New Arrivals!

Another few books came through the letterbox! Or I got them from the library – you know how it goes. Anyway, some great books that I hope to be reading soon.

Books for review

Waterline by Ross Raisin

Waterline by Ross Raisin

I received this book for review from Harper Perennial. I have heard of this author, but not read anything by him. It sounds like an interesting book. I do hope it all ends well!

From the publishers’ website: “Meet Mick Little. He used to be a shipbuilder in the Glasgow yards. He used to be married to his beloved Cathy. But the yards closed one after another down the river, and the search for work took him and Cathy to Australia and back again, struggling for a living, longing for home. Thirty years later the yards are nearly vacant and Cathy is dead—his work possibly to blame for her fatal illness. The ties that bound Mick to the past are loosened and now he has to find a new way to live: get a new job, get out of the house where they raised their boys, start again, far from his old life, and forget everything.

In his devastating new novel Ross Raisin brings vividly to life the story of an ordinary man caught between the loss of a great love and the outer reaches of modern existence. Tracing Mick’s journey from the Glasgow shipyards to the crowded, sweating kitchens of an airport hotel to the streets and riversides of London,Waterline is an intensely moving portrait of the alienation of lives lived quietly all around us, and of one man’s existence dissolved—and reclaimed—through the grief of a long journey home.”

***

Between a Rock and a Hot Place by Tracey Jackson

Between a Rock and a Hot Place by Tracey Jackson

I received this book for review from Harper. This is about turning 50. Now, it’s not that many years until I will be doing just that and I hope the book is a bit uplifting about reaching that particular age. Some years ago, in anticipation of turning 40, I worked hard to make sure I was on top of it all: I was slim, I went to the gym twice a week, I could walk into a shop and be quite sure I’d walk out again with some nice piece of clothing in my size. Indeed, at 40, I was looking 30+ (and proud of it). I’m very happy with my life as it is now, but just to have the same shape and fitness again  as I had at 40… I can dream.

From the publishers’ website: “As she approached her fiftieth birthday, Tracey Jackson found herself bombarded—at the gym, at parties, in conversations with friends—by a catchphrase on everyone’s lips. “Fifty is the new thirty” and the endless magazine articles, photos, and T-shirts proclaiming the new aphorism had apparently bloomed out of a collective sense of denial, masking the true fears of a generation unwilling to relinquish their youth.

With a comedy writer’s training and a screenwriter’s eye for detail, Jackson skewers the myth in a hilarious, bare-knuckled, and ultimately practical appraisal of what middle age really means today. Turning fifty is a wake-up call—but one that can be greeted with a plan. Between a Rock and a Hot Place navigates, with unsparing honesty and unerring wit, the confusion and uncertainty of the most significant uncharted transition in our lives.”

***

The Rise and Fall of the Wonder Girls by Sarah May
The Burwood Babies by Sarah May

I got this book from the online book group Boekgrrls. We are a Dutch mailing list group and we discuss anything bookish. We also read a monthly book. Recently, we’ve started to get books from publishers, which are distributed amongst the grrls that are interested in the book and promise to write a review about it. This was a book I wanted to read. I had already read the first few chapters, in a feature on my Dutch blog, where I review a book on the basis of the first chapters (often available online), after which I decide whether I want to read more of the book or not. And I did, so here is the book!

From the UK publisher’s website: “October. Burwood. The corridors of Burwood Girls School are once more full of oestrogen; Platform number one at Burwood Station is packed with commuters waiting for delayed trains to London; the gym at Oasis Leisure centre is full of fading tans while leaves fall and pile up on lawns ripe for raking. Just like any other October. Until life gets turned inside out in this affluent South-eastern town when not one but four teenage girls fall pregnant.

As the media descends on Burwood with unprecedented ferocity, headlines such as: WHO ARE THE BABIES’ FATHERS? DO ALL FOUR BABIES SHARE THE SAME FATHER? GIRLS REVEAL PREGNANCIES WEREN’T ACCIDENTAL… ARE THE BURWOOD GIRLS PART OF A TEENAGE PREGNANCY CULT?

[…] Before things get better, they’re going to get much, much worse. But then, at the end of the day, the last thing anyone in Burwood wants is life to return to normal.”

***

Books I won

Komkommers by kaarslicht [Cucumbers by Candle Light] by Mercedes Abad

Komkommers bij kaarslicht [Cucumbers by Candle Light] by Mercedes Abad

This Spanish writer is in the Netherlands at the moment, for the Utrecht Literature Festival. Via Twitter I won this book and a ticket to Mercedes Abad’s lecture tonight.

The book is a collection of short, erotic, stories. I read two of the stories already, and they are very funny!

***

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg

I won this from Windmill Books on Twitter – again. I’ve been winning books from them via Twitter a few times now. I’m happy, because so far, their books have been brilliant! By the way, Twitter is a great way to win books, or to find links to giveaways by publishers. Besides this book and the book above, I’ve won quite a few (more than 10) books by retweeting alone. It helps that in the Netherlands one’s chance of winning is larger because of the smaller reader group in Dutch. But Windmill Books is from the UK and I’ve won several books from UK publishers through Twitter, too.

Anyway, as a Psychology graduate – in a area of Psychology that most people would not associate with Psychology, but even so, I enjoy learning about people’s behaviours – I was interested in this book. There is a great (and fun) video about it HERE.

From the publisher’s website: “In The Power of Habit, award-winning New York Times business reporter Charles Duhigg takes us to the thrilling edge of scientific discoveries that explain why habits exist and how they can be changed. With penetrating intelligence and an ability to distill vast amounts of information into engrossing narratives, Duhigg brings to life a whole new understanding of human nature and its potential for transformation.

Along the way we learn why some people and companies struggle to change, despite years of trying, while others seem to remake themselves overnight. We visit laboratories where neuroscientists explore how habits work and where, exactly, they reside in our brains. We […] see how implementing so-called keystone habits can earn billions and mean the difference between failure and success, life and death. […]

Habits aren’t destiny. As Charles Duhigg shows, by harnessing this new science, we can transform our businesses, our communities, and our lives.”

***

Books from the library

Sister by Rosamund Lupton
Sister by Rosamund Lupton
This book had been on my wishlist for a while and I got it from the library thinking I might read it during the readathon. But that didn’t happen and I was planning to return it unread. But then people commented how great the book was, and I looked at my pile of reviews books and thought: “you can wait a few more days!”. I’m usually very good with reviewing books around their publication date, so I’m slacking! And enjoying it.
 .
From the publisher’s website: “Nothing can break the bond between sisters … When Beatrice gets a frantic call in the middle of Sunday lunch to say that her younger sister, Tess, is missing, she boards the first flight home to London. But as she learns about the circumstances surrounding her sister’s disappearance, she is stunned to discover how little she actually knows of her sister’s life – and unprepared for the terrifying truths she must now face.The police, Beatrice’s fiance and even their mother accept they have lost Tess but Beatrice refuses to give up on her. So she embarks on a dangerous journey to discover the truth, no matter the cost.”
***

Have you read any of these books? 

Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Boekhapper says:

    Het boek van Ross Raisin heb ik toevallig ook net aangeschaft omdat het zo’n fantastisch mooi boek schijnt te zijn. En Rosamund Lupton staat in het Nederlands op me te wachten.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, wat goed, Joke. Dan heb ik hopelijk een goede keus gemaakt met dit boek (Waterline). Ik ben al bezig in Sister/Zusje en tot zover vind ik het wel aardig, ik lees het met plezier.

  2. bibliosue says:

    I’m closer to 50 than I care to admit, so Between a Rock and a Hot Place is probably one I should pick up in the not too distant future.

    All of these books sound really interesting, actually. I look forward to seeing your reviews on them.

  3. I took a book out the library for the readathon and then completely forgot about it. I’m so bad about keeping hold of library books, it’s just so easy to renew (provided no one is waiting for it we can keep them 30 weeks before anyone complains!).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wow, Ellie, 30 weeks is a long time to keep a library book. We can lend books for 3 weeks, then renew twice, I think, so that’s 9 weeks in total. That should be long enough, but it isn’t!

  4. Leslie says:

    Hmmmm, a book about turning 50. Heh, mentally I would say 50 is the the new 40, but physically 50 is a challenge to keep all the parts in shape. I’d like to read this one. Somehow I missed it.

    Library books jump the line for me too. I dropped everything to read The Bluebird Effect when the library called me last week to tell me it was my turn for the book.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I think the book is about how 50 is not the new 30 (or 40), as lots of people are saying. I guess it’s about acceptance. I’m not that far yet, so I think the book is ideal for me.

      I actually shouldn’t have taken any library books out as I had enough to read already (surprisingly!). Sometimes I’m strict with myself and bring it back unread, but in this case I just couldn’t.

  5. winstonsdad says:

    the Ross Rasin caught my eye ,I had a friend growing up how’s father owned a large ship yard on the tyne so the factg this was set in a shipyard appealed as I been to one a couple of times ,all the best stu

    • Leeswammes says:

      Stu, that sounds really interesting, visiting a large ship yard! I only know them from tv (a bit). I think the book could potentially be really good. We’ll see.

  6. Carol says:

    Looks like some good ones. Enjoy!

  7. Wonder Girls looks really good and Sisters has a wonderful cover!

  8. Mystica says:

    I’ve only read Sister and it was excellent.

  9. Ruth says:

    The book “Sister” was really good – really exciting – I recommend it!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

