Weekly Reading Roundup

A full week is coming up, but rumours are that next Monday is a holiday, so that means a long weekend.ūüôā

We had a great long weekend the past weekend too. We had bought a new bike for my oldest son, and it arrived on Wednesday. Little did our boys suspect that “trying the bike out” on Thursday would result in a 5 hour long cycle ride! They may not have come along so easily if they’d known.

Another movie night for me tonight. Last week’s Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close was very good, but somehow didn’t leave much of a lasting impression. This week we’re seeing Intouchables, a French movie that lots of people here are raving about.

BIG NEWS: The announcement of the 5th Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. Already talked about in the best circles, this is one not to miss. Participants can sign up now for the hop, which will take place in late June.

.

Books I finished this week: 4

The Snow Whale by John MinichilloThe First Warm Evening of the Year by Jamie SaulThe Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois LeveenPerfecte Stilte [Perfect Silence] by Thomas Verbogt

The Snow Whale by John Minichillo. A really good story about a man who discovers he has Inuit DNA and decides to claim his right to kill a whale by joining his tribe in Alaska. 4.5 stars

The First Warm Evening of the Year by Jamie Saul. A man falls in love with a woman and tries to convince her she’s in the wrong relationship. 3 stars

The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen. A slave girl is bought into freedom and educated at a prestigious girl school in the North of the USA, then later goes back to the South pretending to still be a slave to spy on Jefferson Davis, the president of the Confederates, during the civil war. 4 stars

Perfecte stilte [Perfect Silence] by Thomas Verbogt. A Dutch book about a middle-aged man who has still not come to terms with the suicide of his best friend when they were teenagers. 4.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading

Beneath the Shadows by Sara FosterThe Unseen by Katherine Webb

.

Reviews and other news

The Univited Guests by Sadie JonesArranged by Catherine McKenzieThe School of Essential Ingredients by Erica BauermeisterThe Rise and Fall of the Wonder Girls by Sarah May

The Uninvited Guests¬†by Sadie Jones. Early 1900s and the impoverished occupants of a country manor aren’t happy to find a group of stranded rail travellers on their doorstep. 5 stars

Arranged by Catherine McKenzie. A woman who is unlucky in love decides to try an arranged marriage service to find herself a husband. 4.5 stars

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister¬†(DNF). The lives and loves of a group of students of an evening cooking class. I got bored and didn’t finish this.

The Rise and Fall of the Wonder Girls by Sarah May. Four teenage friends in a small town all become pregnant in the same summer. 4 stars

And I’ve got some new books!

—> If you’re a book blogger, don’t forget to sign up for the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop!


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. theonlycin says:

    Nice to catch up with you, Judith, I am reading ‘Cutting for stone’ by Abraham Verghese. Very interesting.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Good to hear from you, Cindy! I read Cutting for Stone a while ago. I found it rather long, but it was a good read. I liked that it was about a part of the world that I know hardly anything about.

  2. parrish lantern says:

    A great selection of books as per usual, at the moment I’m flitting between Chad Post’s collection of essays 3 percent, Rants etc not the full title can’t recall that, The history & art of Haiku & Joseph Young’s collection of microfiction Easter Rabbit. Hope the family ride has inspired more & a big yay to the bloghop.

  3. I can’t wait to hear your comments for Intouchables. I just saw the promo video at the theatre last week. My friends and I will see it in July, when it arrives in the states. We saw the Marigold Hotel movie last week, have you seen it?

    The bike ride sounds lovely, long but lovely.

    I’m looking forward to a long weekend!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I just found out that Intouchables is sold out both nights it is running here. Luckily, my friend bought tickets last week already!

      I would love to see Marigold Hotel! I will when it comes to a cinema nearby.

      The bike ride was great! The weather was good and we saw lovely fields with cows and grass, old-fashioned farm steads, woods (with paths were no cars are allowed), heather fields. Really, a bit of everything that’s nice about the countryside.

  4. bibliosue says:

    We have a long weekend coming up as well! It will be nice to have an extra day to catch up on my reading….
    I read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close a few months ago — I liked it but I’m not sure that I want to see the movie version. I saw The Avengers this weekend — it was just ok for me, though some of the dialogue was witty.
    Have a great week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I hope you’ll get some time for reading the coming weekend.

      I feel like you but the opposite: having seen the movie, I don’t really need to read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close the book.

  5. Care says:

    Those uninvited guests are showing up everywhere! I will read your review after writing mine. I’ll be back.

  6. I enjoyed Arranged…hope you do, too. I’m curious about The Uninvited Guests. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog. Yes, I’m sure I’ll be reading the Stephen King book for awhile, since I only pick it up once in awhile….

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel-rain, I loved The Uninvited Guests but given what I know about your reading taste, I can’t recommend it 100%. Maybe you’ll love it, but somehow, I’m not sure.

  7. Didn’t you ride through Leuven on your 5 hour bycicle ride, Judith?ūüôā

    • Leeswammes says:

      We probably could have made it to Leuven, Nadine! Really, we had to cycle 30 mins to get to the place from where a nice route started (and 30 mins back) and then followed the route, got lost, had a rest, and decided on a different route than planned to get back to the starting point. It was good fun.

  8. Wendy says:

    The Uninvited Guests sounds like a good read. It’s quite unusual to find a book that makes you laugh. Don’t you think?ūüôā

  9. I wanted to read The Snow Whale but couldn’t get a kindle compatible copy from NetGalley so had to declineūüė¶

  10. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I have had Beneath the Shadows on my shelf for far too long – she is an Aussie author did you know? I really do plan to read it soon. Glad you enjoyed your long weekend!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, I very much enjoyed *Beneath the Shadows* and I think you will, too. Only after I finished the book I realised she was an Aussie author.

  11. winstonsdad says:

    well done on getting four read I read two books last week and am currently read a death in the family ,all the best stu

  12. Athira says:

    I am so looking forward to the long weekend! You’ve had a great reading week! I need to check out Intouchables – it does sound fascinating.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Aths, *Intouchables* was a really good film, but not a feel-good film. In fact, I left feeling a little unsettled. Not sure why. But it was worth watching.

  13. I like the cover of The First Warm Evening of the Year.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

