April Overview

In March, I read 15 books. Some in Englis, some in Dutch. Some for review, my book group, or just for fun. I read a few very slow books. Until the 7th of the month I don’t think I finished anything while normally I have a few books on the ‘finished’ list by then. Then at the end of the month I read some slow books – I am still reading them, actually. So, not a fast month, but not a bad one, either.

Books that stood out:

My ‘best’ book this month was one that I read in Dutch, and I didn’t write an English review of it. It’s Hemel en Hel [Heaven and Hell] by Jón Kalman Stefánsson. This is a literary read about a boy in Iceland in the late 1800s.

Otherwise, nothing really stood out as absolutely brilliant. No other 5 stars, but 3 x 4.5 star books. And a lot of 4 stars. Not a bad month at all.

This is what I read

Click on the blue links to go to the review

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. 4.5 stars

The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai Huchu. 4.5 stars

172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad. 4.5 stars

The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriani Trigiani. 4 stars

The Reconstructionist by Nick Arvin. 4 stars

The Taste of Tomorrow by Josh Schonwald. 4 stars

The Bee-Loud Glade by Steve Himmer. 4 stars

Dirt by David Vann. 4 stars

Sister by Rosamund Lupton. 4 stars

More Like Her by Liza Palmer. 4 stars

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. 3.5 stars

and 2 books by a beginning author.

***

Dutch books:

Hemel en Hel [Heaven and Hell] by Jón Kalman Stefánsson. 5 stars

De reddingsboot [The Lifeboat] by Charlotte Rogan. 4.5 stars

 

This is what I reviewed too

Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel.  4.5 stars

The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes. 4.5 stars

11/22/63 by Stephen King. 4.5 stars

Every Last One by Anna Quindlen. 4.5 stars

Battle Royale by Koushun Tamaki. 4.5 stars

Elegy for Eddie by Jacqueline Winspear. 4 stars

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.  4 stars

Just in Case by Meg Rosoff.  3.5 stars

The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson (DNF)

What was YOUR favorite book in March?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to April Overview

  1. Another great month! 15 books… wow. Looks like you read several that were fantastic (4.5 stars).

    Have a great month reading in May!

  2. I definitely wouldn’t call this a bad month, Judith! It seems you read some great books.

    • Leeswammes says:

      True, Nadine. It just went a lot slower than I’d hoped and I’ve got 4 books (2 started) flowing over into May that is already rather “full” with other books. But I shouldn’t complain. I love reading and I get a lot of time to do just that!

  3. bibliosue says:

    Wow — you were productive! And it looks like you were fortunate that the books you read were quality ones (that is, worth your time to read them).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I’m getting more and more picky in the books that I read. I just have so many on the TBR and so many review books that I just don’t want to be stuck with a “bad” book. Of course, it still happens every now and then, but that’s ok.

  4. Rikki says:

    You were very successful this month again. And a lot of 4 and 4.5 stars books at that. Well done!

  5. Leslie says:

    A very productive month again. Actually reading 15 books, with my eyes, would be a great month for me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, it wasn’t bad – but I can read a book in 2 days with a bit of luck. Well, I guess that’s what I must have done, on average!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

