It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Have you signed up yet?? It’s almost time for another Literary Giveaway Blog Hop! It will run from February 18-22. Are you a book blogger? Do you want to give away a book to your readers? 

Join up so you are linked to all the other blogs that are participating.

.

I read 6 books in the last week

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

I took part in a month-long competition on Shelfari, where participants had to read random books (decided by the roll of the dice) from their TBR and wishlist. Because of that, I read more than normal. The competition is now finished and I got third place! So I’m planning to take it a bit more easy the next few weeks. Phew!

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman. Stories about people who all work for the same newspaper. The stories are connected, but not quite enough for me. 3.5 stars

5 Reasons to Leave a Lover by Carolyn Moncel. A novella and 2 short stories about leaving one’s partner. 3 stars

Every Last One by Anna Quindlen. Mary Beth is the mother of two sons and a daughter and together with her husband she leads a good life, until something devastating happens. 4.5 stars

Mercy by Jussi Adler-Olsen. A detective has been assigned to look into some old, unsolved cases. Together with the nosey (and clever) janitor of his department he investigates the case of a woman that was reported missing 5 years ago. Very good! 5 stars

Beste vriend [Dear Friend] by Robert Vuijsje. A book about a Dutch celebrity (no one, including himself,  remembers what he is famous for). He is so busy getting more exposure on tv and in magazines that he hardly has any time for his little son. His wife wants to leave him. A quick and fun read. 4 stars

Agorafabulous by Sara Benincasa. Memoir about the writer who suffered from agoraphobia when she was in her early twenties. She would not leave her room and worse, was scared of her own bathroom! 4 stars

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman5 Reasons to Leave a Lover by Carolyn MoncelEvery Last One by Anna Quindlen
Mercy by Jussi Adler-OlsenBeste vriend by Robert VuijsjeAgorafabulous by Sara Benincasa

Currently Reading

An Equal Music by Vikram Seth. A re-read for me. It’s the book of the month in my online book group, boekgrrls.

Reviews

The Snowman by Jo Nesbo. A fun thriller featuring a killer who builds a snowman at the scenes of the crimes. 4/5

Vanished by Liza Marklund

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

The Snowman by Jo NesboVanished by Liza MarklundOf Mice and Men by John Steinbeck


That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I did some intensive reading these past few days. My library book club is involved in a cross-border (Rep. of Ireland and Northern Ireland) reading project called Dialogue Through Literature for which we’re reading a non-fiction book called Bear in Mind These Dead. That was tough going. Stories about the relatives of those who died and some survivors of attacks and how they coped in the years following their losses. Phew, a very important book but not uplifting.
    To balance, I followed it with New York to Dallas by J.D. Robb. I love that mystery series set in the future and it did the job, brought me a good fast read and some light relief. I’m now about to start Russian Winter by Daphne Kalotay. I got my copy from the publisher (Arrow Books / Random House) and it’s about high time I got my review up.
    Don’t think I’ll get a lot more read this week because I got a good bit of overtime ahead of my in the library. But, from Next Sunday I’ll be off for over a week, so I’ll catch up on my reading again then.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marleen, sounds like heavy reading – and probably very difficult discussions – I assume there will be discussions?

      A J. D. Robb is a good light read after that, for sure!

  2. Mystica says:

    Your week sounds packed. Enjoy this one as well.

  3. Uniflame says:

    Nothing yet. I am in between books. I will probably check the site of the library today for new books🙂

  4. I loved how eclectic your book selections sounded – although I hadn’t read any of them. And thanks for reminding me about Shelfari account- it’s been ages since I’ve logged in.

  5. Lots of intriguing titles…I really loved Every Last One. I’m curious about The Imperfectionists….hope you enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST –

  6. Thank you so much for reading my book!

  7. Lindsay says:

    I loved Every Last One too, and it was my first read by that writer too. I have a couple of her others now on my to be read pile. I have Vanished to read in the next few days. Have a good week.

    http://thelittlereaderlibrary.blogspot.com/2012/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  8. Dollycas says:

    The Snowman looks really good!!! Have a great week!!

  9. mpartyka says:

    I still need to decide what I want to do for the giveaway… must get on that!

    You had a great reading week last week. I also tecnically read three books (finishing one, reading and listening to the other two). woohoo!

    Have a great week!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

