May Overview

In May I read a whopping 20 books! The sun was out, I dropped everything and sat in the garden with a book. Not the whole month, mind you, but significantly more time was spent reading than normal.

Books that stood out:

The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones.  I really, really enjoyed this book. Also, State of Wonder (Ann Patchett), a re-read, I gave 5 stars this time around. Previously it only made 4 stars. And I keep enjoying the books by the Norwegian writer Jussi Adler-Olsen, really nice thrillers that I read in Dutch.

This is what I read

The Univited Guests by Sadie JonesState of Wonder by Ann PatchettBetween a Rock and a Hot Place by Tracey JacksonThe Snow Whale by John MinichilloThe Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo HigashinoDinner at Mine by Chris SmythThe Submission by Amy WaldmanArranged by Catherine McKenzieThe Four Fingers of Death by Rick MoodyThe Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen
The Unseen by Katherine WebbBeneath the Shadows by Sara FosterThe Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen The First Warm Evening of the Year by Jamie SaulThe Rock Star in Seat 3A by JIll KargmanDe noodkreet in de fles by Jussi Adler-OlsenThe Rise and Fall of the Wonder Girls by Sarah MayZe komt nooit meer terug van Hans KoppelPerfecte Stilte [Perfect Silence] by Thomas Verbogt A Death in the Family by Karl Ove Knausgaard

Click on the blue links to go to the review

The Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones. 5 stars

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett (re-read). 5 stars, previously 4 stars

Between a Rock and a Hot Place by Tracey Jackson. 5 stars

The Snow Whale by John Minichillo. 4.5 stars

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino 4.5 stars

Dinner at Mine by Chris Smyth. 4.5 stars

The Submission by Amy Waldman. 4.5 stars

Arranged by Catherine McKenzie. 4.5 stars

The Four Fingers of Death by Rick Moody. 4 stars

The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen. 4 stars

The Unseen by Catherine Webb. 4 stars

Beneath the Shadows by Sara Foster. 4 stars

The Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen. 4 stars

The First Warm Evening of the Year by Jamie Saul. 3 stars

The Rock Star in Seat 3A by Jill Kargman. 2.5 stars


***

Dutch blog:

De noodkreet in de fles  [The Cry for Help in a Bottle] by Jussi Adler-Olsen. 5 stars

Perfecte stilte [Perfect Silence] by Thomas Verbogt. 4.5 stars

The Rise and Fall of the Wonder Girls by Sarah May. 4 stars

Ze komt nooit meer terug [She Will Never Come Back] by Hans Koppel. 4 stars

Vader [A Death in the Family] by Karl Ove Knausgard (DNF)

.

 This is what I reviewed too

 Ready Player One by Ernest Cline 172 Hours on the Moon by Johan HarstadMore Like Her by Liza PalmerThe Magician King by Lev Grossman I've Got Your Number by Sophie KinsellaA Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn FrenchThe Imperfectionists by Tom RachmanThe School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. 5 stars

172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad. 4.5 stars

More Like Her by Liza Palmer. 4 stars

The Magician King by Lev Grossman. 4 stars

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. 3.5 stars

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French. 3.5 stars

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman. 3.5 stars

The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister (DNF)

What was YOUR favorite book in May?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to May Overview

  1. Rikki says:

    Ha ha, and there are you telling me I read more than usual,🙂. 20 books! I would have to stop working, quit housework and cooking and sleeping in order to do that. Well done again!

  2. Wow! 20 books, that sure sounds like a lot. I thought I would read more because of the sun, but ended up going out more often, instead of reading. Swimming and being on a boat was nice as well🙂

  3. Suzanne says:

    20 books?! Wow. I am impressed and just a little bit envious.
    I think the most memorable book I read in May was Quiet by Susan Cain. It is non-fiction about introverts and how we aren’t all bad.

  4. Mari Partyka says:

    WOW! That’s 5-6 months of book reading for me in a good month…. gulp. 🙂

    I am hoping to write a book post this weekend. I have already went over my time limit for computer time this morning – it’s 65 degrees outside, no humidity… I need to get outside! Planning to go into the city tomorrow to meet Sheila (Book Journey). I signed up for BEA but am not sure when I will go… but I will! Listening to her… I’m overwhelmed. HA!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, take advantage of the good weather while you can! I do… by sitting in the garden with a book. But I’ve joined the gym so that will mean less reading time.🙂

  5. Nadine Nys says:

    Wow, 20 books… I can only dream of reading so many books in a month. But luckily I can read your reviews, so, that’s nice too.
    Enjoy your reading, Judith.

    • Leeswammes says:

      The problem with all those reviews, Nadine, is that you keep putting more and more books on your wish list. When will you read all those?🙂

  6. I really must pick up a copy of Uninvited Guests.

    I know what you mean about the TBR–no matter how fast I read, it just keeps growing!

  7. Nadine Nys says:

    There’s only one solution to that problem, Judith, you’ll have to read books I don’t like to read…🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

