Quick Book Review: Virals by Kathy Reichs

Virals by Kathy Reichs

This book is about Tory Brennan who is 14 and has just moved to South Carolina, to a small island where her father lives. He works at another island, where scientists are doing research. Most of the scientists also live on the island where Tory now lives and she befriends their children, three boys: Hiram, Shelton and Ben.

At the research island, where they have restricted admittance, they find an old soldier’s ID tag. They wonder how it got there and who it belongs to. To find out they break into several buildings at night and also discover a body buried on the research island. But when they tell their parents and the authorities, the body has been replaced by an ape skeleton and they are not believed.

Meanwhile, they’ve caught a virus that gives them special powers at certain times, so for instance, they can hear very well, or are very strong. They use these powers to try and escape the people that don’t want them to continue their investigations…

This was a Young Adult book but I think if I were younger I would feel the same about the story as I did now: so unlikely!! The story didn’t grab me because what Tory and their friends did was beyond believable. Who cares about an old ID tag? You’d most likely throw it away, right? Say you were interested in it after all, would you break into several places just to find more information? I thought not.

I cannot imagine YA’s would fall for it. I’m not giving the book to my sons (13 and 15 yo) to read because I don’t think the story would be interesting for them.

I did want to continue reading to see how this body ended up on the island, what the virus was all about, and who was after the teenagers. But I found the ending a bit far-fetched too.

So, overall, not a great success.

Rating: 3 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 348 (Dutch translation)

First published: 2010

I got this book: from the library, for the Around the USA in 90 Days challenge

Genre: contemporary fiction, Young Adult fiction

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to Quick Book Review: Virals by Kathy Reichs

  1. Tien says:

    oh dear… are you a fan of the Temperance Brennan series, Judith? just curious…

  2. Chinoiseries says:

    This surprises me… I did not know she was writing stand-along books. Hm, but apparently this was not so much a success😦 Pity!

  3. Leslie says:

    The premise sounded so promising. I thought I might like this one but, yeah, that does sound a little too far-fetched.

  4. Maddie Harrison says:

    Im 15 and i thought this book was awsome!!! Who cares if its a little far fetched thats what makes it awsome!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Maddie, this book is for people your age so I’m glad you loved it so much!

    • Lola says:

      Its fiction … its meant to be far fetched!! This book is amazing, doesn’t matter if its not believable! Lola(14)

      • Leeswammes says:

        Thanks for your comment, Lola! Fiction can be far-fetched (to a degree), but it always has to be believable. The writer must paint such a picture that the reader starts to believe it could be true. Because a story is much more exciting if you think it could be true.🙂

  5. Ashley Radcliff says:

    I loved this book and I am 12! I thought it was amazing!

  6. aakifahm says:

    Well I think I read this book when I was 14 and I absolutely loved it…🙂 I don’t think adults would enjoy it though, haha.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

