Virtual Cookie Exchange

Mari of A Bookworm with a View is organising a Virtual Cookie Exchange. A confession: I’m a cookie exchange virgin: I’ve never baked cookies and then given them away to friends or family. I’ve baked cookies and shared them with others, or brought some along to a family visit or a book group meeting, but I’ve never baked cookies with the express goal of gifting them.

The whole cookie exchange thing is new to me. In fact, I only found out last Christmas, my first Christmas as a blogger, that there is this thing in the US where people bake amazing amounts of cookies for and with each other. What a great tradition. (Secretly, I do wonder, if everyone is baking so many cookies, isn’t there going to be a incredible surplus of cookies? I guess the answer is that it looks like everyone is baking cookies, but in reality it’s only a few people that can find the time. Am I right?).

Peanut Butter Cookies

So, on to my favorite recipe that my book group usually welcomes with “Yay, Judith made those peanut butter cookies again!” Yes, they are delicious!

I got the recipe from Tes of Tes at Home who has a blog full of recipes, mainly Thai and Indian. I’ve made several of them, such as these peanut butter cookies. Here blog post about them is HERE.

Here is the recipe (i.e., taken from Tes’ blog):

Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients: (makes about 40 cookies)

1 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup smooth peanut butter
75 gm butter- cut into tiny cubes
1 egg
1 1/4 cup white sugar

How to make:

Whisk butter and sugar until coarsely combined. Add eggs and beat well.
Add peanut butter and mix well. Sift in flour and baking soda. Gently stir until the ingredients form a sticky dough.
Refrigerate for 1 hour. Preheat the oven at 180 degree C (350 F).
Scoop the dough in a greased baking tray and press it down with a fork. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.

Go ahead and indulge! These are super-easy to make, and if you like peanuts or peanut butter, you will love these.

Now go to Mari’s Virtual Cookie Exchange and discover many more great cookie recipes. Add your own favorite, too.

So, what cookies are you baking for Christmas?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

25 Responses to Virtual Cookie Exchange

  1. Leslie says:

    I am one of those folks who eats all the cookies other people make as I’m not much of a baker. I participated in the virtual cookie exchange last year, but I only have one cookie recipe so I don’t have a new one for this year. And yes, that means I make the same cookie every year for the holidays!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well, Leslie, this was the only actual cookie recipe I could come up with.There are others, that I made just once but never kept the recipe for.

      Good for you for eating cookies! I do enjoy baking but don’t do it very often. My kids like to help, though, so that makes it fun.

  2. Tes says:

    Wow your cookies look really amazing🙂 I wish I can make some now, too but my oven have just broken down a week ago. It’s very difficult not to have oven in this holiday season.

  3. They look really tasty, Judith! Hmm, don’t think I’ll be baking anything this month, after the disastrous infestion of meal moths (?) a few weeks ago, I’m hoping the remainder will die out… haven’t even figured what to make for Christmas yet o___O

  4. We always make 8 or 9 kinds of cookies at the holidays, but I haven’t included a peanut butter recipe recently. This would be a nice addition. Thanks for sharing!

    • Leeswammes says:

      My pleasure, Col. You do make a lot of cookies! In the UK we’d buy a big tin of (chocolate) cookies and eat ourselves silly, but this year I’ll make some myself, and buy some Dutch Christmas biscuits, too.

  5. I’m making Bulla Bread right now (the dough is rising)… this is Swedish Coffee Bread. A sweet bread that my Grandmother made when I was young. I love it!

    Thanks for sharing a recipe for the cookie exchange.

  6. Rikki says:

    I don’t bake christmas cookies. German Christmas cookies are shaped cookies and rather elaborate, the most of them anyway. The only cookies I enjoy making are chunky drop cookies, and they are not considered Christmas cookies over here. So I either buy them at a bakery or I just eat cookies whenever someone brings them as a gift.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s the same here, Rikki. We have some special cookies for Christmas. Although I’m sure it’s possible to re-create them, I think I’ll just buy them. But that won’t stop me from making some other biscuits.🙂

  7. Those look delicious. I’m making cookies this holiday as well. I’ll be making white chocolate macadamia cookies.

  8. Alice says:

    This year is also my first cookie exchange! I think it means that everyone just ends up eating a lot of cookies🙂 No bad thing in my book! These are the ones I made for my daughter’s playschool http://amrsmaker.blogspot.com/2011/12/reindeer-cookies.html. Give them a go, they are fun to do

  9. Amy Reads says:

    Yes, sharing and giving treats is a big thing in Canada as well. In fact, I met up with Rhiannon (http://www.thediaryofabookworm.com/) for coffee earlier this evening and we exchanged baked goodies🙂

  10. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    My kids love making Peanut Butter bikkies !

  11. Marie says:

    These look yummy! I love peanut butter cookies. I haven’t been baking much the last few years even though I love baking. I end up eating it all! I did make some butter tarts (it’s a Canadian thing) yesterday, which don’t look great, but taste fantastic.

    By the way, I love that your blog is snowing. Very cool.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I don’t know butter tars, but my food usually tastes better than it looks, too. Somehow I can’t make it look all that nice. But gee, who cares really.🙂

  12. Cindy says:

    A lovely idea, Judith, I’ve baked mine already🙂

  13. Pingback: All Aboard on the Cookie Exchange! « Butterflies and Bunny Rabbits

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

