It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Today, it’s Sinterklaas in the Netherlands, a celebration of St. Nicholas with presents and lots of sweets. It’s not a day off but most people are allowed to leave work early and celebrate in the early evening with their children.

Here’s some more info from last year’s Virtual Advent Tour.

*****

I read 4 books in the past week

The Centenarian Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. In Dutch, about a 100-year old man who disappears from his nursing home just before the birthday celebrations. The most impossible things happen to him and it’s great fun to read. 5/5

Garden Spells by Sarah Allen. About two sisters and their catering company that uses magical flowers to change people’s moods or attitudes. Some male interest, too. Fun book. 4/5

Left Neglected by Lisa Genova. Great read about a career woman who has a car accident and gets a disability called Left Neglect. She tries to overcome her problems but it’s a struggle. Very good. 5/5

More Than You Can Say by Paul Torday. A man is abducted outside London and forced to marry a woman from Afghanistan. He tries to help her but becomes involved in terrorist activities. 5/5

De 100 jarige man die uit het raam klom en verdween by Jonas JonassonGarden Spells by Sarah AllenLeft Neglected by Lisa GenovaMore Than You Can Say by Paul Torday

Currently Reading

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian. A family moves to a house in the countryside, with a basement that has a mysterious door locked with 39 bolts. And why do so many people in the area have greenhouses? Scary!

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian

Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Reviews: 

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy ChuaNow You See Me by S. J. Bolton

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua. Memoir about a woman bringing up her children the Chinese way. I didn’t like her much, but it’s an entertaining book. 4/5

Now you See Me by S. J. Bolton. A thriller involving a modern Jack the Ripper. Very good read. 5/5

*****

I’m running the Wishlist Challenge for people who own so many unread books that they will never, ever get round to reading their wishlist (books they don’t own). Unless they do this challenge!

Another challenge, lasting just in December is the Get Read-y for 2012 Challenge which I joined.

New books in the house: check out my New Arrivals!

.I’ve reached a few milestones last week – or should that be millstones?

And here’s my November overview.

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

40 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Chinoiseries says:

    Seems like you’ve had a great week of books, those are high ratings! That Dutch book about the old man sounds fun, I’ll add it to my list. Also, I think Night Strangers is a creepy book I’d enjoy too.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Chinoiseries, yes, do read the 100 year old man book, it’s good fun. The Night Strangers is rather creepy. It’s not hugely original, but a very good read anyway.

  2. Tes says:

    You had a really good list last week. Garden Spells sounds really intriguing for me. This week my husband’s just got me a book called All Around The Town by Mary Higgins Clark, it’s very good so far🙂

  3. parrish says:

    Almost finished The Human Race by O.C. Heaton & reading Love poems by Erich Fried.

  4. Roxanne says:

    Ik ben bezig met “Bloghelden” van Franks Meeuwsen, die heb ik bijna uit, en al begonnen in deel 3 van Vampire Academy van Richelle Mead!

  5. I’m reading Left Neglected right now and am enjoying it. Although, as I did with Still Alice, I do find myself thinking about the condition enough and trying to imagine how I would deal with it. I love it when books bring me more then just reading joy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Same here, Marleen. I found it especially interesting that it wasn’t just a matter of “look left, and you’ll see it”, because the whole idea of “left” had been wiped off her brain. Right existed (she could look to the right) but the concept of “left” had disappeared.

  6. I’ve had Garden Spells sitting in my TBR for a long time. Thank you for your thoughts about it!

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  7. Uniflame says:

    I currently have Left neglected on hold at the library🙂 I really loved Still Alice by the same author and I hope that this one will be equally good🙂

  8. I’ve been wanting to read Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother (read some great reviews on it) and Night Strangers looks very interesting.

  9. Happy Sinterklaas day! What a lovely holiday. I think I want to celebrate it too.

    Could you relate to the woman (main character) in Left Neglected? I only ask because a LOT of mom’s in the US feel like she did – anxiety to do it all and be the best in career and at home. All while holding up an image that defines them. I often wonder if this is a US issue or a global one. As I get to know more women from around the world I am starting this think this is a stress our media has created. ‘you can do it all, and do it all well’

    Have a wonderful week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I could relate a little bit to the woman in Left Neglected but not too much. I was like that a bit when I had a small child in the UK and working over an hour away from home, but with the second baby, a good year later, I decided that was enough. I think we’re a little less likely to make our life quite so busy, although I know there are women here in the Netherlands who work 5 days with their kids in child care. Most women work 3 or 4 days, which some employers are fine with (although it’s not always easy to find a part-time job at some level).

  10. More Than You Can Say sounds really interesting!

  11. What a wonderful holiday! I’ll bet it’s lovely, charming, and full of taste treats. Enjoy!

    Your books sound good, too…and your list reminds me that Left Neglected is still patiently waiting for me on Sparky, my Kindle. Have a great week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  12. Nise' says:

    You had some good reads last week!

  13. Vasilly says:

    I like the idea of Sinterklaas. I’m going to be sure to check out your Wishlist Challenge. Happy reading!

  14. Suzanne says:

    Have you read Lisa Genova’s other novel, Still Alice? That one was wonderful. I have Left Neglected on my pile to-read.

    Happy Sinterklaas! I hope you are able to enjoy it with your family.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, yes, I also read (and enjoyed) Still Alice.

      Thanks for the Sinterklaas wishes. You know, we don’t really have a particular term to wish people a happy Sinterklaas (no equivalent to Merry Christmas).

  15. dixie says:

    Garden Spells is on my nook just waiting to be read! I have read two of her other books and very much enjoyed the magical realism. Also, I really need to get to The Night Strangers. I hope you are enjoying it!

  16. Leslie says:

    Night Strangers sounds good and I must read the garden book too. I wish I could read faster!

  17. Looks like a great reading week. I read The Sugar Queen by Sarah Allen earlier this year and I didn’t get on with it, probably one of my least favourites of 2011.

  18. Jackie says:

    Happy Sinterklaas! see ? your snow doesn’t mess with your blog like some javascripts do . Where did you get your falling snow from? Can I have the link so I can put the snow on my blog too? thank you .

  19. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Added Left neglected to my TBR list – thanks!

  20. Yvonne says:

    Great list of books! Have a great week!

  21. Athira says:

    More Than You Can Say sounds intriguing! I will definitely be looking for that. Also glad to see that you liked the Bolton book – I will check it out.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

