Quick Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

This is a Young Adult book that is also very readable for adults. The subject is not an easy one, kids with cancer, but is very nicely done, with sad moments and happy moments.

Hazel (16) has been having cancer for several years now and takes portable oxygen around with her, otherwise she can’t breath properly. She is depressed and unhappy about her situation, as her illness seems to be incurable. At a Support Group for children with cancer, she meets Augustus Waters, who has previously been suffering from cancer. He’s beautiful and he can’t take his eyes off her!

They become friends and Hazel is finally having fun again. She lends Augustus her favorite book and together they decide to go to Amsterdam, to find the author of the book, as they want to know what happened to the characters after the story has ended.

Being Dutch, I very much liked it that some of the book is set in the Netherlands, in Amsterdam. I don’t know the city very well, but all seemed to be accurate and insightful.

I also liked the budding love story between Augustus and Hazel. They’re attracted to each other but Hazel doesn’t want to get too attached so he won’t be too heart broken when she dies. Of course it doesn’t work like that.

The book is full of disappointment, temporary happiness, trying to put your mark on the world, sadness, and coping.

It’s brilliantly written with nothing out of place. I liked it but didn’t love it, as lots of people seemed to do. It was a good read, for all ages, but it didn’t touch me very much, somehow. One thing this book definitely wasn’t, was sentimental!

Rating: 4

Number of pages: 322

First published: 2012

I got this book: won from Ellie at Curiosity Killed the Bookworm in a giveaway (Thanks, Ellie)

Genre: contemporary fiction, Young Adult fiction

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to Quick Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. Nadine Nys says:

    Not an easy topic, but the author seems to have made it very readable, Judith. I have seen many raving reviews about this book on other websites, but wasn’t sure yet wether I wanted to read it or not. Your review brought the needed critical note. Thanks!

  2. Uniflame says:

    Thanks for the review! I will put this on my wishlist🙂

  3. bibliosue says:

    I might try this one. I’m not much for YA but this book sounds suitable for “grown-ups” like me.

  4. Trish says:

    I think my feelings are probably pretty similar to yours Judith. I liked it and loved the writing but just never felt attached. Not in the way that I have been to other John Green characters.

    My favorite part was when they visited Amsterdam as well. Fun little armchair traveling.😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Trish, I haven’t read anything else by John Green, so I can’t compare, unfortunately.

      Yes, the armchair traveling was fun – for me too!

  5. I read Paper Town by John Green which I loved, and consequently, wanted to read Looking for Alaska and An Abundance of Katherines. I haven’t read either, although this one has piqued my interest. I might read one of the older works first, before coming to this! That said, I don’t think I’ve read anything set in Amsterdam…

  6. I just seen your mention on Twitter that you reviewed this today too… LOL…. loved it! I think everyone needs to read it – or better yet, listen to it… the audio was FANTASTIC.

  7. This one’s definitely on my TBR–Green always seems to be a crowd favourite!

  8. FBT says:

    I agree with your review, I also liked it but didn’t love it the way everyone else seems to. I’m yet to write/post my review, but I do like the way Green writes.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

