November Overview

In November I read 15  books, which is slightly higher than average for a month. One book I didn’t finish.

My favorite books for this month are The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and The World We Know by Thirty Umrigar.

Books I read

(Hover over the covers to see their titles and authors).

The Stranger's Child by Alan HollinghurstThe Informationist by Taylor StevensBlijf bij ons by Florence TonkMen Dancing by Cherry RadfordThe Human Race by O. C. HeatonThe Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman AlexieThe Night Circus by Erin MorgensternNow You See Me by S. J. BoltonThe World We Found by Thrity UmrigarA Week in December by Sebastian FaulksThe Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate HarrisonBattle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy ChuaGarden Spells by Sarah AllenDe 100 jarige man die uit het raam klom en verdween by Jonas Jonasson

Titles in orange link through to their reviews.

The Stranger’s Child by Alan Hollinghurst. Several generations in an English family. Beautifully written, but not much is really happening. 4 stars

The Informationist by Taylor Stevens. A woman goes back to Africa where she grew up to find a missing woman, the daughter of a rich American. But the authorities of the small country she’s tracked the woman back to, are threatening her to leave. 4 stars

Blijf bij ons [Stay With Us] by Florence Tonk. A Dutch woman and her boyfriend move to Ukraine, where he has a job. She’s bored until they buy a holiday house in the countryside. 4 stars

Men Dancing by Cherry Radford. A woman meets a famous South-American dancer in the train and gets the chance to teach him the piano. But he’s not the only Latino she has set her eyes on. 4 stars

The Human Race by O. C. Heaton. A new way of transportation will make life easier for people and it’s cleaner on the environment. A rich English investor is approached by an Icelandic woman, the owner of the new invention, to help her distribute the technique. But someone will do anything to get hold of the information. 3.5/5

Een duivel met een ziel [A Devil With A Soul] by Richard Osinga. Morocco, 1909. We follow a soldier from the French army who describes the atrocities and politics of the war that’s going on. DNF

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. A fun read about a teenage American Indian boy who goes to school outside the reservation and is then an outcast in both worlds. 5/5 stars

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. About that circus, you know the book or you’ve heard of it. Lives up to the hype. 5/5

Now you See Me by S. J. Bolton. Another great book: a thriller involving a modern Jack the Ripper. Very good read. 5/5

The World We Found by Thirty Umrigar. Three friends in India in their forties are invited by their old friend in America to come and visit as she’s terminally ill. 5/5

A Week in December by Sebastian Faulks. A week in December with several characters, some interesting, some not at all. 4/5

The Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate Harrison. Three friends, who are secret shoppers, all have relationship problems. A bit tedious, but an easy read. 3.5/5

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua. Memoir about a woman bringing up her children the Chinese way. I didn’t like her much, but it’s an entertaining book. 4/5

Garden Spells by Sarah Allen. A woman returns home with her daughter after living elsewhere for years. Her sister is happy to take her in. There are magical plants and men interest. A fun book. 4/5

The Centenarian Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. In Dutch, about a 100-year old man who disappears from his nursing home just before the birthday celebrations. 5/5

A good month! I read 5 5-star books, 7 4-star books, 2 3.5-star books and one DNF.

Other Books Reviewed (click on the title to read the review):

The Bomber by Liza Marklund. At the Olympic Stadion in Stockholm a bomb has gone off and a person has died. Journalist Annika Bengtzon is very cleverly trying to find out about the background of the incident and the victim. She hasn’t much of a home life, which her husband and children resent. A great read! 4.5 stars

What To Do When Someone Dies by Nicci French. A woman has to deal with the fact that her husband has died in a car crash together with another woman. She can’t believe he had an affair and she does anything to find out the truth. 4 stars

The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran (DNF). I didn’t finish this. This is a book from my TBR Slash challenge and I started quite happily, but didn’t get into it.

The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn. Memoir of the author trying to educate American women in eating more healthily. 4 stars

The Blasphemer by Nigel Farndale. A couple is on a plane that crashes in the sea near the Galapagos Islands. The man’s great-grandfather was in the First World-War in France. I liked the first storyline but not the second. I gave up after 300 pages. (DNF)

Return to Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux. A light reading, sequel to The Summer House, which I enjoyed a lot. Three women that didn’t know each other beforehand, meet up in a house and discuss their lives. 3.5/5 stars

Other happenings on my blog:

I invented the Wishlist Challenge 2012 – sign up if you dare!

My R.I.P. VI Wrap-up post.

I joined the 2012 Ebook Challenge.

I read a lot during the Thankfully Reading Weekend.

What was you favorite book this month?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to November Overview

  1. I really shouldn’t be reading this post, it’ll only lead to more books on my ever-growing to-read list😉 But seriously, I do see a few books here that I’d like to add. Good luck in getting your last few (?) 2012 books read!!

  2. I think One summer by David Baldacci was my favourite, but the book I just started (Cipressen in de Storm van Barbara Piazza) is really nice too…
    Congratulations with your 15 books! I normally read one book (sometimes 1.5) a week.

  3. RFW says:

    I see some familiar titles I enjoyed too – and a few I will look for – thanks for the list.

  4. JannyAn says:

    I do see some books I like to add to my list. Night Circus for instance. Looks like a good read. Muat be, since you rated it 5 stars

    • Leeswammes says:

      Janny, I think you’d probably enjoy The Night Circus, as I think you can handle a bit of fantasy. There’s magic but not a lot. I thought it was a wonderful book.

  5. Trisha says:

    The blogs I read just keep reminding me that I really need to read The Night Circus….🙂

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    A great month for you Judith!

  7. I brought The Night Circus home from the library and should be reading it between now and Christmas. I want to return all my library books before then because we’ll be going to Holland (yeah!) for a few days over the New Year and I don’t want to be tempted to bring books that I don’t actually own.
    I read Garden Spells years ago and really liked it. I read some other books by her since then and enjoyed them all.
    Great reading! I read 13 books in November which is a bit above average for me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      You did really well in November too, Marleen. Thanks for the recommendation, I will look for other books by Sarah Allen.

      Have fun with The Night Circus, I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did.

  8. Trish says:

    What a great great month for you!! I’ve asked for The Night Circus for Christmas so hopefully someone comes through.😉 Not sure why I have to explain every year that “Yes!! I do prefer books for gifts!”

  9. Esme says:

    NOvember was a great month of reading for you.

  10. Pingback: Book Review: The 100-Year-Old Who Climbed Out Through the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson | Man of la Book

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

