It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 5 books in the last week (and one other I didn’t finish)

As I’m doing a reading competition on Shelfari, where we read random books from our shelves and wishlists, I have been reading more than normal. I pretend I’m not taking extra time reading, but I’m competitive, so I do! Oh well, as soon as someone wins, the game is over… so I better read some more and make sure it’s me.😉

11/22/63 by Stephen KingLife's a Beach by Claire CookThe Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel BarberyAway by Amy BloomVals licht by Joost Zwagerman

11/22/64 by Stephen King. A man goes back in time to try and prevent the Kennedy assassination. I’m reading this as a judge for the Indie Lit Awards

Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook. A fun, easy read about a woman who is at a cross-roads in her life. 3.5 stars

The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen. This turned out to be historical fiction combined with some modern fiction. Enjoyable. 4 stars.

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery. A janitor with a good taste in books and music pretends to be a working class woman with no such interests. But two of the people in her apartment building befriend her, and discover the real her. 3.5 stars

Away By Amy Bloom. 1924, a Russian Jewish woman loses all her family in a terrible killing. She moves to America where she hopes to have a better future. Then she hears her daughter is still alive in Russia and wants to go back to find her. An adventurous book. 4.5 stars

Vals licht by Joost Zwagerman (DNF). A Dutch book that I just didn’t enjoy enough to finish. In fact, I read it for this competition that I told you about (above), so it actually set me back, as I had read 130 pages of this book, then decided I’d take a different book altogether. I could not face reading any more.

Currently Reading

The Collector by John FowlesSpin by Catherine McKenzie


Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Have you been waiting for it? It’s time for another Literary Giveaway Blog Hop! It will run from February 18-22. Do you want to give away a book to your readers? Join up so you are linked to all the other blogs that are participating.

New Arrivals! Check out what books entered my house.

Reviews: 

First You Try Everything by Jane McCafferty. The account of a divorce. The woman can’t accept it and takes dramatic measures. 4 stars

The Look of Love by Mary Jane Clark. A fun mystery about a luxury spa where a murder takes place. 4 stars

The Trout Opera by Matthew Condon. A 100-year old man is asked to open the Olympic games in Australia. He’s kidnapped by the Olympic committee to make sure he’ll attend. 4 stars

Room by Emma Donoghue. A boy and his Mum have been held captive in a room for more than 5 years. The boy tells about his daily life. 5 stars

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

33 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Great going – I thought I was being ambitious trying to read 196 books in a year, but you’re on track to cover far more than that! Keep up the good work.

  2. parrish says:

    As usual a great collection, at the mo I’m reading The last will & testament of Lemuel Higgins.

  3. Right now I’m reading Vanish by Liza Marklund for a review. And after that I’ll probably pick up The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. My daughter received and read the book last week and is completely in love with it. It has also been getting great reviews and went straight to #1 in the New York Times YA listings!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marleen, I keep hearing about this John Green book! It must be very great.🙂

      • Marleen Kennedy says:

        According to my daughter (any any review I’ve read so far) it’s John Green’s best book so far. I should have a review up for it in the not too distant future, although I’m working a lot of extra hours in the library this week so I’m not sure how much reading time I will have.
        Did you read any of John Green’s books?

      • Leeswammes says:

        Marleen, no, I haven’t read anything by John Green. I start to think I should!

      • Okay, I asked my daughter (18) and according to her you should start with either The Fault In Our Stars or Looking for Alaska. But she adds, any book by John Green would a good place to start provided you don’t start with Will Grayson Will Grayson which he co-wrote with someone who’s name I can’t remember right now.
        I read Looking for Alaska and my thoughts can be found here: http://meen-readingjournal.blogspot.com/2010/09/looking-for-alaska.html
        I hope to start The Fault… Wednesday and my review of that book should be up shortly afterwards.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Thanks, Marleen. I’ll put The Fault in Our Stars on my wishlist. Thanks for the link. I thought that book would be about the place Alaska, but no, it seems to be a more standard a boy meet girl story – I’m not so sure I’d like that quite so much.

      • Marleen Kennedy says:

        It is a “boy meets girl” story, but I’m not sure I would call it standard. John Green has a rather unique way of giving voice to his characters.

  4. Kristi says:

    I’m still plugging away at 11/22/63. It looks as if you are too. I’m now 300 pages in and it’s picking up so I’m more into it. I’m surprised though at how gruesome it is at parts, but I guess that’s to be expected being a book by Stephen King.

  5. readerbuzz says:

    I’m happy you are continuing the Literary Blog Hop Giveaway. Sometimes I think the vampires and werewolves are taking over my Book World.

    Here is my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will stop by!

  6. Suzanne says:

    Wow, what a productive week!
    I’m looking forward to your review of The Elegance of the Hedgehog. I really enjoyed it, but I know a lot of people strongly disliked it.
    Have a great week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I thought *Hedgehog* was in the middle, didn’t love it, didn’t (quite) hate it. But if it wasn’t for the competition I’m doing, I’d never read the second half. Which turned out to be the more interesting part.🙂

  7. Cindy says:

    I’m reading ‘Digital Photography for Dummies’🙂

  8. I’ve been meaning to read ROOM…and I have 11/22/63 just waiting for me on my table….

    I want to start reading Tess Gerritsen, as I love the Rizzoli & Isles TV show. I also enjoy Claire Cook’s books, including Life’s a Beach.

    Have a great week! Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST – and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  9. You’re reading Fowles??? Yay!!! The Collector was my first and I loved it.

  10. Did I miss your review for Away? What an odd book, well written but a little strange. Can’t wait to read your thoughts.

  11. Ok, pardon the impending outburst but HOLY CRAP! That’s a lot of reading in a week and I am uber-jealous. In the sweetest, most supportive way!😀 I’m moving through Madame Bovary at a pretty good clip and should finish it up this week along with La Perdida by Jessica Abel.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Andi, most of the books I’ve been reading recently are quite easy reads, and/or not very big books. I’m sure Madame Bovary isn’t the sort of book you finish in a few days so you can’t compare, really. Enjoy your books this week.

  12. Dollycas says:

    WOW!! Great week!! i have a lot of Claire Cook on my wish list!

    Hope you have an awesome week!!

  13. I really enjoyed Away by Amy Bloom. You got a lot of reading accomplished in one week. My goodness, I wish I had the time like I use to.😦 But I enjoy reading your reviews about them.🙂

  14. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    All are great titles, though I haven’t read any of them a few are on my tbr pie. Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae

  15. Aths says:

    Nothing better than a competition to read more! I hope you get to read loads of books that way. The ones you read look good too! I want to read the Stephen King one especially.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

