New Arrivals!

It’s been over two weeks since I did my last New Arrivals post, so it’s time to tell you about my new books. Some I’ve read already, but for the others, please tell me which one I need to read without delay.🙂

For review

The Magician King by Lev Grossman

The Magician King by Lev Grossman

As I am a judge for the Indie Lit Awards, I need to read the shortlisted books and give my opinion. The Magician King is one of the shortlisted books and a hardback copy was kindly sent to me by the publishers, Viking. Thank you so much!

This is the second book in a series. I didn’t read the first book, The Magicians, but I think that was fine. I read this book without feeling that I missed out on much. I’m not going to give you my opinion of the book yet, that will have to wait until after the announcement of the winners of the Indie Lit Awards.

Being Lara by Lola Jaye

Being Lara by Lola Jaye

I got this for review from William Morrow (an imprint from HarperCollins).

From the publisher’s website: “From the time she was five years old, Lara Reid knew she was an alien. Her dark complexion and kinky-hair—so unlike her fair-skinned mother and father’s—were proof that she was different. At eight she learned the word “adopted.” But the tale of a far-off orphanage in Nigeria was little more another bedtime story.

Now Lara is 30 and a strange woman in a blue and black head tie is staring at her as she blows out the candles on her birthday cake. And though the woman is a stranger, Lara senses that she has known her for her entire life. She is her long-lost birth mother, Yomi, arrived from Africa.

[…] Torn in conflicting directions, desperate to flee, Lara knows she must face the truth about her past and the lives of her mothers, if she hopes to find peace, understanding, and acceptance of who she is—and what it means to be Lara.”

Agorafabulous by Sara Benincasa

Agorafabulous by Sara Benincasa

I got this for review from William Morrow (an imprint from HarperCollins).

From the publisher’s website: “[…C]omedian and radio host Sara Benincasa’s life hasn’t always been a funny joyride. Since childhood, she strugged with panic disorder, becoming by age twenty-one a ”full-on obsessive, cowering, trembling agoraphobe.” Terrified to leave her own apartment, she stacked empty cans and jars against the wall of her tiny studio apartment. Her fear eventually extended to everything but her bed. Afraid of even the sink, she began using cereal bowls as toilets. And always there was the siren song of the knives in the kitchen drawer, luring her to give herself over to emptiness.

As she neared the edge, friends and family, therapy and drugs intervened to help Sara build a new world from the ashes of her former life. Today, the acclaimed artist tours the world—a life inconceivable to the frightened, stick-thin young woman crouching in the dark whom she once was.”

Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber by Dane Batty

Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber by Dan Batty

I got this book for review from the author.

From the author’s email: “Les Rogge looks and acts just like your next–door neighbor. Yet in twenty years he robbed more than 30 banks without firing a shot. Caught and put in jail twice, he escaped—and went sailing around the Caribbean with his wife and dog! In Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber: The True Story of Leslie Ibsen Rogge, One of the FBI’s Most Elusive Criminals, Les details his adventures from Alaska to Antigua, the Chesapeake to Cancun. But it all came to a halt when a fourteen-year-old in Guatemala forced him to turn himself in. Few felons have been as forthcoming about their successes, failures, robbery techniques, passion for sailing vessels… and love for his wife.”

A book I won

The Savage Blood by Tamara Rose Blodgett

The Savage Blood by Tamara Rose Blodgett (ebook)

I won this book in a giveaway by Evie from Bookish. It’s the second book in a series. I already got the first book a while ago.

From Goodreads: “Matthew and Bracus of the Band travel alongside eighteen-year old queen, Clara Williamson, as she journeys to the sea to unlock the puzzle of her lineage.

Trouble strikes when the fragment absorbs Prince Frederic and undertake plans that involve Clara and her home sphere in a dangerous scheme of coercion.

It isn’t long before Clara discovers the Guardians terrible secret through horrible circumstances she must escape from. Can Clara protect herself from her own destiny?”

Books I borrowed

The Collector by John Fowles

The Collector by John Fowles

I got this book from the library and read it already. It was pretty creepy!

From my own review: “Frederick is in his twenties when he wins a lot of money in the lottery. He grew up with his aunt, uncle and (apparently, somehow) disabled niece Mabel. He’s a lonely town clerk who collects butterflies in his spare time.

He becomes obsessed with a girl called Miranda from the local art college, and when he buys a house in the country side he’s happy with its isolated location and the presence of a cellar. When he gets a chance, he kidnaps Miranda and puts her in the well-prepared cellar. There she has all the comforts such a situation can give and he treats her respectfully, hoping she will start to love him after a while.

Solar by Ian McEwan

Solar by Ian McEwan

I borrowed this from a friend. I’ve been wanting to read it ever since it came out, so I hope to read this soon.

From the author’s website: “Michael Beard is in his late fifties; bald, overweight, unprepossessing – a Nobel prize-winning physicist whose best work is behind him. Trading on his reputation, he speaks for enormous fees, lends his name to the letterheads of renowned scientific institutions and half-heartedly heads a government-backed initiative tackling global warming. An inveterate philanderer, Beard finds his fifth marriage floundering. When Beard’s professional and personal worlds are entwined in a freak accident, an opportunity presents itself, a chance for Beard to extricate himself from his marital mess, reinvigorate his career and very possibly save the world from environmental disaster.”

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French

I borrowed this from a friend, because we’re going to read it for our real-life book group. She has already read it (and suggested the book).

From the publisher’s website:” Mo is about to hit the big 50, and some uncomfortable truths are becoming quite apparent: She doesn’t understand either of her teenage kids, which as a child psychologist, is fairly embarrassing. She has become entirely grey. Inside, and out. Her face has surrendered and is frightening children.

Dora is about to hit the big 18 . . . and about to hit anyone who annoys her, especially her precocious younger brother Peter who has a chronic Oscar Wilde fixation. Then there’s Dad . . . who’s just, well, dad.

A TINY BIT MARVELLOUS is the story of a modern family all living in their own separate bubbles lurching towards meltdown. It is for anyone who has ever shared a home with that weird group of strangers we call relations.

Have you read any of these books?

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Ally says:

    I have The Collector and Solar on my TBR list… There is also a film made after The Collector which I am planning to watch after I finish the book🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    I have not read any of these but Being Lara sounds really good.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, Being Lara is the book I’m least sure about- it could be very good, and it could be not – I guess that the case with many books!🙂

  3. harvee says:

    I have Being Lara waiting to be read. Nice set of books!

  4. I bought Solar when it was just out in paperback but still haven’t read it. Liked the idea behind it but so many people have put me off Ian McEwan I never think about picking it up to read.

  5. Trisha says:

    I am about 30 pages shy of finishing The Magician, and I’m already looking forward to The Magician King!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well done for reading The Magicians first, Trisha. I didn’t, and I think it was OK to skip it. It didn’t feel like I missed much in order to understand The Magician King. But I can imagine the story is enhanced by having read the first book.

  6. jennifer o. says:

    I started reading Solar a couple years ago and enjoyed it for the first hundred pages and then I just couldn’t anymore. It felt like the character was a black hole and it was depressing…despicable characters don’t normally make me stop reading books, but this guy was just beyond redemption. I’d love to read your review of it, though.

  7. mpartyka says:

    These are all new titles, other than the first book, for me. I hope you enjoy them!

    I finally have a good stack of audio to choose from, I’m excited about this since this is how I read about half of my books.

    Have a great week!

  8. parrish says:

    Some interesting books here, I’ve a recollection that I started but did not finish Solar, but can’t recall why, or I maybe getting it confused with another book.

  9. Tes says:

    It always fascinates me how you manage this volume of books in a week.You are amazing. I am very intrigued by the book The Magician King.

  10. JoV says:

    I have got Solar with me too and have been wanting to read it for ages!🙂 Happy Reading Judith.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

