It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The in-laws from England visited for a long weekend, which was nice. The boys hadn’t seen their grandparents for too long! Less nice was my visit to the dentist for a root canal treatment, but I was brave and all is well now.

Books I finished this week: 4

The Four Fingers of Death by Rick Moody. It’s 2025 and a trip to Mars ends in one arm coming back to Earth. A moving arm full of deadly bacteria. A crazy fun read. 4 stars

Vader [A Death in the Family] by Karl Ove Knausgard (DNF). Memoir by this Norwegian writer. I loved the first part of the book, about his teenage years, but his adult years I didn’t find interesting and I abandoned the book at 225 pages.

Arranged by Catherine McKenzie. Anne has been having trouble with boyfriends and decides to call a dating agency. Except they turn out to be an arranged marriage service. So she gets herself hooked in a non-traditional way. 4.5 stars

The Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen. Several women are found dead while their surroundings have been marked with satanic symbols. The Mephisto Club researches evil, but maybe this time they are the target. 4 stars

The Four Fingers of Death by Rick MoodyA Death in the Family by Karl Ove KnausgaardArranged by Catherine McKenzieThe Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen

.

Books I’m reading now

Between a Rock and a Hot Place by Tracey JacksonDinner at Mine by Chris Smyth

.

Reviews and other news

Click on the blue links to go to the review

More Like Her by Liza Palmer. Frances is a speech therapist at a secondary school and looks up to the new headmistress who has it all. But when things go wrong, she realises that perfect families aren’t always that perfect. She’s having boyfriend troubles, too. 4 stars

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French. I read this for my book group, last Friday we had our meeting. The book was fun, boring and cliché, all of that. It made for a good discussion, though. 3.5 stars

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.  Access to a lot of money is hidden within a large computer system. An 18-year old boy who spends most of his time online tries to find clues to where the money is. 5 stars

172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad. Three teenagers join a team of astronauts on a trip to the moon. But NASA has kept quiet about something dangerous that still may be present on the moon. 4.5 stars

More Like Her by Liza PalmerA Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn FrenchReady Player One by Ernest Cline172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad

.

And here’s my April overview!

For Dutch readers: Three books that I didn’t finish HERE.


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

Just in Case by Meg Rosoff

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

35 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Lori Thomas says:

    The Cabin In The Woods by: Tim Lebbon

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lori, I’ve got a copy of *Echo City* by Tim Lebbon but haven’t read it yet. It looks good, though. I hope *The Cabin in the Woods* is great, too. Happy reading!

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Arranged has been getting great reviews. Dinner at mine sounds like it might be fun.

    Enjoy your reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, *Dinner at Mine* is indeed good fun. I started last night at bed time and had to stop myself after a while, I just wanted to continue reading!

  3. readerbuzz says:

    It’s time for me to start gathering some nice summer reads! I seem to be stuck reading just nonfiction these days.

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    Please stop by!

  4. WickedWillow says:

    Great list! On my way to read your review of More Like Her.🙂

  5. Mystica says:

    I’d like to get my hands on the Mackenzie lot of three books.

  6. I am looking forward to Arranged! Have a super week Judith🙂

  7. Mardel says:

    Four Fingers of Death sounds interesting – and I like the blurb about Arranged. Might be something I’d enjoy, accidently getting hooked.🙂

  8. I enjoyed Arranged….hope you do, too. Thanks for sharing, and here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  9. bibliosue says:

    Productive as always, Judith, even with your busy schedule! Have a great week.

  10. Karen says:

    The Four Fingers of Death sounds like my kind of book. Have saw a few people reading it. Will have to look out for it. Also need to read more Tess Gerritson.

  11. Wendy says:

    I like the sound of 172 Hours on the Moon, although at first I thought it was going to be Transformers: Dark of the Moon again, lol! Now that I’ve read your review, it sounds a bit more like Contact, or the Abyss and I loved both of those. Or, by scary, do you mean something like Predator and Alien? :p

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wendy, what coincidence: my sons were watching Transformers/Moon the other day and I was reminded of the book. But, it’s very, very different. Contact was great, but it’s not like that either. I mean scary as in suspenseful, I kept wondering when the ‘bad things’ would get hold of the main characters.

  12. snowfeathers says:

    I am reading the first volume of 1Q84 and “A Year in Merde”… Love both books!

  13. loricaswell says:

    They all look good! Happy Reading!!!

  14. Leslie says:

    The Four Fingers of Death? The title doesn’t grab me but the plot summary does.

  15. Rikki says:

    Well done! I am still plodding along (not really, but you know why) with my McCullough book. Still more than 700 pages to go…..I always need to squeeze in some cozy mystery so I have something in the bathtub and for the handbag. It is awful,🙂.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, Rikki, it will take forever that way! But yes, you can’t take a book like that into the bath tub! Good luck, I hope you do finish it soonish!

  16. *falls off chair* I actually read more than you this week! Sounds like you’ve been busy though, I’ve just been sat around reading and eating…it’s s shame to have to go back to work tomorrow!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, Ellie. Well, you had the whole week off. I had too, as I have every day off, but not really, of course. I don’t read a lot during the day. Glad you had such a super time!

  17. You know.. I haven’t heard of a single one of these books! I definitely need to check them out, then. I hope you have a great reading week!

    Allison
    http://wellreadreviews.com/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-books-9

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

