:

    I enjoyed reading Garden Spells myself. I came across it through Bookcrossing and I am glad I did🙂 It was the book that made me discover the magical realism genre.

  2. Ah, Don’t Look Now. That brings me back to my school days. I loved those stories then and the film was quite good as well.

  3. Birgit says:

    My oh my, maybe I should sign up for Twitter after all😉 then again I receive enough books through giveaways as it is (do you remember when I was complaining early this year that I’d never be able to come up with a decent IMM post … how times have changed, ha).
    BTW the Kate Harrison book sounds good! I’ve heard about her Secret Shopper series before and I really liked “The Starter Marriage”, so maybe I will get one of the books before I go on my self-imposed book buying ban in 2012.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Birgit, Twitter is a must if you want to attract more people to your blog. But then, I think you have quite a few followers already.🙂

      Good luck with the book ban. Not for the *whole *of the year, is it?

  4. Ellie says:

    I enjoyed ‘The Secret Shopper Unwrapped – as you said, nothing special but a bit of fun for the festive season – and ‘Garden Spells’. I loved that mischievous apple tree! I think ‘The Truth About Food’ MIGHT have been a television series here at some point. I nearly bought the book once or twice too. I’ll have to await your verdict and see whether I need to add it back onto my wishlist!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ellie, yes, *The Truth Abou Food* was indeed a television series. While reading the book (chapter 1, so far) I am wondering whether maybe I saw one or two episodes. It’s very interesting.

  5. Trisha says:

    I really like the idea of that funeral book; it seems….poignant (?). I’m not sure that is the right word, but there you have it.

  6. Novroz says:

    Luck you forwinning those books🙂
    Ah…I haven’t been to library in months😦

    • Leeswammes says:

      The library is a dangerous place, Novroz, they have so many books I want to read. Usually I’m “good” but last week I took several. It’s OK, I think I will be able to finish them in time.

  7. Alex says:

    Interesting that your bookclub chose “Garden Spells”. Really liked it, very cute, but I’m curious to see what you’ll debate about😛

    • Leeswammes says:

      Alex, indeed, it’s not really a book that invites a lot of discussion, I think. But we wanted a light read, as we’re discussing this 10 days before Christmas.

  8. Cindy says:

    Congrats on the wins, Judith, do you speed-read?

  9. I enjoyed Garden Spells as well–a sweet, fun book.🙂

  10. Mystica says:

    Nice selection. Six Feet Under was a nice tv drama as well which I enjoyed centred around a funeral home business and its inhabitants.

  11. Beth F says:

    Wow you have some good titles there. I have Garden Spells on audio but haven’t had a chance to listen.

  12. Leslie says:

    A garden with a magic apple tree? Sounds like a book I can relate to.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Indeed, Leslie. Don’t you have one of those?

      • Leslie says:

        I have the garden and the apple tree, but my tree is lacking magic. It barely makes apples and when it does, the squirrels eat them before I can pick them.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Oh, that’s a pity! I used to have a great apple tree that was also very popular with wasps if I wasn’t quick enough. In my current garden the apple tree has been cut down (by me) and refuses to give any new apples now. But I used to make a lot of Nigella’s apple sauce from the trees in either garden.

        I do think your apple tree is in dire need of magic!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

