It’s Monday – What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I didn’t read as much as normal this week, mainly because Friday-Sunday I was busy with Bloggiesta and didn’t do much reading. Yes, Bloggiesta… did you notice the new look of my blog? Don’t run off, it’s Leeswammes’ Blog!🙂

I read 2 books in the last week

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French. I read this for my book group, last Friday we had our meeting. The book was fun, boring and cliché, all of that. It made for a good discussion, though. 3.5 stars

Just in Case by Meg Rosoff. About a boy, David Case, who is afraid fate will catch up with him and he changes his name to Justin and reinvents himself completely. But can he escape fate? 3.5 stars

 A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn FrenchJust In Case by Meg Rosoff

Currently Reading

The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana TrigianiThe Reconstructionist by Nick Arvin

Reviews

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

Battle Royale by Koushun Tamaki. This is The Hunger Games original story from 1999. In this case a Japanese school class is let loose on an island and the pupils have to fight until just one of them is left over. 4.5 stars

Elegy for Eddie by Jacqueline Winspear. It’s 1933 and Maisie Dobbs investigates the accidental death of a man she’s known all her life. Was it really an accident? Number 9 in the series. 4 stars

Battle Royale by Koushun TakamiElegy for Eddie by Jacqueline Winspear


Other news…

As I said, it was Bloggiesta weekend. That is an online event in which bloggers work on their blog and help each other out where needed. I did a lot. This is what I planned to do, this is what I did (almost the same!), and here an experimental post that I sent from my mobile phone.

My apologies to my RSS subscribers who must have seen loads of (old) posts in their reader: I updated a lot of posts and they were re-published. Just ignore them, please.

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

27 Responses to It’s Monday – What Are You Reading?

  1. readerbuzz says:

    It looks like you had a very successful Bloggiesta! Me, too.

    Ciao!

    Here’s It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?! Please stop by and say hello!

  2. Mari Partyka says:

    I just noticed how similar our blogs are now (background). With my sidebar, I have the darker line seperating widgets too!

    I didn’t get much reading done either, need to finish my book for Weds discussion!

    Have a great week!

  3. bibliosue says:

    I like the new look! The other format was nice too, but I like the simplicity of this one.

    I’m about halfway through The Shoemaker’s Wife and I am just loving it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I chose it for the simplicity.

      I am almost finished with The Shoemaker’s Wife. I like it, but I loved the beginning, the Italian mountains.

  4. harvee says:

    I’m reading The Shoemaker’s Wife for a blog tour.Looking forward to it.

  5. Care says:

    Goodness! Be patient about the pie! 😀

    I like your template, too. Would steal it if the comment access was at the end of the posts. I’ll keep looking…

    • Leeswammes says:

      Care, the comment form IS at the bottom if you click on the title link. But otherwise, yes, it’s awkward. It’s one of the things I like least about this theme. But I did like it otherwise so I went for it anyway. Hope people will find the comments!

  6. Tesney Ap says:

    I love the new look of your blog. It looks really refreshing🙂 I haven’t red any book for a while now… I think it’s time I visit a book store🙂

  7. Mystica says:

    Glad you had a good Bloggiesta. Like thenew look of the blog.

  8. You had a great week and a busy weekend.
    Looks great round here!!
    Have an awesome week!!

  9. Amy says:

    Interesting reads! Hope you have fun reading them🙂 Have a great week!

  10. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’ll be interested to see what you think of The Reconstructionist – I read it a few weeks ago.
    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, I saw The Reconstructionist on your blog when you reviewed it. I can’t remember what you thought as I didn’t want to read it too carefully. I will after I finish the book. So far, I like it.

  11. I REALLY want to read The Shoemaker’s Wife, since I thoroughly enjoyed Brava, Valentine. I need to read Very Valentine, too.

    Love the look here!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  12. I just finished Juliet Greenwoods ‘Eden’s Garden’ which was excellent and defintiely a favourite and now I’m reading ‘Third Culture Kids’ nonfiction and also ‘Second Person Singular’ by Sayed Kashua.

  13. I read The Reconstructionist last month and thought it was quite good. I hope you’re enjoying it!

  14. I am reading The Shoemaker’s Wife right now too. I look forward to your thoughts on it!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

