It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

The Night Strangers by Chris Bohjalian. A family moves to a house in the countryside, with a basement that has a mysterious door locked with 39 bolts. And why do so many people in the area have greenhouses? Scary! 4.5/5

XY by Sandro Veronesi [Dutch]. A number of people are found dead outside a small mountain village in Italy. All have been killed in a different way. Main characters: a priest and a psychologist in the village. I didn’t enjoy this very much. 2.5/5

Far to Go by Alison Pick. Czechoslovakia, 1939. A Jewish family is suffering the consequences of the nazi regime and try to escape the country. A good read. 4.5/5

The Night Strangers by Chris BohjalianXY by Sandro VeronesiFar to Go by Alison Pick

Currently Reading

Don’t Look Now by Daphne Du Maurier. Five long-ish short stories all with a twist. Good fun to read.

Low Town by Daniel Polansky. In an alternate world, a former policeman is a drugs dealer in a criminal part of town. He gets the chance to investigate the murders of some girls to prove that he wasn’t involved himself. An almost real, but fantasy world, with swords and magic. So far, it’s good.

A Twitter Year by Kate Bussmann. A year of events in tweets. Divided into current affairs, celebrity, sports, etc. Good fun for the devoted tweeter.

Don't Look Now by Daphne du MaurierLow Town by Daniel PolanskyA Twitter Year by Kate Bussmann

Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Reviews: 

The Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate Harrison. Three friends, who are secret shoppers, all have relationship problems. A bit tedious, but an easy read. 3.5/5

Left Neglected by Lisa Genova. Great read about a career woman who has a car accident and gets a disability called Left Neglect. She tries to overcome her problems but it’s a struggle. Very good. 5/5

The Secret Shopper Unwrapped by Kate HarrisonLeft Neglected by Lisa Genova

*****

New Arrivals! See which new books I got this week.

I’m running the Wishlist Challenge for people who own so many unread books that they will never, ever get round to reading their wishlist (books they don’t own). Unless they do this challenge!

I’ve also joined the A-Z Challenge – Read books starting with every letter of the alphabet.

Have you voted yet for the Indie Lit Awards? Your chance to nominate your favorite new books of 2011. Don’t forget!

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

27 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Chinoiseries says:

    It seems that the books you’re reading this week are better overall than last week’s (I followed the discussion on XY on the Boekgrrls mailing list). I am trying to finish Adam’s TBR pile challenge, but it kind of takes away the fun from reading:-/

    • Leeswammes says:

      Chinoiseries, if it’s no fun anymore, don’t do it. You have to weigh the satisfaction of finishing this challenge against the dissatisfaction of having to read those books…

  2. Cindy says:

    A package is on it’s way to me; another cookbook to review, no idea what it is🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sounds good, Cindy. Cookbooks are always fun. I won Nigella’s Christmas cookbook just before Christmas last year. Wonderful. One of the best “presents” I got that year. Reminds me, I should use it!

  3. Novel Girl says:

    I started reading ‘The Night Strangers’ by Chris Bohjalian. And if I’m being honest, it was okay, but it bored me so much I couldn’t read on past a chapter or two. I mean the writing was fine, the story was fine. I actually started reading it because my own novel deals with PTSD too so I wanted to check out how he handled the disorder.

    I’ve just interviewed award-winning author Vikki Wakefield on her debut novel, ALL I EVER WANTED, and she’s giving away free, signed books in a competition, too. I loved her novel. Her writing sucks you in as if you were holding a vacuum to your face, not her stunning book. Check it out if you love books: http://wp.me/p1WPf3-6r

    • Leeswammes says:

      Such a pity you didn’t enjoy The Night Strangers, Novel Girl. I thought it was great, but I can see it’s not for everyone. I think for PTSD this book is not so good.

  4. I’m always a sucker for a book written in an odd format. I need to check out Twitter Year! Thank you.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  5. Nadine Nys says:

    I have XY on my to be bought list for a while now but I see you didn’nt like it… I’ll wait till I see your review, perhaps it’s not for me either.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nadine, I especially didn’t like the religious blabla in the book and it was also a bit longwinded. The beginning was good, but in the end I got bored and started skimming.

  6. I have Left Neglected on Sparky, my Kindle, and I really want to read it! I need to hurry up, since I’ve heard such good things about it.

    Enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  7. I had to laugh at your Night Strangers comment…. it was creeoy… and yes, I will never look at a greenhouse the same way again!

  8. I need to get cracking on reading some Daphne Du Maurier! I hope you have a great week! Happy Reading!

  9. Vasilly says:

    A Twitter Year sounds pretty interesting! Happy reading.

  10. I’m curious to read reviews for Night Strangers, before deciding if this is a book for me.🙂

    Have a wonderful reading week!

  11. The film version of Don’t Look Now really gave me the creeps, I still get slightly scared at children wearing red hooded coats. Would like to read the story actually but I think that’s the one du Maurier collection I don’t have,

    • Leeswammes says:

      I don’t remember any children with red hooded coats in the book, Ellie. Or if there were, they didn’t play a large role. I haven’t seen the film but I think I should. The story is great.

  12. Roxanne says:

    Ik heb net “Shadow Kiss” uit, deel 3 van Vampire Academy… ik ga straks verder in deel 4 want het is erg spannend..

  13. A Twitter Year sounds interesting. Can’t wait to read your review on it. I’m currently reading Perfect Peace by Daniel Black.

  14. Du Maurier is always fun! I think I’ve come across another review of Far to Go. I’m going to have to read this one. Somehow I’m always drawn to books about the Holocaust. Enjoy your week!

  15. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Just stopped by to wish you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

