It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Have you signed up yet?? It’s almost time for another Literary Giveaway Blog Hop! It will run from February 18-22. Do you want to give away a book to your readers? 

Join up so you are linked to all the other blogs that are participating.

I read 4 books in the last week

The Magician King by Lev Grossman. As I’m reading this for the Indie Lit Awards, I can’t let you know what I thought about it. But I can say: I read it without first reading the first book in this series and I think that was fine.

The Snowman by Jo Nesbo. A fun thriller featuring a killer who builds a snowman at the scenes of the crimes. 4/5

Zeitoun by Dave Eggers. The non-fiction story about a man who stays behind in New Orleans after Katrina hits the city. Brilliant book! 5/5

Schemervlucht by Alexandra Smith. A Dutch book about a former model trying to find a new purpose in life. 3.5/5

The Magician King by Lev GrossmanThe Snowman by Jo NesboZeitoun by Dave Eggers

Currently Reading

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman5 Reasons to Leave a Lover by Carolyn Moncel


Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

New Arrivals! Check out what books entered my house.

January overview. I read a lot in January!

Reviews: 

Spin by Catherine McKenzie. A chick-lit that I reviewed together with Mari of Bookworm with a View. 4.5 stars

Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook. Another easy-read about a woman trying to get more settled in life. 3.5 stars

Spin by Catherine McKenzieLife's a Beach by Claire Cook


*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mary Preston says:

    I’m reading LORD JOHN AND THE PRIVATE MATTER by Diana Gabaldon. It’s such a fun, witty intriguing read.

  2. readerbuzz says:

    I picked Zeitoun as one of my top ten reads the year I read it. What a story!

    I don’t know what to read next. I welcome suggestions!

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    I’d like to invite you to sign up for my February Giveaway! Win All Kinds of Kisses or a $25 Amazon gift card!

  3. I am reading Death in Venice (Thomas Mann) and a travel guide from the DK Eyewitness series on the Czech republic.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sweetkitten, are you reading for the Venice month? I know some bloggers are reading a lot of books on Venice this month. Maybe you can join up with them if you haven’t already.

      • I didn’t know that. Yesterday, I watched a documentary about Gustav Mahler on tv; it’s on his life that Death in Venice is based, so one thing led to another🙂 But soon, I will be traveling to Denmark again, so I won’t have a lot of time to read🙂

  4. I’ll be getting Spin on my Kindle…soon. This week, I think. I want to read the Dave Eggers book.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST – and if you’re interested, here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  5. mpartyka says:

    Another great week for you. The Indie awards… I’m curious to see the final lists🙂

    Have a great week!

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I look forward to your review of The Snowman Judith, I have been meaning to read something by Jo Nesbo for a while.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, keep an eye out for the review of The Snowman today (or maybe tomorrow morning, in your case). I’m doing a duo-review with Nadine of The Books of Life.

  7. Fun week!! I’ll check out the Literary Hop – looks cool!! And, yes, I do have books to give my readers!! 😉

    My What? http://burgandyice.blogspot.com/2012/02/what-musing.html

  8. parrish says:

    As usual a great list & I want to read some Dave Eggers at some point, altho at the moment I’m reading Lee Rourke’s Everyday

  9. Zeitoun sounds like a fantastic read. Every review I’ve come across is glowing…

  10. I’m looking forward to trying Grossman one of these days. I read nothing but good things about his books.

  11. Rae says:

    The Imperfectionists look good, I’ll have to check it out!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rae, it’s a sort of short story collection based around the same people at a newspaper. It’s nice, but I prefer one long story myself.🙂

      Thanks for visiting!

  12. Aths says:

    I’m so glad to see that you loved Zeitoun! I hope to read it soon – it’s been on my wishlist for a while.

  13. I enjoyed The Magician, so I know I’ll get to The Magician King eventually. Enjoy your week!

  14. What a good week for you! I like the cover for Spin, something about it really calls to me.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

