It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 4 books in the last week

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan. By the writer of When She Woke, a very good story about an American family in the 1940s on an isolated farm. 5 stars

De Kok [The Cook] by Martin Suter [Dutch]. When a Sri-Lankan refugee who works as a kitchen hand in a posh Swiss restaurant is fired, he starts a company together with the waitress, preparing aphrodisiac food for couples. 4 stars

The Sinner by Tess Gerritsen. A double murder in a convent and another corpse without hands and feet. Detective Rizzoli and pathologist Isles have a hard time finding out how these are related. 4 stars

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Access to a lot of money is hidden within a large computer system. An 18-year old boy who spends most of his time online tries to find clues to where the money is.

Mudbound by Hillary JordanThe Sinner by Tess GerritsenReady Player One by Ernest Cline

Currently Reading

Half Brother by Kenneth OppelPlastic panda's by Bas Haring [Dutch]

Reviews

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Zeitoun by Dave Eggers. When the hurricane Katrina hits, a man stays behind in New Orleans to look after people, animals and houses. 5 stars!

Mercy by Jussi Adler-Olsen. A policeman and a cleaner are the only employees of a new police department that has been set up to solve cold cases. The cleaner is more keen than the policeman, but together they do a great job. 5 stars!

The Collector by John Fowles. A man locks a girl in his cellar and hopes she will start to love him if he treats her well. Very creepy! 4 stars

Zeitoun by Dave EggersMercy by Jussi Adler-OlsenThe Collector by John Fowles

Other news…

Read what new books entered my house… New Arrivals!


That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

35 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wendy says:

    Sounds like Mercy and Zeitoun are worth reading! xx

  2. Wow! Four books in a week is quite an effort. I’m currently reading ‘The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde’ and loving it!

  3. Karen says:

    I like the sound of Mudbound. Sounds right up my street. Also need to get round to reading another Gerritsen. Sounds like you had a good week.

  4. Tes says:

    Mudbound sounds really interesting. I will definitely like this one🙂

  5. Mystica says:

    I had a good mailbox myself. Yours looks stupendous!

  6. Gee you had a great reading week. I only really finished (1) book. I’ve been a bit pre-ocuupied:)

  7. readerbuzz says:

    I loved Zeitoun when I read it a couple of years ago. Scary, too, as I also live along the Gulf Coast.

    I don’t see your ranking of Player One. I’m curious….

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    I’d love to have you stop by.

    And I hope you’ll also enter the Readerbuzz February Giveaway! You could win All Kinds of Kisses or Paris to the Past or a $25 Amazon giftcard!

  8. I hope you loved Ready Player oNe – I listened to it on audio and LOVED it -will definitely listen to it again🙂

  9. bibliosue says:

    The Cook sounds like an interesting novel — I’ll have to see if it’s available in translation, otherwise I’ll have to re-visit that idea about learning Dutch🙂

    I’m so glad you enjoyed Mudbound!

  10. LOVED Mudbound…and When She Woke. Glad you enjoyed them. I must start reading Tess Gerritsen…enjoy the Rizzoli and Isles series on TV.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  11. Erika says:

    I’m excited to see you reading Half Brother! I have a copy on my TBR shelves too. I’d love to know what you think. I was lucky enough to go to Kenneth Oppel’s seminar about his inspiration behind the book. If you are interested in knowing more, I wrote down some of the things he said on my blog:

    http://suddenlybooks.blogspot.com/2011/06/highlights-from-waterloo-region-writer.html

  12. Dollycas says:

    Mercy seems to be calling my name!!!
    Have a great week!

  13. Great reading week for you! I need to get to Ready Player One. I have it in print and audio.

  14. Kristin T. says:

    I just started reading the Rizzoli and Isles series by Tess Gerritsen…I’ve read book 1 so far. I love the tv series.

    Have a great week! Here’s my It’s Monday Post if you’d like to stop by…I also posted a new giveaway today (see sidebar) that’s open internationally.

  15. Pussreboots says:

    De Kok sounds interesting.

    My daughter’s Scholastic book order came in. Come see what she and I read.

  16. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Ready Player One will be my next purchase, Ive been desperate to read it for a while!

    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  17. MarthaE says:

    You have several books here I would love to get to… though not this month. LOL
    You are right that I have to try to reign in my review commitments. I keep meaning to so I can read some of my TBR. But then I’ll see this or that that tempt me.🙂
    Hope you have been having a lovely week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Martha, I so often tempted, and this week, I agreed to more review copies than I was planning. But then yesterday I was very strict with myself and ignored an email from the publishers offering some more review copies.🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

