Weekly Reading Roundup

My Monday post is a day early this week, because the coming week I’m taking part in Armchair BEA, a book blogger’s event to connect together. It’s meant for those that can’t attend the real thing, Book Expo America, which happens this week in New York.

So, you can expect an Armchair BEA post from me every day from Monday to Friday. It will be about other things than book reviews: introducing myself to those that don’t know me so well, a giveaway on Tuesday, a post on meeting book people in real life, etc.

Other news:

  • I’m planning to read a book a day starting today for seven days. I’ve started a new book this morning and won’t go to sleep at night until the book is finished. Then I’ll start with a new book the next day. I’m planning to read books of 200-350 pages. Will I be able to do it?
  • If that’s not enough of a challenge, I’ll also be reading my way around the USA in the next 3 months.
  • Last Friday, my book group discussed State of Wonder by Ann Patchett, which turned out to be a great book to discuss in a book group!
  • Also Friday, earlier in the day, I signed up at the gym for a 3-month summer membership. My first session is Monday and I’m reaaally looking forward to it.

*****

If you haven’t signed up yet… there is still time: The 5th Literary Giveaway Blog Hop will  be taking place in a few weeks’ time.  Over 50 participants signed up already; this is one not to miss, sign up now.

.

Books I finished this week: 5

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo HigashinoState of Wonder by Ann PatchettThe Unnamed by Joshua FerrisBEA Buzz BooksDe ooggetuige by Simone van der Vlugt

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino. A woman kills her ex-husband and her neighbour helps her to cover up the case. But the police are on their tails. Will they discover what happened? 4.5 stars

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett. A researcher goes to the Amazon to find out what happened to her colleague, who died while out there. A great re-read. I think it’s worth 5 stars! Last year, I read it and gave it 4 stars.

The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris. A man has episodes in which he has to walk. He gets up and starts walking and when he’s tired he drops down on the ground and sleeps where ever he is. His wife tries to help him but is having a hard time with it. 4 stars

BEA Buzz Books. A collection of extracts from books that will be presented at BEA. I’ve discovered several books that I’d love to read when I get the chance!

De ooggetuige [The Eye Witness] by Simone van der Vlugt. A visually impaired woman is the sole eye witness of a robbery at a jeweller’s . The robbers think she is blind but when it becomes known the woman can see a little bit, she worries for her safety. 2.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading

 The Cottage at Glass Beach by Heather Barbieri

.

Reviews

The Unseen by Katherine WebbI've Got Your Number by Sophie KinsellaThe Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen

The Unseen by Katherine Webb. It’s 1911 and the wife of a vicar becomes worried when a young man, believing in faeries, convinces her husband to accept him in their household to investigate faerie sightings further. A maid, who has recently arrived from London, sees through him straight away. 4 stars

 I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella.  A chick-lit about a woman who finds a phone in a bin and starts using it, as she’s just lost her own phone. The man who it belongs to allows her to use it for a while, and they get more and more involved. 3.5 stars

The Mephisto Club by Tess Gerritsen. Several women are found dead while their surroundings have been marked with satanic symbols. The Mephisto Club researches evil, but maybe this time they are the target. 4 stars

—> If you’re a book blogger, don’t forget to sign up for the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop!


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

21 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. I hope you go well with your book a day! The last book I read took two weeks to finish, and it wasn’t even particularly long! (I blame work entirely). I agree that the Sophie Kinsella was a bit far fetched, but still fun.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sam, I think I’ll have the time to read next week. I often read about 4 books a week so I only have to up the pace a bit (plus the books won’t be all that long). I don’t work, that helps. Although normally, I don’t read much during daytime. For this challenge, I will, otherwise I’ll be up until 5 in the morning, every day.🙂

  2. Uniflame says:

    You read a lot again🙂 I actually finished the hunger games last night🙂 Now I need to get myself some new library loot again🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hope you enjoyed The Hunger Games, Uniflame. I loved the series I’m always tempted to take home half the library so I bet you can easily find some nice books. Is it open on Sundays?

  3. I’ve got The Devotion of Suspect X on my tbr-pile. Glad to see you liked it enough to award it 4.5 stars.

  4. A book a day? WOW…

    I’m heading into the city today to meet Sheila (Book Journey) and since I bought a pass to the event..I need to decide when to go into the city. I know the blog convention is tomorrow but I’m not planning to attend. Monday’s are my busiest work day…. hard to take the day off. But hoping for Tuesday afternoon. I will tweet!

    Good luck with armchair!!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s 6.30 pm and I’ve finished my book for today… It was rainy here and I planned to spend a lot of time working in the garden, but in the end, with all the rain that didn’t happened. So I read and finished the book already.

      Hope you’ll be able to go on Tuesday, maybe even more than one afternoon? I’m sure once you get sucked into the atmosphere you want more of it! We have a similar thing in September and I can’t wait!

      • Impressive on the book read🙂. You know I have dr appts this week and BEA ends at 5PM so it will be hard to get there more than once. I was hoping to go into the city today but life got in the way… and the weather. It’s pouring out so walking 5 miles in the city wouldn’t have been a lot of fun (from Penn Station to Central Park and back). I also have the heat on in the house today!

        Enjoy tomorrow’s book.🙂

      • Leeswammes says:

        Mari, here it’s a lot cooler again, too, with rain (lots of it). Seems the summer is over again. But I’m sure there will be more good weather, later.

        Hope you will enjoy BEA when you get the chance to go.🙂

  5. Leslie says:

    I’m doing Armchair BEA too. If they ever move it out of New York I’ll go but NY is a hassle, so Armchair it is. And this year there is going to be streaming video, should be awesome.

    A book a day? Wow, I’m still trying to get through two a week, sometimes three.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I dreamt that I went to BEA and there were excursions into the mountains (because they started just outside the conference buildings). It was lovely!🙂

      I hope you’ll enjoy Armchair. I did it last year too and it was fun.

  6. Nadine Nys says:

    Great plans you have, Judith… And I am sure you will succeed in all of them. I hope you enjoy everyone of them. Good luck!

  7. Cass says:

    Ooh, I just started reading State of Wonder yesterday, I’m glad to see you liked it so much! Hopefully I’ll enjoy it just as much🙂

  8. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    The Cottage At Glass Beach didn’t really work for me. I hope you enjoy it more
    Thanks for stopping by Book’d Out earlier!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, I saved your review so I could have a look at it later… I actually did like it a lot. The book. Need to read your review still.

  9. Woordenaar says:

    I almost finished Verdwijnpunt by Arnaldur Indridason, a very melancholic crime novel.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I used to love Indridason until I read Doodskap which I thought wasn’t well-written. I still liked it, but didn’t love it like his other books. I hope you like Verdwijnpunt, Woordenaar.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

