It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 4 books in the last week

The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey. A Jane Eyre in the 1960s. Gemma, an orphan, is sent to boarding school by her awful aunt, ends up working as an au pair in the Orkneys, and meets the lord of the manor. Need I say more? A good read. 5/5

Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto. Three long short stories about love and loss. 4/5

Dodelijke hobby [Deadly Hobby] by M.P.O. Books (ebook). André is hoping for a quiet Christmas looking after the remote villa of his cousin’s who is gone on holiday. When there is a break-in through his fault, he is determined to find the stolen goods before his cousin comes back. Fun cozy mystery. 4/5.

Eleven by Mark Watson. Eleven people are influenced by a chain of events started by a late-night radio host. A fun read with a narrator that not only knows what happens now, but also what will happen in the future. 4.5/5

The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey Kitchen by Banana YoshimotoDodelijke Hobby by M.P.O. BooksEleven by Mark Watson


Currently Reading

Een steek diep [Under the Ground] by F. Starik. A non-fiction book about “solitary funerals” (where there are no guests). The writer researches the background of the deceased and presents a poem (that is read at the funeral, made especially for the occasion). Quite interesting.

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese. The story is told by one of twin brothers who was born from a nun and possibly the doctor she worked for. A good, but slow read.

Een steek diep ["Six Feet Under"] by F. StarikCutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese

Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Reviews: 

Don’t Look Now by Daphne Du Maurier. Five long-ish short stories all with a twist. Good fun to read. 4/5

Low Town by Daniel Polansky. In an alternate world, a former policeman is a drugs dealer in a criminal part of town. He gets the chance to investigate the murders of some girls to prove that he wasn’t involved himself. An almost real, but fantasy world, with swords and magic. 4/5

Vissen veranderen bij kou van zwemrichting [Fish Change Swimming Direction when Cold] by Pierre Szalowski. A Canadian boy wants to stop his parent from divorcing and calls the sky for help. Several days of ice rain ensue and the whole town is in disarray. 5/5

Don't Look Now by Daphne du MaurierLow Town by Daniel PolanskyVissen veranderen bij kou van zwemrichting van Pierre Szalowski

*****

*** GIVEAWAY —->

I’m taking part in the Mid Winter’s Eve Giveaway Blog Hop, giving away one of my favorite books from this year. Check it out and enter!

<—- GIVEAWAY ***

Check out my New Arrivals – a load of new books that I got in the past few weeks.

I’m running the Wishlist Challenge for people who own so many unread books that they will never, ever get round to reading their wishlist (books they don’t own). Unless they do this challenge!

Have you voted yet for the Indie Lit Awards? Your chance to nominate your favorite new books of 2011. Don’t forget!

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

27 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow, 4 books in one week is great! I’m lucky if I can manage two. Happy reading this week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I seem to have an endless December when it comes to reading. I’ve read 14 books so far, and will read one or 2 more. The one I’m reading now, *Cutting for Stone,* is a very long and slow read. It’s nice, though.

      Happy reading, Sam!

  2. I’m reading The Night Circus which I should finish later on today. Things nearly went wrong with that book. Brought it home from the library and was about half way through yesterday when I got it as a present from my husband, who had been sickened when he saw me reading it. But, I love the book and it is the sort of book I may actually read again because there are so many layers, some of which I know I’m missing. So I switched my bookmark from one copy to the other and all is good again.
    I have a question for you. Do you know anything about Bonita Avenue by Peter Buwalda? I received that from a friend in Holland and it sounds interesting.

  3. Kristi says:

    I just finished Villette by Charlotte Brontë today and I’ll be starting Cutting for Stone next. What a coincidence! I have to return it to the library in a couple of weeks so it has to be next. Thanks for the warning that it is slow. It’s nice to gauge my expectations. I’m looking forward to it, though. I’ve heard great things about it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I heard good things about *Cutting for Stone* too, Kristi. Indeed, what a coincidence, because it’s not a new book that everyone is reading at the moment. I hope you’ll enjoy it!

  4. I’m currently reading The night strangers and I think it’s a great book, altough I’m not that far. I love the idea of a mysterious house and some strange women!
    I have finished Spotgaai (the last book in the hungergame trilogy) a few days ago, but I think I’m reading much too slow. (Can’t start, there is always something that seems interesting to do;))
    When I opened my letterbox I found the newest book by Sophie Kinsella (Not yet published) and I hope to read it soon.
    You have read a lot (again)! Are you reading two books at the same time? Sometimes I do if I think one is boring, but after a while I switch back to the first novel.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Katrien, I do sometimes read more than one book at a time. For instance, a non-fiction book and a fiction book, and sometimes also an ebook at the same time.

      I didn’t like Spotgaai (Mockingjay) as mych as the other books in the trilogy – I hope you enjoyed it. Good luck with The Night Strangers!

  5. Thanks for the link to your review Judith, it sounds like a book I would probably enjoy. It will be a little while before I read it because it’s too big for me to bring with me when we go to Holland for a few days on Thursday, but I guess I’ll probably start it shortly after we come back.

  6. Ann says:

    I’m impressed. I’m barely half way through one book.
    Ann

  7. JP says:

    I can’t wait to read The Flight of Gemma Hardy! Glad to see you enjoyed it so much🙂

  8. I love Daphne Du Maurier…I’m not sure if I read Don’t Look Now back in the day. I’m going over to check out your review.

    Enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  9. Dollycas says:

    These are all new titles to me and very intriguing,

    Have an awesome week!

  10. Pussreboots says:

    I like Kitchen. Happy reading.

    I’m still on vacation but I’ve caught a cold. I’ve been too sick to get much reading done. Please come see what I’m reading.

  11. harvee says:

    A lot of very nice books. I like Fish Swimming…. in particular. Enjoy your reading!

  12. Mystica says:

    I have only read The Lake by Yoshimoto and did not like it very much. Maybe I should go back to her other books. They are all highly recommended. Enjoy the week.

  13. Vasilly says:

    Right now I’m reading A Widow’s Story by Joyce Carol Oates on audio and in print. Your stack for this week looks great. Happy reading!

  14. Tes says:

    I’ve just got The Flight of Gemma Hardy… it’s so nice so far🙂

  15. JoV says:

    I have been wanting to read Cutting for Stone since 2010. I’ll wait and see what you think about it. If you love it, I’ll read it!🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

