February Overview

In February, I read 17 books. In case you fall over backwards by the sheer amount of that, let me tell you, it’s a lot less than what I read in January!

Books that stood out:

I discovered a new thriller writer: Jussi Adler-Olsen. I loved Mercy, the first book I read by this Danish author. Zeitoun (by Dave Eggers) had been on my shelves for a long time and turned out to be really good. The same is true for Mudbound (by Hillary Jordan). I liked that even better than her newer book When She Woke.

This is what I read

Click on the orange links to go to the review

Mercy by Jussi Adler-Olsen. 5 stars

Zeitoun by Dave Eggers. 5 stars

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan. 5 stars

Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel. 4.5 stars

Every Last One by Anna Quindlen. 4.5 stars

Agorafabulous by Sara Benincasa. 4 stars

The Snowman by Jo Nesbo. 4 stars

An Equal Music by Vikram Seth. 4 stars

Blameless by Gail Carriger. 4 stars

The Sinner by Tess Gerritsen. 4 stars

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman. 3.5 stars

5 Reasons to Leave a Lover by Carolyn Moncel. 3 stars

***

Indie Lit Reads:

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

***

Dutch books:

Beste vriend [Dutch] by Robert Vuijsje. 4 stars

De kok [The Cook, Dutch] by Martin Suter. 4 stars

Schemervlucht [Dutch] by Alexandra Smith. 3 stars


This is what I reviewed too

Vanished by Liza Marklund. 5 stars

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. 5 stars

Away by Amy Bloom. 4.5 stars

Spin by Catherine McKenzie. 4.5 stars

The Collector by John Fowles. 4 stars

The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen. 4 stars

De camping [The Camping, Dutch] by Karin Kuiper. 3.5 stars


What did YOU read in January?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to February Overview

  1. Wendy says:

    Sooo, how do you do it? How do you schedule in reading to be able to read so much? What’s your secret? xx

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wendy, you want to know my secret? Hmm, if only I knew! I read fast, that’s one. Also, I don’t work at the moment. Now, I don’t read much during the day at all, but I can do household chores, exercise, and all that during the day, so my evenings are free for reading. Does that help?🙂

  2. WOW! I didn’t read much this month. In fact, I have been reading my current novel for almost two weeks now and I’m only half done. I should be able to finish it if I can sit for two hours. Hopefully this weekend (while my husband watches a movie). 🙂

    I’m so happy to see that you liked most of what you read!

  3. bibliosue says:

    Wow. All I can say is wow. Quite an interesting and diverse selection of books as well. Good for you.

  4. JoV says:

    My goodness Judith, 17 books??!! Congratulations on another great month!

    • Leeswammes says:

      It was indeed a great month, Jo. I have a lot of books waiting to be read for March, not sure about some of them. But often, books turn out to be better than I initially think, so fingers crossed for another good month.

  5. Leslie says:

    17 books and non of them audio… that’s a lot! When I read in the evening I find my speed slows considerably. Probably due to tired eyes… that happens when you get older!

  6. Rikki says:

    Strangely enough I am not getting back into the Parasol Protectorate series. I didn’t get past chapter 2 of Changeless and this is where I am stuck now. Great that you are reading on.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, a pity you didn’t get through Changeless. I liked it less than the other 2 I’ve read. I like the writing style and the topic is just something else for a change, which is nice.

  7. JP says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed Mudbound! It’s on my TBR shelf, and I also really want to read When She Woke. I’m just going to have to get to Hillary Jordan very soon!

  8. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    A great month for you! February was too short, i had more books to read than days to read them in!

  9. I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed The Half Brother and that you’ve read and loved Mudbound.
    Mercy and Zeitoun are heading up my TBR list🙂

  10. Pingback: Tom Rachman | Seit über 10.000 Jahren Erfahrung in Versklavung

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

