Number Crunching

700th Post

This, my dear readers, is my 700th post on this blog! I started in April 2010 and have been posting steadily ever since. This year, 2011, I have posted every day and will do so until the end of the year. In the new year, I will take it easier, but you can still expect several posts a week.

Of course, I’d never be writing all these blog posts if I didn’t think there were people out there reading them. And there are! I’ve got 425 followers/subscribers which I am very proud of as they all ‘voluntarily’ subscribed (I have never asked anyone to subscribe as a requirement for a giveaway).

Thanks for reading my blog, all of you!

15,000 Tweets

Twitter A few days ago, I reached 15,000 tweets on Twitter. I obviously tweet a lot. I think I started using it only about a year ago, although I’ve had the account longer than that.

I love Twitter. It’s a great way to be in contact with people, I can advertise my blog posts there, and find out about other people’s news and events. I have won several books via Twitter and had support from people during NaNoWriMo.

50,000 Words

I wrote 50,000 words in November! I took part in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), an event in the month of November, in which novel and experienced writers were challenged to write 50,000 words in one month, the equivalent of a short novel.

I did this and I made it! I loved the community spirit and kept in contact with fellow Nano-ers via Twitter, the Nano website, or in person – I went to one write-in, in a department store restaurant, where 10 or 12 of us sat with our laptops, talking at least as much as writing, great fun.

My novel is a somewhat coherent story but needs a lot of work before I’d consider it “finished”. That’s for the next few months. Whether it’s going to be nice enough to be published, I don’t know, but that’s OK, it’s a great exercise.

And who knows, maybe I’ll turn it into something… wonderful!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

57 Responses to Number Crunching

  1. Susan Tunis says:

    Congrats on all of these impressive accomplishments, Judith!

  2. Those numbers are impressive, Judith. I’m very impressed with the nanowrimo. My daughters efforts fell away after the first 30.000 words or so. But I guess it was easy to do during the holidays and much harder when she was back in school.
    I see you’re reading Left Neglected. I brought that book home from the library and hope to be starting it soon.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marleen, I think it’s still great dedication that your daughter did 30K. That’s very good.

      Left Neglected is great, I think. It’s a story about getting an illness and trying to recover from it. half of the book is in hospital which you have to like otherwise you’ll get bored, maybe. I love it so far and it’s an easy read.

      • Judith, did you read Still Alice by the same author. That book had me in tears, and stayed with me for a very long time. I’m very glad you’re enjoying this one I would hate to be disappointed.
        As far as number crunching is concerned, I just remembered that I did my wrap up on the Ireland reading challenge yesterday and ended up with 28 Irish books for the year. Not bad, although I do hope to do better next year.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Marleen, yes, I read Still Alice and I thought it was very good. It’s a while ago, though, but very well done. Same with this book, it’s hard to believe it’s fiction.

  3. Lian says:

    Congratulations on these achievements Judith! I hope we can read your novel, did you end up writing it in Dutch or English?

  4. Kristi says:

    Congratulations! That’s really great. Especially about Nanowrimo. I hope the editing process goes well. That would be great to try and get it published if that is what you’d like to do.

  5. Alex says:

    Congratulations! You are one of the most productive and enthusiastic book bloggers I know๐Ÿ™‚ I follow you via Google Reader, does that count for the 425?

  6. Nadine Nys says:

    Congratulations on all your accomplishments, Judith! I hope to read your novel soon…

  7. Rikki says:

    The twitter year book is definitely something for you, it seems,๐Ÿ™‚. You have been busy in just one year. Impressive numbers indeed!

  8. Uniflame says:

    Congrats on finishing Nano! That is surely an accomplishment!

    I don’t really keep track of my own numbers.

  9. Congratulations on all your milestones! Keep up the great work๐Ÿ™‚

  10. You are doing an amazing job! Sometimes I even wonder when you find the time to read. But obviously, you do!

  11. Proficiat met het winnen van NaNo en het schrijven van zo veel leuke posts en reviews!
    En over de pepernoten… zo lekker inderdaad! Ik las een artikeltje over chocoladepepernoten op een nieuwssite een paar weken terug en toen kreeg ik toch wel heimwee๐Ÿ˜‰
    Ik ga maar even heel lief mijn ouders vragen of ze me een zak willen bewaren.

  12. Congrats! Wow 700 post in a year and a half. That’s commendable.

  13. How do you count your followers? Only via rss or also via other ways? I’m following your blog with bloglovin’.
    Nice numbers anyway, but I don’t think numbers are the most important. It’s just the fun you have that counts!
    Katrien

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Katrien! Absolutely, the fun is the main thing. But it’s very rewarding to see that others read what I write.

      I count email subscribers (wordpress) and RSS subscribers (via google webmasters). How it works with bloglovin’ I don’t know, probably counts as RSS, or maybe you’re special.๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Gefeliciteerd, congrats for both occasions!

  15. wow! what a huge ammount of posts๐Ÿ™‚ congratulations๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Trish says:

    Yay Judith!! Congratulations on finishing NaNo! I really admire all of you folks who tackled it. I’m amazed at the number of posts. I think after 4.5 years of posting I’m still not at 740.๐Ÿ˜‰ Here’s to many more!!

  17. Suzanne says:

    Congratulations Judith on all of your milestones. Both your blog and your Twitter feed are regular stops during my day, and hopefully one day I will be able to read your novel!

    Cheers to you my blogging friend.

  18. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Congrats Judith!

  19. Robin Hawke says:

    What a lot you have accomplished! Congratulations! Robin

  20. celticadlx says:

    Congratulations on all your accomplishments! I too, hope one day to have that many followers on my blog. I’m still new at this so am keeping my fingers busy on the keyboard. I wanted to know if you were participating in any blog hop giveaways and if so, how can I join the ones you participate in or sponsor? If you care to visit and possibly leave some words of wisdom, my blog is http://www.celticadlx.blogspot.com. Thank you and I wish you all the best. Lisa

    • Leeswammes says:

      Celticadix, good luck with your new blog. Doing what you just did: commenting on other people’s blogs really helps to become part of the community and get more followers.

      I’m not sure I’ll be particpating in any blog hops, possibly the Midwinter’s Eve Bloghop – go here and sign up at the bottom of the (long) list, then prepare your post and post it on the date mentioned. If you just want to enter giveaway bloghops to win a book, go to this blog, which has frequent giveaways.

  21. Mystica says:

    Congratulations. This is huge

  22. Nish says:

    Wow! Those are some seriously awesome numbers. Congratulations! And all the best in your efforts to polish up your novel.

  23. JoV says:

    I can’t for the life of me know how you do all these! You are so prolific and you answer every comment and you do house chores and then you read and then write reviews then do meme, you twitters and now a novel! You are turbo charged 24 x 7. I’m at awe!๐Ÿ˜€

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, thanks for the gushing.๐Ÿ™‚

      Some days, I don’t seem to do much but house chores and spending time on the computer, so it’s definitely not a 24/7 job. But it does get a lot of my attention. It’ll change after the new year, as it’s time to start focusing on other aspects of my life (a job, a diet, etc.).

  24. Congratulations on all the updates, especially completing the novel exercise! It’s a big deal.

    I hope you are having fun with all these posts, tweets.๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy reading all of them!

  25. Gnoe says:

    Congrats Judith! I’ve been blogging longer than you but am not even close to such an amount of posts! Kudos.๐Ÿ™‚

    I wonder if I was counted as a follower..? I haven’t subscribed to your blog but do follow via RSS-reader.๐Ÿ˜‰ Some blogtypes register that as wel. Otherwise it’s 425+1!๐Ÿ™‚

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Gnoe. Yes, RSS followers are counted too. I don’t know who is or isn’t, but google webmaster tool tells me how many RSS subscriptions I have.

  26. Tony says:

    Congratulations, and well done on your numbers๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully, those are just small numbers compared to what is to come๐Ÿ˜‰

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

