Book Review: The Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen

The Mephisto Club by Tess GerritsenI’ve read several books by this author and they are all quite different. Even this book, in the Rizzoli and Isles series, is a very different story from the other book in this series I’ve read, The Sinner. I like it that Tess Gerritsen seems to come with a different theme every time.

The Mephisto Club: What it is about

In The Mephisto Club, a woman is brutally murdered, parts of her body arranged for the police to ponder over, and satanic symbols have been drawn on the walls.

When another few people are killed, the police, especially Rizzoli and Isles, zoom in on a man who leads the Mephisto Club, a group of people researching evil. The man is not a suspect, but the members of his club are considered possible future victims.

Alternated with this story is that of a young woman who has been hiding from her cousin for 12 years. She knows that when he finds her, he will kill her.

Rizzoli and Isles look into satanism, old biblical stories and find that evil is coming very close nearby.

The Mephisto Club: What I thought

This was an enjoyable, and slightly scary read.

I didn’t really get a good idea of the difference between Rizzoli and Isles, they were rather interchangeable for me. It didn’t matter all that much as the story progressed whomever of the two was in the focus of the moment.

I am not religious but did like the biblical stories, which are probably heretic to some, about Adam having had a third son and a first wife. At some point I was wondering whether I was reading a Davinci Code type of story, with the Mephisto Club an old foundation that had been meeting for hundreds of years. But in the end, the story was very different (and more enjoyable).

It’s a nice and quick read. It’s a little forgettable, though, hence my short review.

Rating: 4/5 stars

Number of pages: 478

First published: 2006

Genre: thriller

Extra: Also check my review of The Bone Garden, Harvest, and Life Support by Tess Gerritsen

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to Book Review: The Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen

  1. I thought it was quite a strange one in the series – a bit supernatural for me, and then so suddenly prosaic at the end.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Skiourophile, yes, it was different from what I’ve read by Gerritsen before. I don’t know the whole series but this one seemed a bit Dan Brown-ish and I’ve never thought of her books in connection to him before.🙂

  2. Nadine Nys says:

    I am not sure I would like this series, I didn’t like the tv-series at all, although I couldn’t say why… So I am going to skip these…🙂

  3. Yay, a Gerritsen!!! How funny though – despite loving all this series this is the one I remember the least – but I must have loved it as I have loved them all.

    And thank you SO MUCH for your donation to my Just Giving page (I only saw it yesterday). You’re a superstar! xxx

  4. I have read this author before and enjoyed what I have read.

  5. parrish lantern says:

    Read a few of these over the years & agree with your comment “enjoyable but forgettable, I find there a bit like a fast food meal (McDonald’s etc.) Vaguely pleasant but not really proper food.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gary, I don’t quite find them fast food, but they are not very involved reads, that’s sure. You’re more into ‘serious’ literature and this is indeed far away from what you normally read.

  6. Pingback: The Silent Girl – Book Review « Mushy Cloud

  7. sterlingsop says:

    Hi, I found a link from your blog to mine today so I’m just dropping by to say hello🙂

    I am a big fan of Tess Gerritsen and especially the Rizzoli and Isles series. Like you, I initially found that they were interchangeable characters and couldn’t really see the point of them as individuals, but as the series has progressed you can really see that they are completely different, and in the different stories they have a different part to play. I got a bit confused with the Mephisto Club, but it does serve as a good grounding for later books in the series in terms of laying down the basics for some more characters and later cases.

    I’d not thought of each one having a “theme” before, but you’re right. Each one has a different approach, which I suppose helps keep the series rocking along.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hi Sterlingsop. Thanks for popping by and thanks for your insight in the Rizzoli and Isles series. I’ll probably read more of the books so it’s good to know that the characters are very different after all.

  8. cicely wright says:

    love Tess Gerritsen . She never lets you down and although some books are a bit quirkier than others they are always a good read. Find referral to past cases rather infuriating as this puts me off reading the earlier cases.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

