It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The Literary Giveaway Blog Hop is taking place right now! Click on the button to see my post, which is also the starting post of a blog hop with over 50 participating blogs

Win books, win many books! Good luck!

.

.

I read 3 books in the last week

An Equal Music by Vikram Seth. A re-read for me. It’s the book of the month in my online book group, boekgrrls. A good, quiet read. A bit slow, though. 4 stars

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I read this for the Indie Lit Awards. I’ll let you know after the winner is announced what I thought of this book, and the other books on the shortlist.

Blameless by Gail Carriger. The third in the Steampunk series. A fun read. 4 stars.

An Equal Music by Vikram SethA Monster Calls by Patrick NessBlameless by Gail Carriger

Currently Reading

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan. By the writer of When She Woke, a very good story about an American family in the 1940s on an isolated farm.

De Kok [The Cook] by Martin Suter. A Sri-Lankan refugee who works as a kitchen hand in a posh Swiss restaurant is a better cook than the cooks there. That can’t go well! Fun read.

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

Reviews

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Agorafabulous by Sara Benincasa. Memoir about a woman who suffered from agoraphobia.4/5 stars

The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen. A combination of a historical and modern story with a mystery taking place in 1830. 4/5 stars


Agorafabulous by Sara BenincasaThe Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen

Other news…

Read what new books entered my house… New Arrivals!

And don’t forget to enter to win books in the Literary Blog Hop.


That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

29 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. bibliosue says:

    Mudbound is so good — I liked When She Woke, but I loved Mudbound. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  2. Wendy says:

    Of your reads, I like the sound of Agorafabulous, Mudbound and the Bone Garden. I think you should put De Kok in the Ugly Book Covers comp this year! Drop by to check out my reads. xx

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wendy, you can win a copy of Agorafabolous in the giveaway hop if you’re interested.

      But I don’t think De kok has an ugly cover at all! Funny how tastes differ.

  3. Kristi says:

    I’m interested to hear your thoughts on A Monster Calls once the winners are announced. I was really impressed by it. I felt a little emotionally manipulated with his Chaos Walking Trilogy, but with an even more difficult subject matter in A Monster Calls, it never felt that way. It felt really honest and I appreciated that. I love how the illustrations enhanced the mood.

    Right now I’m reading Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. It’s an amazing book, but I’m really looking forward to getting out Humbert’s head. He’s so creepy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kristi, I have only read the first part of the *Chaos Walking Trilogy*. I liked it, but not enough to continue with the next book. I much prefer *The Hunger Games*.

      I’ve never read Lolita. It sounds too creepy to me! I read *The End of Alice * by A. M. Homes recently, about a paedophile in prison, and that was bad enough (although a very good book).

  4. brolee says:

    Yes, Mudbound was a fantastic read – just read it last month. When She Woke arrived in my mailbox last week and I’m hoping to read it alongside The Scarlet Letter soon.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m not far into Mudbound, brolee, but so far, I think it’s better written and a better story than When She Woke (although I enjoyed that a lot, too). I hope you’ll enjoy When She Woke!

  5. Great lineup of books there! I’m lucky if I can get through two a week but it’s probably because I spend too much time in front of the tv😉

    New follower and am glad to find you!

    My Monday post.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for visiting and following, BarkLess. I went over to your blog too – it’s always nice to find new to me blogs. Unfortunately I couldn’t leave a comment – it’s some blogger vs wordpress problem I think. It’s not just your blog where I have this, it’s many!😦

  6. I loved Mudbound! Hope you’re enjoying it.

    Thanks for visiting my blog…and have a great week.

  7. Jackie says:

    I’ve chosen to read A Monster Calls for my fun read in march .The chapters YA clerk seems to think it’s an excellent book anyway . I hope so .

  8. I’m really excited to read A Monster Calls, I have read a few reviews from other book blogs and they all seem to be pretty positive. I’ve heard I’ll have to get my tissues close by though!

  9. Mary Preston says:

    I’ve got MUDBOUND on my wish list. Good to hear what others think.

  10. mpartyka says:

    I’m curious to read the Indie lit award winners, when are they announced? Soon or maybe summer?

    Sounds like you have a good selection this week. I haven’t had a chance to sign up for the hop… I need to find time (I’m taking a quick break from a work project now). 48 more hours to go!🙂

  11. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    The cover for DeKok sure is um interesting.. I hope the story is as well!

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  12. Mystica says:

    Such a lot of good books here. Mudbound, the Vikram Seth book and The Bone Garden have all caught my eye.

  13. I liked A Monster Calls – it’s not what I expected from the cover (and I hadn’t read any reviews) – and I was surprised (ina good way). So – I’m going to guess that you liked it too🙂

  14. Aths says:

    You are reading some good books! I’m glad to see that you enjoyed the Seth book. I’ve been thinking of reading one of his books sometime.

  15. Tes says:

    Dekok sounds really interesting🙂 This book I read a book called “Dragon Keeper” by Robin Hobb. I

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

