It’s Monday – What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 3 books in the last week

The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana TrigianiThe Reconstructionist by Nick ArvinHeaven and Hell by Jón Kalman Stéfansson

Click on the blue links to go to the blog post.

The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriani Trigiani. Enza and Ciro are from the same area in the Italian Alps and meet each other again after emigrating to New York. The book tells their story. 4 stars

The Reconstructionist by Nick Arvin. A man who reconstructs car accidents has an affair with his wife’s boss. When his boss disappears he follows him to road accident sites. 4 stars

Hemel en Hel by Jón Kalman Stefánsson. A beautiful story about a twenty-year old boy who loses his best friend when they are out at sea finishing in the dark, freezing, sea near Iceland. Historical fiction. 5 stars


Currently Reading

The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai HuchuThe Taste of Tomorrow by Josh SchonwaldThe Bee-Loud Glade by Steve Himmer

Reviews

Every Last One by Anna Quindlen. Mary Beth is the mother of two sons and a daughter and together with her husband she leads a good life, until something devastating happens. 4.5 stars

Every Last One by Anna Quindlen

Other news…

Check out my new books… New Arrivals!

And here is what I read in March: March Overview.

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

35 Responses to It’s Monday – What Are You Reading?

  1. Uniflame says:

    I am currently in between books, but I will probably read the Hester Day book next🙂

  2. Kylie says:

    I read Every Last One last year and really enjoyed it. You can check out my Monday here

    http://kyliesreads.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_09.html

  3. Wendy says:

    I like the sound of Heaven and Hell, I’m right into people surviving harsh landscapes. That book with the eye on it could go in the Ugly Book Cover comp, lol! I must read one of Trigiani’s books; sounds like she has a great personality! xx

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wendy, indeed, it’s not the most pretty book I’ve seen either. So far, it’s a fun read, though.

      Yes, try out Trigiani – I think her books are great.

  4. Karen says:

    I like your blogs new look. Very fresh looking. I’ve been meaning to try Adriana Trigiani. Everyone seems to love her books.

  5. readerbuzz says:

    Some interesting fiction titles. I’m working on a good one, Wife 22.

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    Hope you will stop by!

  6. I loved Every Last One….and I’m drooling over The Shoemaker’s Wife, having read Brava, Valentine. Hope you enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve got a copy of Brava Valentine, Laurel-Rain. I.e., got it from the library for my mother, who has now finished it. I’m tempted to read it before I bring it back to the library. But isn’t this the second Valentine book? Does it matter?

  7. Mari Partyka says:

    The covers to all the books you have planned this week are interesting… all new titles to me. I’m curious to read if you liked them.

    I have been on a reading ‘cleanse’ (HA)… I read a light chick lit novel this weekend and just noticed that I asked to read two via NetGalley. I guess I was in the mood for this genre (I hope I don’t get bored after reading two more so quickly).🙂

    Enjoy your week (happy birthday)!

  8. The Shoemakers Wife sounds really good- I need to read that at some point! Thanks for sharing!

    My Post: http://www.pocketfulofbooks.com/2012/04/its-mondaywhat-am-i-reading.html

  9. Lindsey says:

    All of the books you read last week sound great. Hooray for a wonderful reading week! I am currently reading Patti LuPone’s memoirs. I’m trying to throw in a non-fiction/bio into my reading each month.
    Have a wonderful week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lindsay, I’ve been reading more non-fiction that last year or so and very much enjoying it. I probably should have heard of Patti LuPone, or is she only know locally/nationally? Have a great week!

      • Lindsey says:

        She’s an actress, best known for her Broadway roles. Being on Broadway would have been my dream job if I didn’t have two left feet…lol. I am enjoying living vicariously.🙂

      • Leeswammes says:

        Thanks for explaining, Lindsey. Maybe there will be a role for people with two left feet one day…

  10. Just finished The Shoemaker’s Wife and quite enjoyed it. Hope you enjoy the rest of your books this week!

  11. lindyloumacinitaly says:

    Once again I am impressed by just how much reading you get done! Every Last One is a title I have come across a few times recently and is one I have added to my wishlist. The Shoemaker’s Wife sounds interesting I have read s few of hers because of the Italy connection, but not one i will rush to read.

    • Leeswammes says:

      LindyLou, The Showmaker’s Wife actually starts off in Italy and I loved that part the best. I think you should try it!🙂

      • lindyloumacinitaly says:

        Ok you have convinced me to add it to the wishlist, I did enjoy the others I have read by her!

  12. Kristin T. says:

    I have The Shoemaker’s Wife on reserve at the library and am hoping it comes in soon! The Reconstructionist sounds really intriguing…might have to check that one out.

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  13. Teddyree says:

    I’ve seen some good reviews for The Shoemaker’s Wife, I havent read anything by Adriana Trigiani. Every Last One is the one that caught my eye.
    Have a great week and happy reading🙂

    PS thanks for visiting my blog and MRI’s are the same here; your whole body goes in the little tunnel, they asked if I was claustraphobic … I guess I’ll find out.

  14. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    The Hairdresser of Harare sounds interesting Judith, I hope you enjoy it!

    Wishing you a great reading week,

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  15. Mystica says:

    The Shoemakers Wife is on my TBR. The Taste of Tomorrow sounds good as well. Have a good week.

  16. bibliosue says:

    I have pre-ordered The Taste of Tomorrow and I can’t wait to see your review of it.

  17. I’ve heard of The Shoe Makers Wife and it looks really good.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

