It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Still going strong at the gym, I went to a class last week. It was supposed to be a “nice way to wake up”.  So, Wednesday early morning (which is 9.15 here🙂  ), I find out it’s with weights on bars, like weight-lifting and it looks all very scary. But there was someone I knew, and she reassured me it wasn’t all that bad  (note: woman nicely shaped, in obviously good condition). Erm… it was hard work, but not too hard. Muscles shaking all over, but only during the class. So I took a Body Balance class later in the week, which is supposed to be easier, but I felt rather out of place. Ah well, everything takes practice!

On Saturday, I went to the yearly 2nd hand book market in town and got 6 books. There were loads of people getting loads of books, who reminded me of my old self. I only got books I either already wanted, or heard such good things about that I couldn’t leave them there. And only books that were in a nearly-new state, too.

Saturday was also the start of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop, organised by moi. 60+ participants, and lots of great books on offer. If your literary brain needs feeding, have a look HERE.

And after you’re done with that, go to this post, where I have another giveaway, as part of another blog hop.

My post telling authors how to pitch to bloggers was very popular this week. Maybe it’s something you’d love to throw at authors that are sending you particularly bad pitches. Or maybe not.

*****


Books I finished this week: 1 (and a bit)

Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. JamesHousekeeping by Marilynne Robinson

Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James. Have you heard of this book? I’ll post my review tomorrow. My lips are sealed (ha ha!) until then. X stars

Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson. I’m afraid to say I abandoned this book. I read 30 pages and I didn’t like any of them. A seemingly boring story with childhood memories. Maybe it’s really good, but I wasn’t able to get into it.

Remark: I usually read 80-100 pages before quitting, but this book was different. It was not on my wishlist and I hadn’t actually heard of it. But I needed a book for the Around the USA in 90 days challenge and so I tried it. It’s good to try something new, but this book didn’t work for me. Do you know it?

Books I’m reading

 This Bright River by Patrick SommervilleGirl Reading by Katie Ward

Reviews

Waterline by Ross RaisinThe Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo HigashinoThe Death of Bees by Lisa O'DonnellA Change in Altitude by Anita Shreve

Waterline by Ross Raisin. A newly widowed man can’t stand staying in the house where he lived with his wife. When he also loses his job he decides to leave. His circumstances deteriorate rapidly. 5 stars

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino. A woman kills her ex-husband and her neighbour helps her to cover up the case. But the police are on their tails. Will they discover what happened? 4.5 stars

The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell. Two teenage girls bury their parents in the back garden and try to get on with life. With the death of their neglective parents, it seems the girls’ lives are improving, but what will happen if the bodies are found, as they inevitably will? 5 stars

Dutch review:

A Change of Altitude by Anita Shreve. A newly married couple move to Kenya where they experience a tragedy. The relationship starts to crumble. 4.5 stars


***

Don’t forget to have a look at my giveaway in the Literary Giveaway Bog Hop! Absolutely world-wide.

***

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

36 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish lantern says:

    Just started Theodore Weesner’s The Car Thief & David Lloyd’s Warrior

    • Leeswammes says:

      Two very different books, Gary. I think I was offered a review copy of The Car Thief and I was very tempted – but with my reading pile I said No. Hope you’re enjoying it.

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’ve seen This Bright River on a few blogs today.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  3. Wendy says:

    I’ll read Fifty Shades one of these days, but it’s just not at the top of my list right now! I always find Anita Shreve’s books to be good reads.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wendy, Fifty Shades is not really my genre and I knew if I didn’t read it soon, it would still be on the shelf next year. So I read it.

  4. I’ll be interested to read your Fifty Shades review. I have read it but not written a review yet.

  5. Suzanne says:

    Congratulations on your gym attendance, Judith. It is too bad we are not nearer because then we could suffer together🙂
    I have Girl Reading on my nook — what do you think of it?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, it would be great to go to the gym together, Suzanne. Although with all the running you’ve been doing, I bet you’d find it all way easier than me.

      Girl Reading is sort of interesting, but a bit slow and a bit too obviously nicely written. Or so it feels.

  6. I am very impressed with your new challenges at the gym…I really need to get back into the routine I had for awhile!

    I like the cover of Girl Reading…hope you enjoy all of your reads. Too bad about the Marilynne Robinson; some books have that effect on me, too.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel-Rain, it’s the routine that’s the thing. Once you’re out of it, it’s hard to start again. But with these gym classes, people will ask “where were you last week?”, so it’s either go once, or go regularly…

  7. Marie says:

    The Death Of Bees looks like a great book! Hope you enjoy all your choices for this week. I think I mentioned on your review of Waterline that I’m currently enjoying God’s Own Country by Ross Raisin, and after that is finished I’m a bit torn. What I want to read next is City Of Thieves by David Benioff, but what I should be reading is Eleven Hours by Paullina Simons (for book club). Decisions, decisions!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I loved The Death of Bees! I have a copy of City of Thieves too, but it doesn’t appeal enough (yet) to read it soon. I read Eleven Hours a long time ago and enjoyed it a lot. It’s an easy read with heavy topics, if I remember well.

  8. Stick to the gym, it’s worth it! I have A Change of Altitude on my bookshelf but have yet to read it. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Laura. I will stick to the gym – I’ve only just started so I’ll have to.🙂

      I hope you’ll like A Change in Altitude. I thought it was a good read.

  9. My friend is reading through the Fifty Shades of Grey series and is enjoying it. Hope you like your other reads as well!

  10. Dollycas says:

    I have yet to jump on the 50 shades bandwagon but my daughter has the whole set. She said they are “not a mom type of book.” lol

  11. Looks like you had a pretty awesome week. I’m waiting for the audiobook for Shades of Grey – I have to admit I’m only reading this one because it has so many mixed reviews, and it’s so popular.

  12. Stephanie says:

    I am reading VERY mixed reviews on Fifty Shades of Gray. Curious to see what you thought of it.

  13. Leslie says:

    I haven’t heard of Housekeeping. There must be something better in Idaho. But I can’t think of one.

    My Fifty Shades review won’t be up until Wednesday or Thursday. Actually it’s only a review of the first third but I have quite a bit to say.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for thinking, Leslie. I’m sure there is a perfectly nice Idaho book out there that I can use. I’ll find it. Looking forward to your 50 Shades review too!

  14. Our reading tastes are merging again🙂 I abandoned Housekeeping and Home – I don’t think I’m going to try another Robinson.

  15. Rikki says:

    Can’t wait to read what you thought of Fifty shades of grey, I haven’t read it. Also reading Girl reading (as you know). So far two stories finished. Caroline is already finished. I am way too slow.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, I have abandoned the book 15 mins ago in the middle of the 3rd story. It doesn’t grab me at all. I’m not really a short story reader and there doesn’t seem to be much of a plot in these, either. More like sketches of the past. So I’m really looking forward to seeing what you think of it.

  16. Kristin T. says:

    I’ve read a few books by Anita Sheve and really enjoyed them. I have Change in Altitude on my shelf and need to get to it soon!

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  17. Lindsey says:

    I read Housekeeping earlier this year. I think it’s one of those books that you have to be in the right mood for at the right time.

  18. Johanna (theonlymrsJo) says:

    I just started in a dutch book: Alles ruikt naar chocola (by Sidney Vollmer), after finishing Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close ….. I suppose this will be a totally different book.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m also planning to rad the chocolate book, Johanna. I haven’t read Extremely Loud but I saw the movie. I bet Alles ruikt naar chocola is a lot lighter in atmosphere.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

