Quick Book Review: The Sinner by Tess Gerritsen

The Sinner by Tess Gerritsen

Rating: 4/5
Number of pages: 448
First published: 2003
Genre: thriller

.

This is a book in Gerritsen’s Rizzoli & Isles series. The first I’ve read, but not the first in the series. I have no idea whether it matters that I didn’t read the earlier two books first, but while reading, it didn’t feel like I was missing something.

Dr. Maura Isles is a medical examiner. She’s called to the scene of a double murder: a chapel in a convent. A novice nun has been killed while a much older nun is barely alive. Together with Jane Rizzoli she becomes involved in the investigation into these murders. When they find a body without hands, feet, or face, they soon discover that this murder is related to the others.

When the boyfriend/lovers of Maura and Jane enter the stage, the women have a lot to deal with. Maura worries why her ex showed up just now while Jane has a good reason to want to avoid her lover.

As with the other books by Tess Gerritsen that I have read, I enjoyed this one. The story leads to people and situations that I never think about so it was interesting to read about this. Only at the very end, the story turns into a real thriller and the reader worries about Maura Isles’ safety. But I was a bit annoyed with her. She could have taken better precautions to make sure she was safe, because she knew someone may be after her (just not who it was). In that sense, the story was a little contrived, for instance, just as she really needs her mobile, it’s in the car, where she can’t get to it, etc.

Not the best of Gerritsen I have read, but a fun read. My favorites are Harvest and Life Support.

Extra: Other Gerritsen books – Harvest, Life Support, The Bone GardenThe Mephisto Club.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

9 Responses to Quick Book Review: The Sinner by Tess Gerritsen

  1. Yay! I love this series🙂

    I haven’t read any of the stand alones yet so I must try those soon.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Boof, you’re a real Gerritsen fan, aren’t you? This was the first book I read in the series. It was OK but I preferred the other books (as I mentioned). I wonder what you’ll think of those.

  2. I have read this one as well… i wanted to look up the others in the Rizzoli & Isles series as well but i have never done that. Maybe I should, as this one was pretty good!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Roxanne, you might as well start at the beginning if you’re starting this series. It doesn’t matter too much but it seems to make sense, doesn’t it?

  3. Because I didn’t like the tv-series, I am not sure about this book, Judith. I don’t think it is one for me, especially since I still have some books on my TBR-read list.🙂

  4. Mystica says:

    I’ve read just two of her books. I am making a note of this one as well.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

