Weekly Reading Roundup

Today it’s Queen’s Day in the Netherlands – the celebration of the Queen’s birthday. She goes to visit two towns with her family, while the rest of us have a day off and have street parties, there are flee markets (run by children), there is music everywhere and special games.

In my town there will be a Cycle It In competition, based on a very popular tv programme, On Land, At Sea and in the Air where contestants built their own (muscle powered) vehicles and have to try and ride over a narrow bridge (1 foot wide) over the water to a bell (which stops the time). The fastest contestant wins. Many people don’t get to the bell and fall off into the water. Prizes for fanciest vehicle, too!

We might go a watch or take our own bikes and go for a cycle ride.

Books I finished this week: 4

The Life Boat by Charlotte Rogan. It’s 1914 and a cruise ship has sunk. Grace is one of 40 people in a life boat. There are too many people aboard and something needs to be done to decrease their numbers. 4.5 star

Dirt by David Vann. A very dark story about faulty family relationships and a young man going crazy. 4 stars

Sister by Rosamund Lupton. Beatrice’s sister has committed suicide. Only Beatrice doesn’t believe it and investigates. 4 stars

More Like Her by Liza Palmer. Frances is a speech therapist at a secondary school and looks up to the new headmistress who has it all. But when things go wrong, she realises that perfect families aren’t always that perfect. She’s having boyfriend troubles, too. 4 stars

De reddingsboot by Charlotte RoganDirt by David VannSister by Rosamund LuptonMore Like Her by Liza Palmer


Books I’m reading

The Four Fingers of Death by Rick MoodyA Death in the Family by Karl Ove Knausgaard

Reviews and other news

Just in Case by Meg Rosoff. About a boy, David Case, who is afraid fate will catch up with him and he changes his name to Justin and reinvents himself completely. But can he escape fate? 3.5 stars

 A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. A children’s book about a boy whose mother is very ill. Every night a monster comes to visit him and talks to him about good and evil. 4 stars

The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson (DNF). A man is obsessed by his friends’ Jewishness and wonders if he might be Jewish himself. Too obsessive.

Just In Case by Meg RosoffA Monster Calls by Patrick NessThe Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

I was featured on Kimbofo’s Reading Matters blog!

And I’ve got some new books!


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

Just in Case by Meg Rosoff

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Mystica says:

    The Lifeboat and More Like her are the two I am interested in. I liked Sister very much myself.

  2. OOH I still think Sister looks awesome! And your Queens Day sounds kind of fun – enjoy!

  3. Queen’s Day sounds lovely! For me it’s Cinco de Mayo in Latin America so I’m almost on vacation, until Weds. I manage their business as my primary focus so it will be very quiet. *BLISS*

    Enjoy your day!

  4. Karen says:

    I wondered what Queen’s day was. A friend of mine is living in the Netherlands and she posted a photo of her baby boy dressed for Queen’s day. Thanks for clearing that up🙂

    Glad you like Sister. I read it last year and enjoyed it too. It was one of those few books that my entire book group liked.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Karen, I bet the baby was dressed in orange? Lots of people (especially children) on this day dress up in the color of the royal family – orange.

      It’s great when you have a book that the whole book club enjoys. It usually leads to great discussions.

  5. bibliosue says:

    It sounds like a fun holiday — enjoy!

  6. You keep up your fast reading pace… I wish I could say the same.

  7. Leslie says:

    Queen’s Day sounds like a nice break. We don’t get those type of holidays here in the US. Now that I think about it, we don’t get many National Holidays at all. Hope it was a fun day.🙂

    I requested the audio version of The Lifeboat from my library. I could have gotten a print advance copy but I figured it would take me six months to get to it and I didn’t want to wait that long to read it!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

