Indie Lit Awards 2011: Shortlist for Speculative Fiction

As I’ve told you in an earlier post, I’ve been chosen to be a Voting Member for the Indie Lit Awards 2011 in the Speculative Fiction category. This means I’m one of the people to read the shortlist and vote for who I think should win.

IndieLitAwards

The following five books have made it to the shortlist:

  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Candlewick)
  • The Magician King by Lev Grossman (Viking)
  • 11/22/1963 by Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor Books)
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Crown)

This looks like a fine shortlist to me, and I’m happy I’ll be reading these books (Among Others I read a while ago, check my review HERE).

Check out the shortlists for the other genres on the Indie Lit webpage HERE.

Which books have you read? What is your favorite?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to Indie Lit Awards 2011: Shortlist for Speculative Fiction

  1. Interesting list, Judith. I read A monster Calls and loved it. I’ve requested The Magician King from the library and am curious about it since I liked but didn’t love its prequel. I haven’t read the other three although I heard great things about the Stephen King book and am pretty sure I’ve seen Ready Player One mentioned once or twice.
    Will you be reviewing these books? If so, I can’t wait to see what you think of them.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marleen, yes, I will review these books but only after the winner has been announced in March. I’m not allowed to talk about the books (at least not about my thoughts and preference).

      • I guess that makes sense. I requested Ready Player One in the library yesterday because you’ve made me curious about these titles now and this one did sound very interesting.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Oh, do let me know what you think of *Ready Player One* Marleen! I’m looking forward to reading it.

      • I will Judith. Every book I read ends up being talked about in my blog, and this one will be no exception. And I will be keeping an eye out for your reviews whenever you will be allowed to post them.

      • Leeswammes says:

        That will be in March sometime, Marleen. I better save your review post so as to not get influenced by your opinion!

      • I have to get and read the book first, Judith. And since the book has to come from a different branch and my library’s system for getting books around is not the most efficient, it may be late February or March before I get to review it too. We’ll see.

  2. Cool, congrats on being on the panel, Judith!

    I’ve heard only good things about A Monster Calls, and they’re really prodding me to read it even though I didn’t like The Knife of Never Letting Go as much as I’d hoped. I’ve also heard great things about Ready Player One.

    Have you read the first book in Lev Grossman’s series? The Magicians. I didn’t like it. I liked it and yet it seemed to deliberately make me want to hate it – the characters were full of self-hate, I think is what it was. So I’m not planning on reading the sequel at all. The writing was good though.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shannon, I’ve read *The Knife of Never Letting Go* and I enjoyed that, but I liked *The Hungregames* better. I have no idea what to expect of *A Monster Calls*.

      I’m very curious about *Ready Player One*, so many people enjoyed this book. I had *The Magicians* in my hands a few weeks ago in the bookshop and it looked like something I might enjoy (they didn’t have *The Magician King*). I hope I can read the one without having to read the other, as my reading schedule is filling up! I’ll post my reviews here in due course, so you will be able to read what I think of *The Magician King*.

      I’m really pleased with the nominations list!

  3. Lucy says:

    Congrats on participating in the voting process! I really enjoyed Ready Player One and A Monster Calls. And the other books are on my list to read soon.

    Happy reading!

  4. Leslie says:

    Wow, I read two of the five Ready Player One and 11/22/63, my two favorite books last year.

    I had heard Among Others was very good. Must get to that one soon. The other two I don’t know anything about.

  5. Kate Fall says:

    I was going to pass on the Stephen King book (the subject didn’t grab me) but my brother-in-law has me convinced I have to read it now. Add me to the list of people who have heard great things about Ready Player One. I’m dying to get to it. I hope you enjoy it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kate, I’m not so bothered to read about Kennedy’s assassination, but the time-travel aspect attracts me (i.e., the Speculative Fiction part of it). Yes, Ready Player One sounds great too. I have no idea yet (before reading) which book I think I will like best.

  6. I haven’t read any of these unfortunately. I’m sure they are pretty good if they made the list.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think they probably are very good, Lena. I’ve seen them around on other people’s blogs with lots of star ratings! I’m looking forward to them.

  7. Nadine says:

    All of these books, except Among others, are on my wishlist, Judith… I think they are all great. It will be difficult to choose one among them.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think it will be very difficult to choose, Nadine. Not only do I have no favorite a priori but also there are 5 of us who have to come to an agreement and I know we are readers with very different interests (but still all in the Speculative Fiction genre).

  8. I read the first Grossman and have mixed feelings about it, but The Magician King is waiting for me in my TBR bookcase.
    11/22/63 – I pre-ordered (I’m a big King fan) – totally enjoyed
    I’m going to take a look at the others listed to see if they should go on my to-buy list!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Julie, the shortlist was put together out of nominations from people with a wide range of interests, I would think. So, if you liked *some *of the books on the list, it’s no guarantee that you will enjoy the rest too. But it’s worth a try.

  9. I’m so envious of your ILA category for this year – A Monster Calls and The Magician King were both great (did you read The Magicians? I’d encourage you to do that first, if you haven’t). I really want to read Ready Player One and 11/22/1963 (waiting for my Dad to finish – I got it for him for Christmas…and I definitely plan to borrow it).

    I’m not particularly looking forward to any of the books on my category’s short list, to be honest. Maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised? =/

    • Leeswammes says:

      Adam, I really like the shortlist that I’m assigned to read! Most of them are books I would have picked up myself anyway. I probably won’t have time to read The Magicians first. I’ll look up a summary somewhere (Wikipedia?) to help me along.

      Your list looked a bit odd to me. I did’t recognise any of them (or maybe one). Yes, I hope you will be pleasantly surprised!

      • Yeah, there were quite a few well-known, widely talked about, and well-received LGBT books released in 2011 – so I found the short list a bit bizarre. How did Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Under the Poppy not make it, for example? But, who knows, these books might be quietly deserving of their spots.

        You can read my review of The Magicians, if you think it might help. I hate that you’ll have to go into the sequel without reading the first book, though – it might make it tougher to enjoy (and difficult to follow/understand).

        http://wp.me/p1n6kW-bP

      • Leeswammes says:

        Adam, thanks for the link. While I think it’s a pity that I can’t read The Magicians first, I’m not judging the whole series, just the one book. So, strictly speaking, just reading The Magician King should be enough. I probably will miss some of the references, though.

  10. Pingback: Book Review: 11/22/63 by Stephen King « Leeswammes' Blog

  11. Pingback: Book Review: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline « Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

