Book Review: Blameless by Gail Carriger

Blameless by Gail Carriger

I very much enjoyed reading the first two books in the Parasol Protectorate series, Soulless, and Changeless.

I liked Soulless a lot (5 stars) and Changeless a little less (4 stars). Blameless is much like Changeless, where Alexia and her husband are separated from each other for most of the book, and have independent (but related) adventures.

Blameless: What it is about

Alexia Tarrabotti is pregnant! And her husband, Lord Maccon, is convinced the baby can’t be his, because werewolves do not procreate. He sends her away and starts drinking. He gets awfully drunk for days on end. Not on alcohol, though. His drink of choice is quite different!

Alexia spends a few days at her parents but when they find out about her situation, they don’t want her in the house any longer and she runs off. Soon she finds out that the vampires want her dead, because the child she is carrying is a threat to them.

She escapes with Madam Lefoux and Floote, the butler, to Italy. Here, she’s not safe either. Meanwhile, Lord Maccon is slowly coming to his senses.

Blameless: What I thought

This was a fun story. Lord Maccon was very unreasonable but was out of the picture for most of the story as he was too inebriated to do anything at all. So, Professor Lyall, his Beta wolf, had to lead the pack. We learned about all of his worries and about his attempts to get Maccon back to the sober world.

Alexia, meanwhile, escaped to Italy, via France. As she hadn’t travelled much, she marvelled at all the new experiences she has, but wasn’t too enthralled to not notice the vampires that are following them.

There is a short appearance of Alexia’s friend Ivy, now Mrs Tunstell, and two new characters, a German scientist and a French inventor, are introduced. To say nothing of the Italian Templars, who aren’t too happy to have Alexia amongst their people.

The writing is quite formal, Victorian-like, and this makes it a slow read for the type of story, light-hearted as it is.

Rating: 4/5 stars

I got this book: won from Suzi at Steamed!

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 376

First published: 2010

Genre: fantasy, steampunk

Extra: Fits in with the Transcending Gender Reading Challenge

Transcending Gender 2012 Reading Challenge

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Book Review: Blameless by Gail Carriger

  1. Trisha says:

    I really enjoy this series, in large part because of the way it is written. I love the voice the author has created here.

  2. Marion says:

    This book I liked even less then Changeless, but it had its moment. The next one Heartless was abig dissapointment. I worte about it on my blog: http://leeslint.com/?p=2162 But the first book was awesome.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for your comment, Marion. I do agree that the first book was the best. I’m not in a hurry to read Blameless but will eventually get round to it, I’m sure. I’ll check your link.

  3. Tes says:

    What a fun review🙂 I should try looking for these books🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

