January Overview

You know, this month was probably a record month for me: I read 20 books and abandoned 3 more. That’s 23 books off the shelves! I must admit that I have been reading during non-reading time this month: I have books to read for the Indie Lit Award and I joined a competition at Shelfari, where we read random books (chosen by dice) from our to-read shelf and wish lists and I guess I am a little competitive and try to be, or stay close to, the leader.

None of the book really stood out for me. I liked most of what I read and I was particularly happy to have finally read Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men. The 5-star books come highly recommended.

This is what I read

 Click on the orange links to go to the review

Room by Emma Emma Donoghue 5 stars
The Starlite Drive-in by Marjorie Reynolds 5 stars
The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley 5 stars
Spin by Catherine McKenzie 4.5 stars
The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh 4.5 stars
The End of Alice by A. M. Homes 4 stars
Vette pech [Dutch: Fat Luck] by Larissa Verhoeff 4 stars
The Rise and Fall of a Domestic Diva by Sarah May 4 stars
The Look of Love by Mary Jane Clark 4 stars
Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook 3.5 stars
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery 3.5 stars
Vanished by Liza Marklund
De camping [Dutch: The Camping] by Karin Kuiper
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen
11/22/63 by Stephen King
Away By Amy Bloom
The Collector by John Fowles
The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson
The Magician King by Lev Grossman
Vals licht [Dutch: Deceptive Light] by Joost Zwagerman, DNF
The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson, DNF
De asielzoeker [Dutch: The Asylum Seeker] by Arnon Greenberg, DNF

This is what I reviewed too

The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey 4.5 stars
Eleven by Mark Watson 4.5 stars
The Trout Opera by Matthew Condon 4 stars
First You Try Everything by Jane McCafferty 4 stars
Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto 4 stars
Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese 4 stars

The rest…

An invitation to give away a book: The Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (Feb. 18-22)
I’m taking part in the Magical March Challenge

What did YOU read in January?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to January Overview

  1. Birgit says:

    Very impressive! I don’t think I could just pick up a book randomly as I almost always choose one that fits my current mood, but that’s just me. Personally I managed to read 16 books in January which must be a personal record for me too!
    Oh and I’m already curious how you liked “The Bone Garden”!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sixteen books is very good, Birgit! Picking up random books is a bit challenging but I do finally read books that have been on my TBR or wishlist for a long time. Some are good, some not so, but at least they’re gone!

      I enjoyed The Bone Garden but it was a totally different sort of book from what I expected (this was historical fiction rather than modern hospital drama).

      • Birgit says:

        Maybe this picking-books-randomly would work wonders on my TBR piles too! I might do that sometime seeing how I always end up dumping newer books on older ones and then working myself down which means that the old ones might be ancient before I finally read them.

        As to “The Bone Garden” I must admit it’s one of my fav’s by Tess Gerritsen – very different to her Rizzoli & Isles thrillers – and I was amazed how much I enjoyed the historical fiction part of the novel (I was totally new to the genre when I first read the book).

      • Leeswammes says:

        Birgit, my choice of books isn’t 100% random as sometimes we can choose an alternative book (depending on the numbers on the dice… remember it’s a game). But generally I keep to what I get and this way, I’ve read 9 or so books from the TBR/wishlist already.

  2. Roxanne says:

    I have read quite a lot of books this month! That doesn’t happen a lot these days!🙂

    “Vampire Academy / Spirit Bound” – Richelle Mead
    “Vampire Academy / Last Sacrifice”- Richelle Mead
    “The importance of being a Bachelor” – Mike Gayle
    “Bloghelden” – Frank Meeuwsen
    “Voor ik ga slapen” – S.J. Watson
    “Zakelijk Twitteren voor beginners” – Carlijn Postma
    “Fucking Berlin” – Sonia Rossi

    And I am still working on this one:
    “De Nevelprins” – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

  3. Wow! I’ve never read that many books in one month. The Collector is high on my TBR so I’m hoping you enjoyed it. I hope next month is just as rewarding for you.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, The Collector was creepy but a good read. I read it quite soon after *Room* so that was a bit strange (*The Collector* is about a man who kidnaps a young woman and puts her in a cellar).

  4. Uniflame says:

    You keep amazing me in how much you manage to read in only 1 month!

  5. mpartyka says:

    WOW! That’s more than half of what I read (not audio) all 2011. Looks like you read some great books to, which makes the month a super success.

    I need to put this post together. Hopefully today.

    Good luck with your February goals.

  6. Suzanne says:

    Wow — 20 books is an amazing month! I “only” read seven.

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Wow….I would never be able to read 20 books in a month. Looking at your list, I loved THE STARLITE DRIVE-IN and LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS.

    I only read two. 🙂

    Elizabeth

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  8. 23 books??? No, I´m not going to tell you how many I read😀 But I had a good writing week or two.

  9. Erika says:

    Looks like an amazing set of books you read in January! I’m interested in knowing what you thought of The Gargoyle. It was really graphic at the beginning but I ended up really loving that one at the end (gave it 5 stars).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Erika, I liked the Gargoyle. It was very different from what I expected but I enjoyed reading it. The ‘suspense’ of whether Marianne was crazy or really 700 years old was very interesting.

  10. I didn’t get a chance to read a lot of fiction in January. I read A Seductive Kiss by Francis Ray. I read more non-fiction in marketing more than anything else.

  11. JoV says:

    I never see someone read 23 books in a month but now! I’m very impressed but please do eat and sleep and breathe! LOL😀

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, I do still eat and sleep.🙂

      I just read a bit extra because of a competition I’m doing. And with the weather being as it is, I didn’t feel like going out much.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

