Giveaway: The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley (US only)

The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley

Giveaway: The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley

Yesterday, you could read my review of The Discovery of Jeanne Baret HERE. I thought this was a wonderful book so I asked the publishers (Broadway Paperbacks / Crown Publishing Group) if I could give a copy away to my readers – and they said yes!

What’s the book about?

In the 1760s, a young French peasant woman sails around the world dressed as a man. Jeanne Baret travels as the assistant of the botanist Philibert Commerson, with whom she has had a relationship that started when they worked together in France.

This is a non-fiction account of life and customs in 18th Century France followed by a reconstruction by the author of Baret’s time aboard the ship and the stop-offs at foreign countries (South America, South Sea, etc.) to look for new plants.

Read more in my review HERE. I loved the book and gave it 5 stars!

The giveaway

One US reader can win a copy of this book. Let me know in the comments why you want to win this book. If  you tweet about the giveaway you will get one extra entry (leave a link to your tweet in a comment).

You don’t need to be a follower of this blog. On Wednesday January 18th I’ll draw a winner. I will send the winner an email and they have 3 days (72 hours) to reply or a new winner is chosen. US only this time, sorry.

Good luck!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

23 Responses to Giveaway: The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley (US only)

  1. mamabunny13 says:

    I would like to win this because I would like to read more about Jeanne Baret.
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  2. mamabunny13 says:

    tweet

    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  3. Jeanne Baret seems fascinating .i love reading about strong unusual women &i love history.Perfect combo for great read.lomazowr@gmail.com.I will tweet at rhonda reads

  4. Jeffrey Tretin says:

    I am fascinated by French history and would love to read this book

  5. lomaurice says:

    You’ve managed to make this book sounds amazing. I would love to win a copy.

  6. harvee says:

    I am interested in the first European discovery of plants abroad and the search historically for new plants. This book would be one I’d love to win.

    harvee44 at yahoo.com

    I’m a follower.

  7. Dianne says:

    Love historical novels. Thanks for the giveaway

  8. Meg says:

    The cover and concept definitely intrigue me, and I love books with strong female leads! The fact that it’s non-fiction makes it all the better. Thanks for the chance!

  9. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I would love to read about this fascinating woman who was missed by history until Glynis Ridley found her!

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  10. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I tweeted: http://t.co/zfnWg8EP

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  11. Sounds like a lovely read. It instantly put me in the mind of Amelia Earhart, especially from the cover.

  12. Susanna P says:

    Thanks for the giveaway! I’m interested in both 18th century history and the history of science, so I think this will be a nice read.

    susanna DOT pyatt AT student DOT rcsnc DOT org

  13. Cindy Macbeth says:

    Thank you for the chance to win your giveaway.
    Love reading historical books and books about great women.

  14. Kara D says:

    I love history, I’m a huge history nerd myself so I would love to read this!

    supersonic182@gmail.com

  15. bn100 says:

    I would like to win this book because it sounds very interesting and I haven’t read a book similar to this before.

  16. Leslie says:

    Ahhh, my kind of story. In my dreams (or nightmares for some) I am a field researcher cataloging birds and plants. The title didn’t call out to me but the cover made me look twice (in a good way).

  17. Amy says:

    Jeanne Baret sounds like a fascinating and inspiring woman. I’d like to read this story and learn this woman’s story. Thank you for requesting from the publisher to be able to offer this book in a giveaway, Judith.
    Please enter me in your giveaway!

    Aimala127(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. I’m a sucker for history, especially of forgotten heroes and fist-strong women. A sucker, I tell you. Consider me entered, suckered in.

  19. I would like to win this book since i seriously like history.. aaand. I wanted to try reading this book since im new to this one:)

  20. This one is already on my wishlist due to a review I read on another book blog (I’ll be heading over to read your review too!). I love reading about real-life people and events, especially those that I feel I SHOULD know about, but don’t. Thanks for the chance to win!

    knittingandsundries(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. Esme says:

    I have never heard of this women-however this sounds quite interesting-and I would pass it on to my dad after this is just the type of book he would like.

    thanks

    I am going to share some recipes I just need to download the photos.

  22. Leeswammes says:

    This giveaway is now closed. A winner has been chosen.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

