Armchair BEA – Day 3: Networking

Armchair BEA

Armchair BEA is for those people who cannot visit Book Expo America but still want to join in the fun. This week, June 4th to June 8th, there are celebrations for those who stay at home rather than make it to New York. Look out for a new post every day from me!

Today, we’re talking about how we’re using our blog to get involved in the community.

Meeting book bloggers

As I’ve got two blogs, I have two blogging communities, although they partially overlap. But I’ve met both with English language bloggers that live in the Netherlands (followers from this blog, and/or people I follow) and with Dutch language bloggers that I met through my Dutch blog. I’ve met up twice and three times with these groups, respectively.

Book bloggersBook Blogger meeting a in café

The nice thing with book bloggers is that even if your background is very different, there always are topics of conversation: books! It’s never easy to break up the meeting because we could talk forever!

Being a judge for a short story competition

Something else I did recently, was take part in the jury of a local short story competition. Via Twitter, I “met”someone from the local library and she asked me if I would like to be in the jury of a short story competition, and I said yes.

I read 30-odd stories and discussed them with the owner of the local bookshop, a member of several local cultural organisations, and a volunteer at the library. Together we worked through the stories and came to a winner. It was great fun to do. The theme of the stories was “friendship” but it was amazing what different angles the writers gave to their stories.

I love talking to people about books and stories and I’m glad there are so many bookish people I can connect with in real life (as well as via my blogs).

Have you met new people because of your love for reading?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to Armchair BEA – Day 3: Networking

  1. lemon123 says:

    What a good idea! No, I haven’t connected to a group of book bloggers in my community. I’ll bet it’s fun. Thanks for putting a bug in my ear. lol.

  2. I have indeed–I’ve judged awards, started a book group, and I’m even holding a bookish catch-up this weekend.🙂 Who says we’re an antisocial lot, eh?

  3. Laura says:

    Aw, that’s so nice that you’ve had meet-ups with the Dutch bloggers! It feels like there aren’t really any book bloggers who live near me, which makes me kind of sad, but I know that one day I’ll meet people and things and it will be awesome!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Maybe there are book bloggers that you don’t know, Laura. Even in the small country of the Netherlands there are many more book bloggers than I’ve been aware of. They’re everywhere.

  4. bibliosue says:

    I know of some bloggers in the Chicago area but with the exception of a few who live very close by I’ve not met any others in real life. I brought up the idea of a meetup once on Twitter, but nothing ever came of it. Maybe I should try again.

    • Leslie says:

      I’m in the Chicago area too (western suburbs) and haven’t met very many bloggers in real life. For a city/area this size I would think there must be more of us.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, here the one group started with two people actively asking around (on their blogs and via email). Maybe set a date, time and place, and see what comes of it. If no one’s interested, you cancel the whole thing.

  5. Leslie says:

    I’ve done a few events, World Book Night being the most recent, and a local Bookfest last year but so far no meetups. And those do sound like fun.

  6. Judging a short story competition would be so much fun! And how exciting that you get to be part of two blogging communities!

    Thanks for stopping by my Armchair BEA Networking Post!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s fun, Lauren, but also hard work. On blog I post about 6-7 times per week, the other 3 times. I read a lot so a lot are book reviews which are not so hard to do but still take time.

  7. Alley says:

    I’m jealous you got to meet so many other bloggers! That’s also fun you got to judge a short story contest.

  8. It’s nice that you have two groups you’ve been able to meet related to what language you’re blogging in! You’re lucky that your country is small, it’s very hard living in a huge country like Australia where everyone is spread out all over the place!

  9. How cool to have met up with both groups.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

