Weekly Reading Roundup

Today, I’m not participating in It’s Monday! as I generally do, because it’s a meme and I don’t have the time to visit many other participating blogs today. But I love the meme and it’s a good way to keep track of what I’ve been reading.

Books I finished this week: 4

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey172 Hours on the Moon by Johan HarstadI've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. I love books about Alaska and this one had a magical realism element – wonderful. 4.5 stars

172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad. Three teenagers join a team of astronauts on a trip to the moon. But NASA has kept quiet about something dangerous that still may be present on the moon. 4.5 stars

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. A chick-lit about a woman who finds a phone in a bin and starts using it, as she’s just lost her own phone. The man who it belongs to allows her to use it for a while, and they get more and more involved. 3.5 stars

The fourth book is the second of two books by a beginning author who asked me to read his work and judge whether they are at all publishable (if I say yes, he’ll put more work in). So I’m now earning a tiny, tiny, amount of money for reading books! :-)

 

Books I’m reading (3) and after that… (2)

 

Dirt by David VannThe Four Fingers of Death by Rick MoodyDe reddingsboot by Charlotte RoganSister by Rosamund LuptonA Death in the Family by Karl Ove Knausgaard

Reviews and other news

The Bee-Loud Glade by Steve Himmer. A man accepts a job as an ornamental hermit in the garden of a rich man, so he can do what he’s good at: doing nothing. 4 stars

The Taste of Tomorrow by Josh Schonwald. Non-fiction about what we may be eating in 2035: new advances in salad growing, new fish types and ways to raise them, etc. 4 stars

The Bee-Loud Glade by Steve HimmerThe Taste of Tomorrow by Josh Schonwald

I took part in the 24 Hour Readathon – see how I did here: first 12 hours and the last 12 hours.

And I’ve got some new books!


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Tesney Ap says:

    Wow 4 books in one week🙂 I really love how The Snow Child sound🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Tes, *The Snow Child* is a very special book. Lots of people have enjoyed it already. It’s very… cold though! Most of the time there’s snow or frost in the story.🙂

  2. 4 books! Well done! I managed 4, but only because I’ve been home sick. I’ll be interested to read your thoughts on Sister.

  3. You enjoyed Kinsella’s new novel more than I did! The second half was much better though, once the Mother starts sharing.🙂

    WOW, great news on reading prepublished stuff and getting paid for it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I was disappointed with I’ve Got Your Number but did enjoy the read anyway. But it’s such a typical example of bad chick-lit. Urgghh! I didn’t realise you liked it even less.

  4. I cant wait to read Snow Child and Sister looks fantastic!

    Have a super day Judith!

  5. Trish says:

    So glad to hear you loved Snow Child so much! I just read a really lukewarm review of it so I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts!

  6. Leslie says:

    You’ve been busy. Oh right, read-a-thon! I still have to read Snow Child one of these days.

  7. Bellezza says:

    I thought Snow Child was wonderful, too. It will long stay with me, even if I think the setting of Alaska is a bit strange for what was once a Russian short story. Yet I guess Ivey changed it enough to become her own.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Belezza, I love books set in Alaska so I had no problem with the setting. I think snow and cold is enough to make this story work, it doesn’t quite matter where it takes place.

  8. Katrien says:

    I’m not sure if it was the same book, but I think my brother has read 172 hours on the moon novel. He is 13 years old and found it quite scary, which is very unusual for him. What did you think about this book? It sounds intriguing, but scary as well.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Katrien, it was a bit scary, yes, but I didn’t find it terribly scary and my son (14) neither. But then, we both have read a lot of science fiction books so maybe we’re more used to unusual situations.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

