Change Write Now: Starting Post

Change Write Now

I’ve joined the Change Write Now challenge that starts today! It’s a team challenge for writers, book bloggers, and other bookish people to work on their health (and other parts of their life, if they want). The challenge runs for 63 days so it could really have a health benefit!

I’m in a team with 5 other women and we’re to report every week to Head Quarters who will keep track of our scores and make a leader board. For your information, I’m in Team M, so keep an eye out for us.

Every day, we get points for the following categories:

  • Eating Healthy – I’m using MyFitnessPal to track my calorie intake. My MyFitnessPal profile (Leeswammes) is in diet mode, but I’m not quite ready to do a proper diet, so I’ll up my calorie intake by 200. Anything after that is a fail for that day. This is going to be difficult, I like my snacks!
  • Exercising for at least 20 minutes – I’ll do this in addition to my normal cycling (to shops, library and friends) and house work. I’ll only count exercise that I only do for exercise-sake. Shouldn’t be too difficult, there’s XBox Fitness if it rains.
  • Sleeping at least 6 hours – I need a lot of sleep so this is a walk-over. Less than 6 hours doesn’t happen to me very often. Easy!
  • Consuming 64 oz of water – To be honest, I don’t quite see the point, but since it can’t harm either, and I (and thus my team) will get points for it, I’ll try it. Actually, I’m taking some medicines for which it is recommended to drink extra water (or other non-caffeinated drinks), so this may actually be good.
  • Checking in with your teammates – To keep each other motivated, we have to check in every day. That should not be a problem.
  • Adopting One Good Habit – The good habit I want to adopt is eating one piece of fruit every day. I know, I should be doing that anyway. I’m not a great fruit eater, so this will force me to!
  • Tossing Out One Bad Habit – My bad habit (oh yes, I only have one!) is that when I’m at home, which is most of the time, I check my computer (twitter, blog, email) rather often. When there’s something new, I’ll sit down, follow up on it, and end up spending a long time on the computer rather than ‘just quickly checking’. So, every day, I will spend one hour not on the computer for the full hour. It’s not much, but it’s a start. I’m not allowed to instead go shopping or something, this is about time that I am actually at home.

What do you think? 

Can I do this?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to Change Write Now: Starting Post

  1. Iris says:

    Sure you can do it🙂

    Um, you do not see the point of drinking 2 L of water each day? I have this discussion with my mom all the time, and I just can’t believe you could live without 2 L of water each day. I drink at least that, or I’d faint. My mom drinks nothing close to that amount, and I worry, especially since when you get older you actually need the liquids, but your body stops asking for it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Iris, like most animals, I drink when I’m thirsty. I think it’s not so clear-cut that people need 2 liters a day – recently it’s been suggested it’s not necessary at all. But it can’t harm and I’ll try it and see if I can do it. And who knows, I may feel better because of it.

  2. You can do this!
    I’m on MyFitnessPal too (Karinmartina) doing I’m slugging a bit lately.
    Succes!

  3. Roxanne says:

    You can do this!!🙂 Sounds like a great idea.

  4. Erika says:

    This is a great idea! I know you can do it.

  5. bibliosue says:

    Yes you can do this Judith! Even though we aren’t on the same team I will be cheering for you too.

  6. parrish says:

    Sounds a great way to kickstart a healthier you, best of luck with it.

  7. Tiina says:

    Yes you can! Good luck!

  8. Rikki says:

    Of course you can do it. It might be hard and take a lot of discipline, but it is certainly do-able. I am looking forward to follow your progress.
    Btw, I like the Fitness Pal site. Sounds interesting and helpful.

  9. Katrien says:

    I’m always surprised when people say they don’t eat much fruit, because I eat 2 peaces (or sometimes 3) a day. It has become a habbit, so I always eat some after dinner or instead of a snack. My mum is always busy with healthy food, which is good, but sometimes so annoying!
    Good Luck with the challenge!

  10. Leeswammes says:

    I’ve never been a great fruit eater, Katrien. I don’t like to have to peel fruit or prepare it in some way. So I prefer bananas because you can peel them without needing a knife – no, I don’t eat apples with their skin on either.

    It’s good that you have this habit and your mother keeps filling the fruit bowl.

  11. Yes you can do this (and I can do this and our team can do this)!🙂 Yea to surviving day 1.

    Have you ever heard of macfreedom? If you haven’t, it’s software that allows you to set a timer to block internet access from your computer. It’s around $10 and works on both mac and pc.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Carrie, great to have you on the team! I haven’t heard of macfreedom. For now, I’m going to try without but it’s a good idea if things get out of hand.

  12. Vasilly says:

    This sounds a lot like the Game On Diet that I tried a few years ago. It was hard but worth it. Good luck and keep us posted on your progress!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well spotted, Vasilly. It is indeed based on the Game on Diet. This is what the Change Write Now organisers said: “**This game has been adapted from the Game On! Diet: Kick Your Friend’s Butt While Shrinking Your Own. That Game was WAY more stringent and focused on losing weight. We have changed up rules and removed the dieting component to make it more generally health-focused. The book does have a lot of great tips, though!”

  13. This is a great challenge! I know for me, I have had to put into place a rule of no laptop after 8PM (most of the time). I decided it would be lovely to get up in the morning with the gift of a few emails from friends. I have all but walked away from fb (never use it), and I’m not on Twitter much… now I can go days without logging on. It’s freeing!

    Water… it’s SO good for you. I’m glad to see you are drinking more.

    Can’t wait to watch your progress, I’m cheering from the sidelines🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I can’t do without my computer from 8pm onwards, but certainly a whole hour not checking my mail, twitter, etc. should be possible.

      Thanks for the cheering, Mari. At the moment, nothing much is going on so it’s easy to remember to measure my food, do my exercise, drink the water, etc. On a busy day it may be a lot harder.

  14. Leslie says:

    I think you can do it… or at least get close to it. And if you start to see positive results the changes will become part of your routine.

    • Leeswammes says:

      At the moment, I have to think about what I’m doing, Leslie. I’m writing down what I eat (in MyFitnessPal) and reminding myself about drinking water. The one piece of fruit is easy to forget, too. I’m sure it’ll get more of a routine soon.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

