It’s Monday – What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

A nice week! My book group went for dinner followed by the movie The Help on Tuesday. We had discussed the book a few years ago and it was great to finally see the movie.

On Wednesday I took my “tooth ache” to the dentist, and it turned out to be a return of my jaw dislocation, that I had 2 years ago, in a milder form, luckily. I will have to wear a tooth protector-kind-of-thingie in bed (I still had it somewhere, from before) and not eat food that’s too crunchy or chewy. Hopefully it will settle back to normal before it turns into a more serious dislocation. No fun, I tell you!

And on Thursday it was my birthday and a friend and I went to Amsterdam to spend some time in book shops. She’s probably the only person who can spend at least as much time in a book shop as I before getting bored. Maybe she’s worse than me, even! I bought several books, she bought more.

*****

I read 4 books in the last week

Click on the blue links to go to the blog post.

The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai Huchu. Vimbai, the best hairdresser in Mrs Khumalo’s salon, isn’t happy when a new male hairdresser is employed: he’s even better than her. Soon, though, they become friends. But there’s something about Dumisani that Vimbai isn’t sure about. 4.5 stars

The Taste of Tomorrow by Josh Schonwald. Non-fiction. What will we be eating in 2035? Will we have real meat, or meat from a lab? What salad will we prefer? And how about GM foods? 4 stars

The Bee-Loud Glade by Steve Himmer. A man who is fired for doing no useful work, is employed as a decorative hermit in the garden of a billionaire. 4 stars

The fourth book is one of two books by a beginning author who asked me to read his work and judge whether they are at all publishable (if I say yes, he’ll put more work in). So I’m now earning a tiny, tiny, amount of money for reading books!🙂

The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai HuchuThe Taste of Tomorrow by Josh SchonwaldThe Bee-Loud Glade by Steve Himmer

Currently Reading

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

Reviews

Heaven and Hell by Jón Kalman Stefánsson [review in Dutch]. A beautiful story about a twenty-year old boy who loses his best friend when they are out at sea finishing in the dark, freezing, sea near Iceland. Historical fiction. 5 stars

Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel.  A fun story about a boy who gets a chimpanzee to live with them, for research purposes. 4.5 stars

The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes. An older man is confronted with his past, and after investigation, discovers that there is a lot he didn’t know at the time. 4.5 stars

11/22/63 by Stephen King. A man goes back in time to try and prevent the Kennedy assassination. 4.5 stars

Heaven and Hell by Jón Kalman StéfanssonHalf Brother by Kenneth OppelThe Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes11/22/63 by Stephen King

Other news…

Check out my new books… New Arrivals!

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

34 Responses to It’s Monday – What Are You Reading?

  1. Tien says:

    Wow, it looks like you’ve had a good reading week – 4+ stars all the way! Good one🙂

  2. Novroz says:

    ah…I havent done this meme in a while.

    it seems that many have read snow child

  3. I’ve got both The Sense of an Ending and 11/22/63 home from the library, waiting for my attention. The book by Barnes will be a bookclub read, the other one just for fun since I’m curious about it after all the good reports on it.
    How nice that an author turned to you to determine the publisability of his books. I’m sure it’s great to make a little bit of money with your reader, but it must be even more rewarding that your opinion is valued that much.

  4. parrish lantern says:

    Taking a break from the iffp & reading Traveller of the Century by Andrés Neuman

  5. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Happy (late) Birthday Judith!! Spending time at a bookshop had to be about as good as spending time at the beach!

  6. pamela says:

    All the books in your post look amazing!! I just finished The Snow Child a week or so ago and it was just such a beautiful book, I really loved it. I hope you do to. Happy Reading🙂

  7. readerbuzz says:

    You have read some intriguing books. Taste of Tomorrow. Bee-Loud Glade. Off to add these to my wishlist. Thank you.

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    Please stop by and say hello!

  8. Mystica says:

    Sense of an Ending is the one I would like to read.

  9. Mari Partyka says:

    Well…. Happy Birthday! Sorry for the late wish, I’m just sitting in front of my computer for the first time in about a week.

    I might try to get a visit to the bookstore in later today. My father has been visiting us for a week now and he loves the bookstore. It’s a good place for an almost 80 year old (sit, coffee, books).🙂

    Have a great day!

  10. Vasilly says:

    Happy belated birthday! I’m so sorry to hear about your jaw. You’re right, at least it’s a milder form of what you previously had. I hope it goes away fast. I’ve read so many positive things about The Snow Child. Are you enjoying it?

    Have a great week.

  11. The Snow Child is on my wish list….and soon I hope to start reading 11/22/63. The heft of the book makes me think it won’t be a “reading in bed” book.

    Enjoy your week! And what fun exploring book shops in Amsterdam!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  12. Kristin T. says:

    Happy belated Birthday!!! I’ve heard good things about The Snow Child – will have to see if my library has a copy of it.

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  13. loricaswell says:

    Belated Happy Birthday. I dislocated my jaw back in the dark ages – high school playing in a girl’s football game and it still bothers me sometimes.

    Love The Snow Child, hope you do too!!

    Have a great week, hope that jaw feels better!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Loricas, sorry to hear the jaw still bothers you now and then. I guess it’s something that never goes back completely.

      I’m loving The Snow Child!

  14. Jackie says:

    Thanks for dropping by and visiting.
    No, I don’t find it hard to find a book, I am in the process of clearing out my bookcases so am forcing myself to read what is there.
    BUT it is tempting to buy books for my e-reader and read what I really would like to read.

  15. YAY for 11-22-63! I adored that one!

  16. Leslie says:

    The Taste of Tomorrow is coming up in my review stack. It seems like my kind of book. Did you like it?

    I finally saw the movie The Help last weekend and loved it. My husband liked it too and he usually doesn’t like movies unless there are car chases or things are blowing up.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, yes, *The Taste of Tomorrow* was a good read. It wasn’t *all* interesting, but somehow it was made interesting so I kept reading and wanting to know more.

      Glad you enjoyed *The Help*. Must be a good movie if even your husband enjoyed it, without a car chase in sight!

  17. Happy birthday for last week! I tend to not spend long in bookshops because the to buy pile gets too big🙂

  18. Trish says:

    That’s exciting to be reading a bit to help others out! Will you also be doing any editing?

    I’ve heard SO much about Snow Child. Hope you’re enjoying!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Trish, certainly fun to be reading these books for a new author. I would love to do the editing but finances may not reach. Probably better to find a publisher, anyway.

      *The Snow Child* is a wonderful book, although I had expected maybe a little more of it. Not sure.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

