New Arrivals!

A few new books arrived on my doorstep the last week and a half. I read two of them already, one a real treat, the other a disappointment.

Books received for review

Vanished by Liza Marklund

Vanished by Liza Marklund

After I reviewed Marklund’s previous book, The Bomber, Transworld sent me a proof of her newest book, out in February 2012 (Corgi imprint). As I enjoyed The Bomber very much, I’m looking forward to reading this.

From the marketing sheet: “Five murders in one week, a smuggling operation gone wrong, and a crime reporter desperate to find the truth… At a derelict port in Stockholm, a young woman is on the run from a deranged gunman. The following morning, two brutally murdered men are found by a security guard patrolling the area.

Meanwhile, Annika Bengtzon of the Evening Post is approached by a woman claiming to have founded an organization able to erase people’s pasts. She says it can give vulnerable individuals a new identity and help to rebuild their lives. But as Annika investigates her claims, more bodies turn up and she finds herself getting dangerously close to the truth – that all is not as it seems…”

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian

This book I received from Simon & Schuster UK for review and I loved it. You can find my review here. I found it a very creepy read, in a nice way.

A family moves to a village to live in a big, rambling house after the husband, Chip, an airline pilot, crashed his plane, killing the majority of passengers. Emily, his wife, and their ten-year old twin daughters are welcomed by some of the women in the village, who all seem to be keen on baking and all own greenhouses.

While Chip is obsessed with a small door in the basement that is bolted shut, Emily is getting suspicious of  the motives of the women. Then Chip starts to see visions of some of the dead passengers and his grip on reality is lost.

Book won in a giveaway

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

I won this book from Lynsey Dalladay on Twitter (@LynseyDalladay) who works for Transworld publishers. She Tweeted “I need to clear my shelves and get rid of some books but I just can’t do it!” but then later wrote “RT & Follow for a #freepaperback – it’s a mystery which one you’ll get so it’s a paperback lucky dip!!”

When I got a book in the post a week later, I had no idea where I came from and why. Quite a mystery! Until I remembered the mystery free paperback giveaway.

It looks fun. I’ve read only one Pratchett book before. This one is about: “Moist von Lipwig is a con artist and a fraud and a man faced with a life choice: be hanged, or put Ankh-Morpork’s ailing postal service back on its feet.”

Books from the library

XY by Sandro Veronesi

XY by Sandro Veronesi

This book is the December book of the month at the Dutch online book group boekgrrls. Some people loved this book and some didn’t. I read it and I’m sorry to say I’m in the latter category. As this book has not been translated into English, no review on my blog is forthcoming. I will rant in Dutch on my Dutch blog about this in the next few weeks, though.

Vissen veranderen bij kou van zwemrichting van Pierre Szalowski

Vissen veranderen bij kou van zwemrichting

[Fish change swimming directions when cold] by Pierre Szalowski

For my Dutch blog, I often read one or two chapters of a book (a pre-publication) and then ask my readers if they think I should continue reading the book. For this book I thought I should, and so did they.  So I decided to get the book from the library.

It’s about an eleven year old boy in Québec, who tries anything to keep his parents from divorcing. He asks heaven for help and the next day the whole town is covered in the thickest layer of snow the city has ever experienced. The snow brings people together and altruism, solidarity and charity change the lives of many people.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

13 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. As you probably know, I am biased when it comes to Terry Pratchett. I loved Going Postal, Moist is indeed a very interesting character. I hope you’ll like it too. All the other books, XY excepted, sound like I’d enjoy them too. Szalowski in particular would seem like an intriguing read. All in all, enough to keep you busy the next few days?🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      It certainly will keep me busy, Chinoiseries. I think the book by Pratchett I read was Guard! Guard! which I liked but not enough to rush out and get other books from the series. Going Postal looks nice, though – seems like a satire on the postal services.

  2. I have the chance to review The night strangers as well, so after you reviewed it I’m looking forward to receiving the book!🙂

  3. Cindy says:

    Not a fan of Pratchett at all!

  4. Anastasia says:

    I haven’t read Going Postal yet, but I HAVE seen the TV show adaptation and I really enjoyed it.😀 Basically all the Discworld TV shows have been good (I mean the newer, live action ones. Not the cartoons from the 90s)!

  5. Suzanne says:

    I think I’m going to start reading The Night Strangers this week.
    The last book you mentioned sounds good too — I just checked a Canadian book website and it’s available in French but not English (yet).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Do you read French, Suzanne? I think it’s going to be a good read – I checked (in case you sometimes read French) and the sentences are generally short (not longer than 1.5-2 lines). It seems an easy read.

      Have fun with The Night Strangers. Hope you’ll enjoy it, too.

  6. Leslie says:

    I have tried to read Prachett and couldn’t get into the book. So rather than give up, I bought another one at a library sale. Maybe I’ll like it better. Everyone tells me they are great books.

    And now I want to read Night Strangers and I already have a full schedule of books to read and review. Darn. I’ll wait on getting that one… or maybe I can get the audio!

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s very good of you, Leslie, to get another book by Pratchett when you didn’t like the first! I enjoyed the (only) one I read, but I wasn’t bowled over. We’ll see. Going Postal looks good, actually.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

