It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Happy new year everyone! This year I’m planning to post less, read just as much, and do more exercise. What are your plans?

I will be reading books for the Indie Lit awards this month and the next. I’m eagerly awaiting the list of 5 most nominated books in the Speculative Fiction genre, so I can get started!

I read 4 books in the last week

Cutting for Stone by Abraham VergheseEen steek diep ["Six Feet Under"] by F. StarikFirst You Try Everything by Jane McCaffertyThe Rise and Fall of a Domestic Diva by Sarah May

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese (4/5 stars)

Een steek diep [Under the Ground] by F. Starik (4/5 stars)

First You Try Everything by Jane McCafferty (4/5 stars)

The Rise and Fall of a Domestic Diva by Sarah May (4/5 stars). My first book of the new year!

Currently Reading

The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis RidleyThe Look of Love by Mary Jane Clark

The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley. Non-fiction. In the 1760s, a woman dressed as a man went around the world helping a botanist finding new specimens.

The Look of Love by Mary Jane Clark. Cozy mystery. A woman is mistaken for the rich owner of a beauty spa and badly burned with acid. Another woman gets interested in the case when she is asked to come to the spa to make a cake for the upcoming wedding of the spa owner.

Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Reviews: 

Skippy Dies by Paul Murray. Skippy dies in a donut restaurant while eating donuts with his friend Ruprecht. The book is mainly about what happened before and what happens afterwards. 4/5 stars

Little Children by Tom Perrotta. About some thirty-something parents and their affairs. And a paedophile who’s moved into the area. 5/5

*****

My December overview is here.

Why I won’t post as much on my blog as last year… here.

You can still join the Wishlist Challenge for people who own so many unread books that they will never, ever get round to reading their wishlist (books they don’t own). Unless they do this challenge!

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

25 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish says:

    I won’t mention this is your 2nd post in 2 days & state that I’m reading The Penguin book of Japanese verse, Modernism in practice & 1Q84.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I know, Gary! And there will probably be posts on consecutive days for most of this week. I hope you don’t mind.😉

      But if I don’t feel like it, hah, I’ll be as quiet as a mouse! Ah you’re on a Japanese outing! I have reserved 1q84 in the library (in November!) but haven’t got it yet.

  2. Kristi says:

    I just finished Cutting for Stone last night and gave it the same rating as you. I thought it was pretty good overall, but I did have a few issues with it.

    Right now, I’m about to start The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo– must see what all the fuss is about.

  3. I’m curious to see if you liked Cutting for Stone. I tried to listen to it but stopped. I wonderf if it’s better reading, rather than listening.

    Four books including Stone is an amazing week!

    Happy New Year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Cutting for Stone took me “ages” to read, Mari (about 4 days – but I had started 2 other books the week before, so it’s not as much as it seems).

      What a pity you couldn’t get through Cutting for Stone. I enjoyed it but did find it slow. It was never compelling but I did like to learn more about Africa.

  4. Glad you enjoyed Little Children…I thought it was awesome! Loved some other books by this author, too (The Abstinence Teacher & The Leftovers).

    I’ve enjoyed Mary Jane Clark, too…this one looks tempting.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  5. Marie says:

    My neighbour has been suggesting I read Cutting for Stone for months. I’m a little leary. I can’t wait for your review. As for your current read, I love Mary Jane Clark. I hope you enjoy it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I’m enjoying the Mary Jane Clark book. It’s her newest (but my first). Cutting for Stone is not an easy read, but I did enjoy it. Don’t know whether I can recommend it to you. Not sure you’d like it.

  6. I read the book about Jeanne Baret just before Christmas. It was worth reading. A story I’d never heard.

    Here is my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  7. Leslie says:

    Haven’t heard of most of these books… Skippy Dies is on my wishlist but I’m trying to read from my shelves as much as possible this year.

    I’m planning to get back to my old level of exercise. Since I’m not working in the city I’m not walking a few miles a day. But no treadmill or indoor shopping malls for me, I want to get outside everyday (well, most days!) and walk with nature. Anyway, that’s the plan.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I hope you get some walking done, Leslie. I’m a walking and bicycling person myself. I had to go to the grocery store today but cycled a little further so I got some exercise. I also like being outdoors more than in a gym.

  8. I really enjoyed Cutting For Stone when I read it last year. Our book club made the food in it and it was AMAZING!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think your review was one of the reasons I picked up *Cutting for Stone*, Sheila. I remember the food, too. I liked it but didn’t love it (the book).

  9. Dollycas says:

    The Rise and Fall Of a Domestic Diva sounds like a book I would love. Added it to my list.

    I plan to read more and try to stop sweating the small stuff!

    Happy New Year!!!

  10. curlygeek04 says:

    As always you have a really interesting reading list! I’m interested in reading Skippy Dies, so will check out your review. I enjoyed Little Children. I’m finally getting around to reading Room by Emma Donoghue. Happy New Year!

  11. Lindsey says:

    I love your Wishlist challenge! I think I am going to keep to myself how many pages my “Books to Read” Word document is….
    Enjoy your books this week!

  12. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Great reads on your list – a few more to add to my own!

    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  13. MarthaE says:

    Happy New Year Leeswammes! Most of your reads are unknown to me. I love learning about new authors and books from other bloggers. I just finished setting up my challenge posts but Wishlist sounds tempting. Have a grand week!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

