Magical March Challenge: I’m In!

Magical March Challenge

Adam the Roof Beam Reader is organising a Magical March challenge: To read and review works of Fantasy, Science-Fiction, or Magical Realism during the month of March.*

*Adam says: “Any Fantasy, Science Fiction, or Magical Realism books will qualify.  This means you can read Young Adult, Dystopian, Steampunk, or Alternative Histories.”

There are 4 levels of participation, ranging from reading 1-2 books to a 8+ category. I’m joining at the lowest level, as I have (quite) a few other reading commitments in March – the Magician’s Class.

I’ll be choosing to read 2 books from the books below, which are all on my shelf:

Battle Royale by Koushun Takami (dystopian)
Blameless by Gail Carriger (steampunk)
The River King by Alice Hoffman (magical realism)
The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose Blodgett (dystopian, steampunk)

Battle Royale by Koushun TakamiBlameless by Gail CarrigerThe River King by Allice HoffmanThe Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose Blodgett

Will you be reading Magic in March?

Update: I’ve read three books for this challenge- I Am Legend by Richard Matheson, Battle Royale by Koushun Takami, and The Other Life by Ellen Meister. I ended up reading Blameless by Gail Carriger before the challenge started.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

29 Responses to Magical March Challenge: I’m In!

  1. Novroz says:

    Yeah…I’d love to know your opinion on Battle Royale🙂

    I think i will join this too,thank you for sharing about this challenge

  2. BookGoddess says:

    I join in😀 Always nice that kind of small challenge🙂 But have no idea yet what I will read.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I found more than enough books on my shelves, BookGoddess. I’m sure you’ll have a few that fit the challenge. Nice to see that you’re joining in.

      • BookGoddess says:

        I think I have enough of them too but the problem is, I read them all already😉

      • Leeswammes says:

        BookGoddess, it’s more fun if you read new ones. I had a few on my shelves. You could try the library or skip this challenge and read the pile that you still need to read.🙂

      • BookGoddess says:

        I go for the new ones, go the library but I do have loads of E-books that I ahven’t read and there a I think some in it. Tweeted you to ask something. No intention to skip this challenge🙂

      • Leeswammes says:

        Hurray! I’ll “see you around” at this challenge, then. Don’t forget to sign up at Adam the Roof Beam Reader’s blog.

      • BookGoddess says:

        Already done that!😀

  3. YES! I am THRILLED to see Battle Royale on your list – I do hope you’ll get to it. That book, along with Lord of the Flies by William Golding, is what inspired the majority of today’s Young Adult Dystopian fiction. Yet, hardly anyone ever reads the originals.

    Glad you’re joining us! 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve had *Battle Royale* for a while now, so it’s about time I read it. I think Novroz told me originally about the connection between it and The Hunger Games. Another original (in my mind) is The Crysalids by John Wyndham (1950ish). I would think this is a 20th Century version of The Knife of Never Letting Go. Very, very readable.

  4. Chinoiseries says:

    Looking forward to reading your thoughts on Battle Royale too. It’s one of Novroz’ favourite books I think. Maybe I’ll read along with you in March (because yes, sigh, Adam’s got me hooked on another challenge too ;-))!

  5. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on the River King. I’ve been eyeing that book myself. Good luck and happy reading on your read along.🙂

  6. Leslie says:

    Since I’m doing the Dystopian Challenge and already have some books picked out for it I suppose I can read a few of them in March. This would actually be doable for me and I can work from the TBR pile.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sounds a bit like cheating, Leslie. On the other hand, it helps you along with the dystopian challenge AND it’s nice to drop in and see what other people are reading in Magical March, so go for it!

    • Totally works – as long as the books are read and reviewed in March. I’m using one from my TBR Pile Challenge, but the others are new/specific to the Magical March challenge.

  7. This sounds like a fun challenge. I’m really curious about Battle Royale, although I haven’t read it myself.

  8. layen says:

    Like other commenters, I’m interested to read your opinion on Battle Royale. I haven’t been able to finish it (lost interest early on) and also haven’t read The Hunger Games. Probably dystopian fiction is not for me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Layen, dystopian fiction is totally my thing, so hopefully I will enjoy it. Pity you didn’t get very far. But if it’s not your genre, then it’s sometimes hard to enjoy the book.

  9. Pingback: Magical March Challenge « Polychrome Interest

  10. Nish says:

    Best of luck with this challenge. You have selected an interesting set of books. Looking forward to your reviews🙂. Maybe next year I will participate in this challenge (if it is there).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

