It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****


Books I finished this week: 4

Beloved by Toni MorrisonOne Breath Away by Heather GudenkaufInto the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth HaynesTaal is zeg maar echt mijn ding by Paulien Cornelisse

Beloved by Toni Morrison. The ghost of a girl who dies as a toddler, and then haunts the house where her mother, a former slave, and younger sister live. 3.5 stars

One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf. A man with a gun occupies a school. We follow some of the people involved. 3.5 stars

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. A woman suffers from Obsessive-Compulse Disorder after her scary boyfriend attacked her a few years ago. Now he’s released from prison. 4.5 stars

Taal is zeg maar echt mijn ding [English translation: discussed HERE] by Paulien Cornelisse. A fun book with clever observations about the Dutch language. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading

 The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney

.

Reviews

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWittThe Fault in Our Stars by John GreenThe Turnaround by George PelecanosBlindgangers by Joke J. Hermsen

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt. Two criminal brothers travel in the American Wild West in order to capture and kill a man. They have a lot of adventures on the way and second thoughts about their mission. 4.5 stars

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. A girl who is terminally ill with cancer meets a boy who has recently recovered from the illness. Together they plan to travel to Amsterdam to meet the author of a book they both love. 4 stars

The Turnaround by George Pelecanos. Some white boys travel into a black neighbourhood and one of them gets killed. Years later, the people involved contact each other. 3.5 stars

Blindgangers [Unexploded shells/Blinded people] by Joke Hermsen [Dutch]. A group of 40-somethings meet for a nice weekend away but all kind of issues surface during the stay. 5 stars

*****

Other news:


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

30 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I think I only awarded Beloved 3.5 stars after finishing it, but it has grown on me a lot since then. I think I’ve just forgotten the dull, complicated bits that I didn’t quite understand and only remember the powerful scenes. SPOILER That scene with the woman beheading her child haunts me. I think it is the most powerful scene I’ve ever read.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, there were indeed a number of scenes that I didn’t understand at all. The beheading didn’t leave a lasting impression on me. In fact, I can’t picture it completely now. Funny, how we can read and remember things so differently.

  2. I have just about decided that I will never finish Beloved. I should read it, but I never seem to get around to it.

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    I hope you will stop by!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Deb, if Beloved is such a struggle, I’d just give up. I found the story interesting but some of the book was really hard to read, and I didn’t enjoy all of it.

  3. Nadine Nys says:

    Nice reading week, again, Judith. You sure know how to pick your books!

  4. The invisible Ones looks good. I hope to get in some reading time this week – its going to be a hit and a miss for time to do so😉

  5. I am flying to Paris tomorrow, so for me, it’s all Paris related: “The last time I saw Paris”, which is getting quite interesting!🙂

  6. Karen says:

    I like the sound of Beloved. It’s one I’ve always meant to pick up at the book shop but something else has caught my eye. I liked Into the Darkest Corner too. Was a little disappointed with her second book I also liked The Sisters Brothers.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Karen, I found *Beloved * rather difficult to read at places, but it is a fascinating story. *Into the Darkest Corner *was good. I haven’t read the second book (didn’t know there was one!).

  7. Mystica says:

    A nice set of reads here. Enjoy the week.

  8. Teddyree says:

    I can’t wait to read The Fault In Our Stars, glad you enjoyed it and I like the sound of Into The Darkest Corner. I liked One Breath Away but it wasn’t my favourite of Heather Gudenkauf’s.
    Have a great week and happy reading🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Teddyree, *The Fault in Ours Stars* is a good read but not as good as I had hoped. *One Breath Away* was a little disappointing, I thought.

  9. I have One Breath Away and can’t wait to read it. I’ve had The Turnaround for quite awhile…maybe I need to get to it. Enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  10. Vasilly says:

    I have Stef Penney’s first book on my tbr shelf. How’s The Invisible Ones so far?

  11. So many great reads, have a great week Lee. Going to read your Heather G review now.

  12. I tried to read Beloved but just couldn’t get into it – Interested to hear your thoughts.

    Happy reading this week🙂
    The Brunette Librarian Blog

    • Leeswammes says:

      Brunette, I found *Beloved* difficult in places, too. I read it for a challenge. I may have given up half-way otherwise. Still, I was glad I read the whole book.

  13. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    A shame you didn’t enjoy One Breath Away quite as much as I did! In the Darkest Corner looks good, I look forward to your review!
    Have a great week!

  14. Woordenaar says:

    Still want to read The Sisters Brothers. The cover alone is good for 5 stars.

    I read the graphic novel Ayako by Osamu Tezuka, a masterpiece. Also read Gelukkig getrouwd by Erlend Loe, it’s like a bad marriage: you’ll be happy when it’s finished.

    Now reading: Tom-all Alone’s (or The Solitary House, depending if you read the English or the American version, in Dutch it’s called Kerkhof in Londen) by Lynn Shepherd. A murder mystery inspired by Charles Dickens Bleak House. I never did read anything by Dickens but Lynn shepherd makes me curious.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Woordenaar, definitely, the cover is SO attractive!

      I’ve heard of the Erlend Loe book. You’re saying it’s *not * good? Hmm, that’s a pity.

      I have wanted to read Bleak House. Maybe I will and then read this thriller. Or maybe I’ll just read the thriller!

  15. Leslie says:

    Beloved is one of those books that I always see recommended and haven’t gotten around to reading. The Sisters Brothers sounds better than I expected so I’m adding that to my ever expanding list.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I found *Beloved* rather difficult. It’s one of those books that I’m happy I know about now but it wasn’t a fantastic reading experience.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

