It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel. Fun story about a boy who gets a chimpanzee to live with them, for research purposes. 4.5 stars

Het dorpsgericht [The Village Judgement] by Frans van den Ouweland. A man moves from Paris to the French rural area to work as a school teacher. The villagers team up against him. 4 stars

Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber by Dane Batty. The author’s uncle was a bank robber who was wanted by the FBI. The book is the memoir of the uncle. 3.5 stars

Half Brother by Kenneth OppelHet dorpsgericht by Frans van den OuwelandWanted: Gentleman Bank Robber by Dane Batty

Currently Reading

The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel SimonsPlastic panda's by Bas Haring [Dutch]

Reviews

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan. By the writer of When She Woke, a very good story about an American family in the 1940s on an isolated farm. 5 stars

Away by Amy Bloom. A young Russian woman travels to the USA in the 1920s to start a new life. When she finds out that her baby girl may still be alive in Russia, she travels back. 4.5 stars

De Kok [The Cook] by Martin Suter [Dutch]. When a Sri-Lankan refugee who works as a kitchen hand in a posh Swiss restaurant is fired, he starts a company together with the waitress, preparing aphrodisiac food for couples. 4 stars

Mudbound by Hillary JordanAway by Amy Bloom

Other news…

Read what new books entered my house… New Arrivals!

March Blogger events around the internet – check HERE.

People stole my blog posts! HERE.

February overview… HERE.


That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. readerbuzz says:

    You always finish several good books a week. Good for you!

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    I’d love to have you stop by!

  2. Wendy says:

    Plastic Pandas looks unusual! xx

  3. I must be spending too much time on my blogs and not enough time reading, as still reading the same book as this time last week.😦

    • Leeswammes says:

      LindyLou, you should take some time for reading (if that is what you want) – just plan it and do it! I know, I get distracted by my computer A LOT too!!

  4. I loved Mudbound…now I’m zeroing in on Away…what a great sounding story!

    Enjoy your week….

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  5. I’m half way through Beautiful girl, I just realized this! I was listening to it, then company arrived for over a month and I wasn’t able to walk around the house with earbuds. Must finish this book!

    Have a great week

  6. I just finished The Story of Beautiful Girl. Loved it!

  7. Mudbound and When She Awoke are both on my TBR list so I’m glad to see you enjoyed them. This week I’m making my way through The Name of the Rose (Umberto Eco) and Gregor the Overlander (Suzanne Collins). So far Name of the Rose feels like a bit of a slog so I’ve been grateful for the distraction of Gregor. Have a great week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I loved *The Name of the Rose* when I read it years ago but I think it wasn’t the fastests of reads. I haven’t read anything by Suzanne Collings other than the Hungergames series. Hope it’s good!

  8. Dollycas says:

    Definitely getting Mudbound after your review!! Thanks for sharing!!
    Have a great week!

  9. Pussreboots says:

    Looks like you had a good week of reading.

    My daughter convinced me that she needed her own library card. Please come see what I’m reading.

  10. I think you’ll enjoy The Story of Beautiful Girl. Right now, I’m reading nothing I want to.😦 In school w/ an overloaded curriculum. Can’t wait for last day of classes. What a luxury it will be to have the time & freedom to chose what I want to read!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

