Joining the What’s in a Name Challenge

What's in  a Name Challenge

Beth Fish Reads is organising the What’s in a Name Challenge. I’ve seen this challenge around for two years now, and I want to join in! It sounds like a nice way to choose books.

I know I’m possibly entering too many challenges here. I’ve been seriously thinking about joining the following, but decided not to: the TBR challenge, the TBR Pile Reading Challenge, the Off the Shelf Challenge, the Ireland Reading Challenge, the Aussie Author Challenge or the Australian Women’s Writers Challenge. Maybe you like to join them?

So… one more then!

What’s in a Name asks participants to read books with a particular word category in the title. You’re required to read 6 books but they can overlap with other challenges:

  1. DONE – A book with a topographical feature (land formation) in the title: Life’s a BEACH by Claire Cook.
  2. DONE – A book with something you’d see in the sky in the title: The STARlite Drive-in by Marjorie Reynolds
  3. DONE – A book with a creepy crawly in the title: The Death of BEES by Lisa O’Donnell
  4. DONE  A book with a type of house in the title: The Round HOUSE by Louise Erdrich
  5. DONE – A book with something you’d carry in your pocket, purse, or backpack in the title: The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue
  6. DONE – A book with a something you’d find on a calendar in the title: The Rise and FALL of a Domestic Diva by Sarah May
I’ve written down some suggestions for myself, as you can see, but I may change at any time! Nothing else on my TBR seems to fit… yet. I’m bound to be getting some more books next year, don’t you think?
ALL DONE!!!
Any suggestions?
.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to Joining the What’s in a Name Challenge

  1. Judith, I’m very impressed by all the challenges you’re planning to enter. I think I’ll stick to my one challenge next year. I’m stil getting used to reviewing books and how that interacts with my own and library books. Especially my own books seem to be on the backburner at the moment, so I give it one more year before I start thinking about joining more challenges.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marleen, I’m only doing 3 or 4 challenges, not quite that many as you seem to think. I was a bit bored with reading mainly my own books, that’s why I thought these challenges would be good to do.

  2. This sounds like a great challenge! There are so many out there, it is very easy to over-commit.

  3. Great to have you playing along Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gnoe, it was probably your blog where I read about this challenge first. It sounds like a fun idea. Hopefully, I’ll be able to come up with some good titles.

  4. Novroz says:

    ah it started again…and I failed my 2011 challenge just like 2010, it’s so hard to find a book with specific title

  5. This is the challenge I originally started my blog for, and my daughter and I do it together every year! Glad you’re joining too!

  6. BookGoddess says:

    Gosh… I think I skip this challenge… already taken so many😉
    But have fun!

  7. Care says:

    This is one of my favorite challenges. And one of the few I really dedicate myself to complete. I always try to assign books to fit that arealready in house waiting to be read, but this year I will have to find a few: I’m going to read Life with Insects by Viktor Pelevin because it is on the 1001 Books To Read list.

  8. Kinna says:

    This is one of my favorite challenges. I’ve done it twice and will sign up in 2012. Sometimes one has to be very creative in matching titles to the categories. Enjoy!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m wondering indeed, Kinna, how creative I’ll have to be. Not many books that fit yet. But I’ll check yours and other people’s plans for this challenge.

  9. Leslie says:

    I’ve joined this one too. I still need one more title to finish the 2011 Name challenge and I don’t think I’m going to make it. I need to plan my titles early in the year!

  10. Gasp! Don’t forget to join my Magical March Challenge/Event!

    http://wp.me/p1n6kW-Ej

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

