Weekly Reading Roundup

The beginning of another week. This one’s short for us, as Thursday is a holiday and most people, including my husband and sons, also have the Friday off. A nice long weekend. Maybe we’ll take a trip to England or just have a nice weekend cycling around the local area and having a BBQ or two. Depends on the weather and our moods!

Tonight I’ll be going to the movies with my book group friends – we’ll be seeing Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. Hope it’s good. In other news, my husband was second in a chess competition, making him the second best chess player in our town.ūüôā

Books I finished this week: 5

Between a Rock and a Hot Place by Tracey JacksonDinner at Mine by Chris SmythThe Univited Guests by Sadie JonesThe Rise and Fall of the Wonder Girls by Sarah May

Between a Rock and a Hot Place by Tracey Jackson. Fifty is not the new thirty and Tracey Jackson tells you why. 5 stars

Dinner at Mine by Chris Smyth. Come Dine with Me? Not a great idea, as four couples find out. 4.5 stars

The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones. Early 1900s and the impoverished occupants of a country manor aren’t happy to find a group of stranded rail travellers on their doorstep. 5 stars

The Rise and Fall of the Wonder Girls by Sarah May. Four teenage friends in a small town all become pregnant in the same summer. 4 stars

Ze komt nooit meer terug [She Will Never Come Back] by Hans Koppel. A woman, wife and mother, disappears. She is imprisoned in the basement of her neighbours’ house. The reader knows but the husband has no idea what happened to his wife. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading

The Snow Whale by John MinichilloThe First Warm Evening of the Year by Jamie Saul

Reviews and other news

The Four Fingers of Death by Rick MoodyThe Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman

The Four Fingers of Death by Rick Moody. A weird but fun story about a trip to Mars and the return to Earth of a single arm. 4 stars

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman. The lives of a group of people connected to a newspaper. 3.5 stars

And I’ve got some new books!


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. The Uninvited Guests looks good just from its cover, and a five-star rating isn’t anything to sneeze at! I’m looking forward to checking it out. I’ve also heard good things about The Imperfectionists.

  2. Some good reads, again, Judith… You sure know how to pick your books.
    And congratiulations for your husbands achievement. I’ve never learnt how to play chess, but I still would like to learn.. I think it is an intruiging game.

  3. Movie night, nice. My friend invites me to movie night with her book club (one I can’t join since I’m American… it’s through the international friendship group for ex-pats.. not that they won’t let me join them).ūüôā We are going to see the Marigold movie this week (can’t wait).

    Have a wonderful day!

    • Leeswammes says:

      The movie was really good, Mari. The Marigold movie sounds like fun as well, I don’t think it’s arrived here yet, but it’s one I’d love to see. Hope you’ll enjoy it!

  4. The Wonder Girls sounds interesting! Hope you enjoy the movie tonight – how fun!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Sheila. Yes, it was a great movie. I haven’t read the book, which I thought was strange given the number of books I do read.

  5. Leslie says:

    Looking forward to the review of The Uninvited Guests. I think I’d like that one.

    A nice, relaxing weekend sounds like a great idea. We are having wonderful weather this week and my garden is benefiting from my extra attention.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, The Uninvited Guests was great fun, and I do think you’ll like it too.

      The weather does invite to do gardening. My son and I removed a Leylandii-type tree yesterday that was taking up too much space. Only the roots are going to be a big problem – my son suggested hiring a digger but we don’t have access to the back garden except via the garage (or the house!).

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I love the cover of the Snow Whale. Dinner At Mine sounds like fun.

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

