Weekly Reading Roundup

No It’s Monday meme from me today, I’m not linking up with anyone. I’ve been linking up with lots of people all week last week, because of Armchair BEA so this week, I need a rest! Don’t worry, if you leave a comment I will visit you and I will visit the blogs that I’m subscribed to. Just not anyone else.

So, Armchair BEA – phew! I had great fun and found some great new blogs. I was in the commenting committee which meant every day I visited a certain number of blogs from the daily linky list (as well as the blogs I subscribe to) and it was very busy. But great fun.

My armchair BEA posts: Introductions, Favorite Books and Giveaway (now closed), Networking, Beyond the Blog, Ask the Experts.

Other news:

  • I read a book a day every day last week. Was it fun? Check out this postMp3 player
  • I started at the gym and had 3 sessions. I bought myself a beautiful tiny MP3 player so I can have some music going while exercising.

*****


Books I finished this week: 8

The Cottage at Glass Beach by Heather BarbieriThe Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWittThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenEen gat in de lucht by Erik NieuwenhuisThe Death of Bees by Lisa O'Donnell
Virals by Kathy Reichs
The Turnaround by George PelecanosThe Duplicate by Helen Fitzgerald

Sounds a lot, but see above: I read a book a day last week!

The Cottage at Glass Beach by Heather Barbieri. 4.5 stars

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt. 4.5 stars

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. 4 stars

Een gat in de lucht [Jumping in the Air] by Erik Nieuwenhuis. 4.5 stars

The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell. 5 stars

Virals by Kathy Reichs. 3 stars

The Turnaround by George Pelecanos. 3.5 stars

The Duplicate by Helen Fitzgerald. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading

 A Change in Altitude by Anita ShreveThe Winemaker by Noah Gordon

.

Reviews

Beneath the Shadows by Sara FosterDe ooggetuige by Simone van der Vlugt

Beneath the Shadows by Sara Foster. A man goes missing, leaving a pram with his tiny daughter on the doorstep of his cottage in a remote Yorkshire village.  A year later, his wife returns with their baby daughter to clear the cottage and discovers what happened to him. Spooky cottage! 4 stars

De ooggetuige [The Eye Witness] by Simone van der Vlugt. A visually impaired woman is the sole eye witness of a robbery at a jeweller’s . The robbers think she is blind but when it becomes known the woman can see a little bit, she worries for her safety. 2.5 stars

If you haven’t signed up yet… there is still time: The 5th Literary Giveaway Blog Hop will  be taking place in a few weeks’ time.  Over 60 participants signed up already; this is one not to miss, sign up now.


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Love the cover of The Sisters Brothers!

  2. Mystica says:

    Beneath the Shadows is the one I am looking forward to specially if there is a giveaway.

  3. Have you read Shreve before this novel? I LOVED her first 4-5 novels… be sure to check them out. This is a good one though if your interested in Africa and the hike.

    Do you have any idea how excited I get when I see people starting a workout plan? Congratulations and good luck! 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, this is my first Shreve. Do you mean to say her later novels are not so good? Or are there just 5 or so? I like it so far.

      Well, this gym, I’ve been there before for years, they had a special Summer Offer in the newspaper. The reasons I stopped my subscription before are now no longer valid so I thought: hey, I should do this. It’s for 3 months, in the summer, should be fine to get out of the house to get there (although it’s been raining all 4 times I went so far!) and I have the time for it. So, we’ll see how it goes, so far, I’m enjoying it.

      • Leslie says:

        I’m going to second the early Shreve novels recommendation. Not that her recent novels aren’t good… but the early ones are superb! IMHO anyway. Her first book, Eden Close is still my most favorite.

        True story… I was browsing the stacks at my public library back in 1990 ( I know, I’m old) when a stranger walked up to me, pointed to Eden Close, and told me I just had to read that book, that it was wonderful. So I did.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Leslie, the Shreve book I’m reading right now is pretty good too. Thanks for the recommendations.

        How nice that someone just recommended this to you and now, years later you are passing on the recommendation to me!

  4. Judith, Can I tell you how jealous I am that you read a book a day last week! awesome. I am reading the 1,100++ page edition of Stephen King’s The STAND…LOL

    • Leeswammes says:

      Don’t be jealous, Diane, it wasn’t that much fun. Ha ha, The Stand is not a book to read in one day! Even I took a few days to read that (a few years ago). But I did enjoy it, hope you’re having a good time with it.

  5. Nadine Nys says:

    I amvery curious about the Shreve book, Judith. I already heard a lot about this author, but haven’t read her.
    Enjoy your reading!

  6. Uniflame says:

    I am curious about some of the reviews from the book you’ve read🙂 I hope you will have a quiet week now and just enjoy reading in your own pace🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Uniflame, I’m saving up some reviews for when I’m on holiday – bog fillers.

      I am taking it easy this week. There isn’t even much pressure to read review books etc. so I can read at my own pace.

  7. Shan says:

    I’m glad you liked The Sisters Brothers. Of course I’m partial since he’s Canadian but I really liked the book. It won a few awards here last year.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, yesm *The Sisters Brothers* was very good. I wasn’t really sure I’d like a book about the Wild West but I did.

      • Shan says:

        I didn’t think I was going to like the Western theme at all, I’m just now into it, but his writing was so good.

  8. snowfeathers says:

    A book a day, that is totally impressive! i may do it next year, during some holiday… (Ally – Snow Feathers)

  9. Rikki says:

    You had a very busy week. Take a short break!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m reading this wonderful book, Rikki – well, two of them, the two that are listed here. They are really good and I can’t stop reading. But I do like it that I’ve started these books 2 days ago and I won’t be finishing today.🙂

  10. Leslie says:

    You deserve a week off after reading a book a day and still blogging and commenting for Armchair BEA.

  11. Pingback: Boek Recensie: Het eerste jaar van haar huwelijk van Anita Shreve | De Boekblogger

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

