Bloggiesta: A post from my mobile phone

So, here is my attempt to write a blog post using my mobile. I’m extremely poor at writing on my mobile without spelling errors so I rely heavily on the predictive texting.

Why am I doing this? It’s a mini-challenge for Bloggiesta, suggested by Florinda of The 3 R’s Blog. Here.

A picture? Ok, this is what I’m reading now:

image

I can’t see a way to save this post, neither have I noticed a ‘post to blog’ option. Oops! This post maybe lost for eternity…

https://leeswammes.wordpress.com/2011/01/leeswammes_signature1.jpg

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to Bloggiesta: A post from my mobile phone

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Oops, that last line was a link to my signature. I wanted the picture there, not the link. Not sure that is possible, plus I’m never going to remember that link when I’m out in the open anyway.

    It’s probably handy for a quick post with a picture or so, but otherwise,I can’t see myself using it too often.

    And indeed, I see no way to save the post while I’m writing it. Do you know how to do that (in wordpress)?

  2. Dee says:

    I like that you even managed to put in a hyperlink! Well done🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Dee. Yes, that hyperlink wasn’t too hard to do, but I had to copy the actual link (type it in) from my computer. So, without a computer nearby I probably wouldn’t be able to find the links that I might want to use. A little cheating, that was.

  3. Rikki says:

    Well done, Judith. Of course, not up to the quality of a regular post, but I suppose this is to be expected. I don’t even use this quick post option in the wordpress dashboard, so a mobile post would be way too advanced (read: inceonvenient) for me…But I admire you for doing the challenge, I immediately gave that one a miss.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve never used the quick-post option either. I had the wordpress app on my mobile but never used it, so that was a fun thing to try out. I also realised I can read and approve comments that way (I think). I normally just reply to comment-emails when I’m on my mobile, that will post my reaction, too, but I can’t approve comments that way.

      I will look into it further and try to use the app a bit more.

  4. Carol Ervin says:

    Typing on the phone keyboard. My fingers aren’t too fat, but I don’t think I’ll ever love it or do it, though I’ll have to watch the world pass me by!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Carol, I have the same problem. People tell me you should use just your thumbs, but I’m not finding that easy either. Maybe I need more practice.

  5. mpartyka says:

    Great job! I have tried blogging from my iPad… it’s not so easy. I love that you’re trying new technology. I recently read that people over 35 don’t spend time with social media, or have interest in learning… so I love that we’re out here figuring it out!🙂

    I spent the night last night trying out a new look on my blog (while watching a movie). I’m undecided but think I will give is a week. After clicking on the sidebar mini-challenge… I thought I might try to remove it. The hosts page is so clean and easy to read. I have visited many blogs that overwhelm the eye… so much stuff.

    Enjoy today’s Bloggiesta!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I’m quite busy on Twitter but don’t use facebook so much. I like social media but it just eats up so much time. Since my phone has all kinds of apps and options, I do use several apps when on the go. I had installed the WordPress App but not done anything with it.

      Your blog looks fine, but I think the text over the whole width is a bit much. Also, I would be too scared to not have a sidebar at all. There are some things I want to push onto people.🙂

      • mpartyka says:

        I don’t have anything on the sidebar that I want to push to people…. but it’s not the usual look so I’m not sure how well it will be received. I will try it for a few days and see. Most of the people who read my blog read it from a reader or email…

        I am trying to add social media icon links to the top section, if I can’t figure this out I will probably have to revert to the sidebar.

        thoughts? an honest opinion is helpful.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Mari, I don’t have any ideas, sorry. I hope you figure it out.

  6. Congratulations Judith! Amazing! The hyperlinking was a pain, right? With all the copying and pasting, but it was a good experience. Hooray to bloggiesta!🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Myragarcesbacsal, I didn’t copy and paste the link – not sure how that works! I actually looked up the address on my computer and then typed it in on my mobile. No pasting there!

      • I suppose it depends on which mobile you’re using. In iPhones you only need to press a few seconds and the option to copy a text would appear. I’m not sure how it works though in other phones.

  7. Care says:

    It worked?!?! I prefer my tried and true post editing methods, myself. I think the iPad WP app is clunky. I dont’ think I really need fast&quick. That’s what Twitter is for if I need to shout at the world, imo.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Care, same here. I don’t really need a fast way to blog but since I had downloaded the WordPress App a while ago, I was curious to see how it would turn out.

  8. I do have the WP app on my Blackberry and it looks nice. i sometimes use it to check if I have comments and to reply to them but I have never actually written a post from there. I saw it saves it as phone draft first so you can’t even see it on your computer then. Need to figure that out first before I could use it, but at least it exists🙂

  9. Erika says:

    Well, it wasn’t lost for eternity! Good job! I wish I owned a mobile phone to try out this task. I always wondered how people can do that.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s an App, Erika. It’s like wordpress for a small screen. It works OK, but the typing is so tedious. I’m not good at typing on my mobile.

  10. bibliosue says:

    Nice job! I have the WordPress app on my nook but have not been brave enough to try anything with it yet.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I wasn’t brave enough to try the WP app on my mobile, either, Suzanne. It was because of this mini-challenge that I thought I’ll try it out. It’s not so scary really.🙂

  11. parrish lantern says:

    I attempted this once, using the Blogger app on my phone & with partial success, it was a tiny post about last years TS Eliot Prize & the picture was a bit small & unsatisfactory, not tried since.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gary, sorry it didn’t work for you. I found the picture to be bigger than I would like. I’m not sure if there is something I can do about it while in the phone app (I could do it now, on my laptop, of course), but while on the mobile, the picture looked quite small.

      It’s nice that you *can *write posts via a mobile, but it’s not ideal, for sure.

  12. RFW says:

    I’ve done this on my iPhone while traveling, but my biggest challenge was typing on that tiny keyboard and having spell check keep changing my thoughts (sometimes I couldn’t even remember what it was I had planned to say).
    Keep at it – you’ll get it🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

