New Arrivals!

After a period of restraint, I have recently requested and received a number of review books again. In fact, it looks like July is pretty full with review books for me and I will need to make time for other books that I own! 

Here’s what I got…

Books for review

One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf

One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf

From MIRA (Harlequin UK), via Netgalley. I’ve read The Weight of Silence by this writer, which I really liked so I expect this to be another good read. I’ll be starting it today, probably!

Description from Netgalley: “‘He has a gun.’
‘Who? Tell me, where are you? Who has a gun?’
‘I love you, Mum.’
An ordinary school day in March, snowflakes falling, classroom freezing, kids squealing with delight, locker-doors slamming.
Then the shooting started. No-one dared take one breath…
He’s holding a gun to your child’s head. One wrong answer and he says he’ll shoot.
This morning you waved goodbye to your child. What would you have said if you’d known it might be the last time?”

***

 Where the Bodies are Buried by Christopher Brookmyre

Where the Bodies Are Buried by Christopher Brookmyre

From Grove/Atlantic for review, via Netgalley. I’ve read two books by Brookmyre, both a while ago (pre-blogging) and enjoyed them a lot. His books are crime novels with a twist, and funny, too. 

Description from Netgalley: “When small-time heroin dealer Jai McDiarmid turns up dead one fine Glasgow morning, no one is that surprised. A heroin dealer openly sleeping with a big-time drug trafficker’s girlfriend, Jai had made a lot of enemies in a city with little patience for those stirring up trouble. As a result, Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod has no shortage of early leads on the case when she is assigned to investigate it.

Meanwhile, out-of-work actress Jasmine Sharp is facing more pressing problems. She’s agreed to help out her “Uncle” Jim with his private investigation work, but is having trouble learning the ropes. As a former actress, lying to people comes naturally to Jasmine, but she’s less adept at tailing her targets and remaining undercover. She’s facing a steep learning curve—and is thrown in at the deep end when Uncle Jim goes missing and she realizes that it’s going to be up to her to find him.

Jasmine begins looking into the cases that Jim was investigating just before he disappeared and goes to meet a man called Tron Ingrams, whose name and address she finds in one of Jim’s case files. Having tracked him down successfully, she is feeling rather pleased with herself—that is, until the car in which they’re traveling comes under gunfire. Who are the assailants—and are they after Tron or Jasmine? Detective Superintendent McLeod’s investigation is also getting complicated: a tip-off that there are explosives in Glasgow’s train station proves to be fake, and a clutch of further murders of some of Glasgow’s drug dealers ramp up the pressure on her to solve the case. Her investigation and Jasmine’s become intertwined, and it becomes increasingly clear that neither is as simple as it seems.

Where the Bodies Are Buried is a gritty, fast-paced thriller that will appeal to Brookmyre’s fans as well as being the ideal book to introduce readers to his work.”

***

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

This is an ARC from Harper and it sounds absolutely terrifying. The sort of book that you have to read in one sitting or you will be uncomfortable for the rest of the day. Maybe this weekend…

From the publisher’s website: “When young, pretty Catherine Bailey meets Lee Brightman, she can’t believe her luck. Gorgeous, charismatic, and a bit mysterious, Lee seems almost too perfect to be true.

But what begins as flattering attention and spontaneous, passionate sex transforms into raging jealousy, and Catherine soon discovers that Lee’s dazzling blue eyes and blond good looks hide a dark, violent nature. Disturbed by his increasingly erratic, controlling behavior, she tries to break it off; turning to her friends for support, she’s stunned to find they don’t believe her. Increasingly isolated and driven into the darkest corner of her world, a desperate Catherine plans a meticulous escape.

Four years later, Lee is behind bars and Catherine—now Cathy—is trying to build a new life in a new city. Though her body has healed, the trauma of the past still haunts her. Trusting no one, she compulsively checks every lock, every window, and every door of her apartment, and varies her route home each day. Then Stuart Richardson, her attractive new neighbor, moves in. Encouraging her to confront her fears, he sparks unexpected hope and the possibility of love and a normal life.

Until the day the phone rings.”

***

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

In hardback format for review from Harper. Since I requested it, I’ve seen some very positive reviews of this book. I’m very much looking forward to reading it. 

From the publisher’s website: “The story begins in 1962. Somewhere on a rocky patch of the sun-drenched Italian coastline, a young innkeeper, chest-deep in daydreams, looks out over the incandescent waters of the Ligurian Sea—blue as his eyes—and sees a vision: a slender blonde woman, a vision in white, approaching him on a boat. She is an actress, he soon learns, an American starlet, and she is dying.

And it begins again today, half a world away, when an elderly Italian man shows up on a movie studio’s back lot—searching for the mysterious woman he last saw at his hotel fifty years before.

What unfolds from there is a dazzling, yet deeply human, rollercoaster of a novel, peopled by Jess Walter’s trademark unforgettable characters: the Italian innkeeper and his mysterious beauty; the heroically cynical film producer who once brought them together, and his idealistic young assistant; and the husbands and wives, lovers and dreamers, superstars and losers who populate their world in the decades that follow. Gloriously inventive, constantly surprising, Beautiful Ruins is pure Jess Walter—a novel full of flawed yet utterly relatable people, all of them reaching toward some impossible goal, leading us up a rocky shoreline path toward a future both distant and utterly familiar. ”

***

Rejection by Meagan Bridges

Rejection by Meagan Bridges

This is an ebook that I received from the author. I don’t read many self-published books but this one sounded like a fun read for the holidays. There wasn’t much to go on, so we’ll see…

Description from Smashwords: “Maggie McKenzie battles overwhelming rejection, raccoon attacks and personal space invading coworkers with only random facts and a growing sense of adventure.”

***

Book I bought

The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney

The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney

I bought this book to read for my book group next week. We all loved The Tenderness of Wolves so we all wanted to read this book, too. I heard it’s very different from that first book. I’m very curious!

 From the book’s website: “Small-time private investigator Ray Lovell veers between paralysis and delirium in a hospital bed. But before the accident that landed him there, he had promised to find Rose Janko.

Rose was married to the charismatic son of a travelling gypsy family, Ivo Janko. When Ray starts to investigate her disappearance he’s surprised that her family are so hostile towards him. The Jankos have not had an easy past. They are a clan touched by tragedy – either they are cursed, or they are hiding a terrible secret.

Could it be that Rose’s discovery of that secret led to her disappearance all those years ago? Soon Ray wishes that he’d never asked the question.

***

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. bibliosue says:

    Beautiful Ruins appeals to me as well.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think “the likes of us” will enjoy *Beautiful Ruins*, Suzanne. I’ll let you know soon, as I’m planning to read the book this week or the next.

  2. I have One Breath Away and can not wait to read it. Enjoy all those great books Judith!

  3. Leslie says:

    Beautiful Ruins was wonderful, just so well written and a good story too. One of my top 5 for this year. I’m guessing you’ll like it. I’m glad I read it in print rather than listened to it. There are several time shifts, POV changes and three stories within the story. That might make it more difficult to appreciate than “reading” it. Hard to explain but you’ll see what I mean.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, yes, I thought I remembered seeing the book on your blog. I have great expectations for this book. It sounds a bit complicated but I”m sure the writer will lead me through it withou too much confusion.

      • Leslie says:

        It sounds more complicated than it is, it’s just difficult to describe. The publisher uses different fonts for the stories with the story and it’s pretty easy to follow.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Oh, that’s handy. I like it when they do that with fonts.

  4. Marie says:

    I recently read These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf and loved it so will definitely be keeping an eye out for more if her stuff. I’m also looking forward to see what the new Brookmyre series has to offer as I am quite a fan of his. Into The Darkest Corner sounds great, too. Good luck picking what to read first, it will be quite a task!
    Marie

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, nice to come across a Brookmyre fan! I’ve read only 2 of his books but I have wanted to pick up more.

      I’m reading the Gidenkauf book now, but it’s indeed very hard to know what to read, they all look so good!

  5. Nadine Nys says:

    These books all seem good to me. Enjoy reading them, Judith!

  6. suzigun says:

    The only title I’ve read is Into the Darkest Corner, and I thought it was excellent. A really well executed psychological thriller. I’ve read lots of books that have tried and failed to do what this one excels at – lots of tension & it keeps you guessing! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  7. Mystica says:

    One Breath Away sounds breath taking.

  8. The Invisible Ones was good. I am also looking forward to Beautiful Ruins. Enjoy your new books Judith.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Diane, I’m really looking forward to *The Invisible Ones* so it’s good to hear you enjoyed it so much. Of course I have high expectations after reading *The Tenderness of Wolves.*

  9. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Where the Bodies are Buried looks great, might have to wonder over to NetGalley! I loved One Breath away – I hope you do!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

