Weekly Reading Roundup

Today, I’m not participating in It’s Monday! as I usually do, because it’s a meme and I don’t have the time to visit many other participating blogs today. But I love the meme and it’s a good way to keep track of what I’ve been reading.

Books I finished this week: 3

The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon. A beautiful story about a girl who runs away from an institution (and is caught again), her deaf boyfriend, and their baby, who finds a home with a widow teacher. 4.5 stars

De Fazantmoordenaars [The Pheasant Murderers] by Jussi Adler-Olsen. Book 2 in a series about Department Q where a detective and his assistant are working on unresolved cases from years ago. 4 stars

Being Lara by Lola Jaye. Lara is adopted from Nigeria by an English couple. When she’s 30 she finally meets her birth mother and this causes Lara to reconsider who she is. 4 stars

The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel SimonThe Pheasant Murderers by Jussi Adler-OlsenBeing Lara by Lola Jaye

Books I’m reading (2) and after that… (2)

Plastic panda's by Bas Haring [Dutch]The Borrower by Rebecca MakkaiThe Sense of an Ending by Julian BarnesI am Legend by Richard Matheson

Reviews and other news

Blameless by Gail Carriger. The third in the Steampunk series. A fun read. 4 stars.

Wanted: Gentleman Bank Robber by Dane Batty. The author’s uncle was a bank robber who was wanted by the FBI. The book is the memoir of the uncle. 3.5 stars

An Equal Music by Vikram Seth. A re-read for me. It’s the book of the month in my online book group, boekgrrls. A good, quiet read. A bit slow, though. 4 stars

A new challenge for a healthier lifestyle: Change Write Now: Starting Post

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Wendy says:

    You must be sticking to your new exercising routine and being away from the computer more. Well done you!

  2. I’m glad to see you enjoyed Beautiful Girl. Now that I am official ‘done’ with Night Circus, I’m going to return to girl and finish it. I was really enjoying it.

    Have a wonderful day!

  3. Karen says:

    I like the sound of The Story of Beautiful Girl. Will add that to my tr list. Also been meaning to read the Julian Barnes, especially now that it is out in paperback. Hope you enjoy.

  4. Katrien says:

    I’m currently reading Escape by Barbara Delinsky and I think that I won’t be more because of homework. Don’t know what to think about the novel yet, altough I’m already further than page 100.
    Have you ever read a book by Barbara Delinsky?

    • Leeswammes says:

      I haven’t read anything by Barbara Delinsky, but I have heard of her. I’ll look her up on Wikipedia straight away. Thanks for the recommendation!

  5. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I really want to read The Story of a Beautiful Girl, it’s been on my list since it was first released!

    Have a great week Judith!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

