Book Review: On the Road to Mr. Right by Belinda Jones

On the Road to Mr. Right by Belinda Jones

This book is as light as the cover probably makes you think. It’s not the sort of book I’d normally pick up – although I do like the chick-lit genre in general. But… I needed a book for my Around the USA in 90 Days challenge, and for that, it was ideal.

On the Road to Mr. Right: What it is about

I’m not sure to what extend this book is fiction or memoir. The main character is called Belinda and she is a journalist.  She makes several trips (from the UK) to the USA looking for Mr. Right, together with a friend (not the same friend on every trip).

She decides it would be fun to visit towns of which she is hopeful to find suitable candidates, given the names of the towns. So, she visits:

Las Vegas in Nevada (this is where she gets the idea)
Eden, Texas
Nice, California
Cazenovia, New York
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Convent, Louisiana
Kissimmee, Florida
Climax, Colorado
Valentine, Arizona
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Weddington, North Carolina
Darling, Mississippi
Guys, Tennessee

She (and her friend) meet lots of men, spending most of their times in bars. They’re sometimes invited back home and spend half the night talking and drinking. There is as good as no sleeping over, it all stays rather platonic. Still, she meets some men with whom there is a “click” and they end up promising to call each other and get back together at a different time (as Belinda has to move on, to keep to her schedule).

There are some potential Mr. Rights. Especially the men that she has only brief contact with seem to linger in her mind (and she in theirs). Slowly she comes to a realisation about men, herself, and what she really needs.

On the Road to Mr. Right: What I thought

I am (and never have been) anything like Belinda Jones and found it hard to see myself doing the things she did, and therefore, finding it hard to really get into this story.

I don’t flirt with men at all (it’s a gene I’m missing, I believe) and would be hard pressed to meet even one man on all the various nights out that Belinda and her friends spend in the USA. Granted, she says it herself, in the UK she would never get the attention that she gets in the USA, so maybe I should go to Kissimmee someday and see what happens.

Worse, I do not enjoy spending night after night in bars. Even worse, she has a completely different idea of what is a suitable boyfriend from me. And finally, what was Belinda really doing there? What good was an American Mr. Right anyway, given that she lives in the UK (and I don’t think she had a particular interest in the USA – her interests lay with men, mainly). So, I could not really believe in Belinda’s quest. It seemed rather silly, whichever way you look at it.

However, after a while I just “went with the story” and then it was fun (a bit). I was still shaking my head over all the unsuitable men she meets, but I started to see some fun in what she was doing too.

Others may like this book more than I did – not suitable for chick-lit haters or those that like a more grown-up kind of chick-lit.

Rating: 3.5 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 316

First published: 2006

I got this book: from the library

Genre: chick-lit

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

9 Responses to Book Review: On the Road to Mr. Right by Belinda Jones

  1. Roxanne says:

    I have read this book a couple of years ago. The story isn’t very realistic, because let’s face it, who can leave for a couple of months and still have the money to travel? She had a job, right? What I did like was the fact that she just did that. She packed her suitcase and went on a crazy journey with her friend. I would like to be a bit more like that sometimes. Not that I would like to drive around to find men in bars, because that is not my dream. It would be nice to be less of a coward sometimes. I am always thinking about what could go wrong.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Roxanne, i agree! I think it’s a great idea to just leave everything behind and leave for a few months. I would go to the Scottish Isle of Skye and write a book.🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    I may have enjoyed this book in my younger days, but now that I am (ahem) more mature I think I will take a pass.

  3. Tesney Ap says:

    Good review, Judith! You’re just like me, I’ve never known how to flirt with men ever! I don’t think I will enjoy this book either🙂

  4. I couldn’t imagine going from bar to bar looking for men, and I certainly don’t want to read about it. I like your idea of going to an island much better, only I would read in stead. Perhaps we could go together, Judith, then I could read what you have written.🙂

  5. Hmmm, this book sounds rather bizarre and unrealistic. But it could be fun for the right reader!

  6. Leslie says:

    When I saw that title I was wondering why you were reading this… and then I saw the list of states.🙂

    This is a book I would have enjoyed when I was twenty, now probably not so much. I’ve been to Kissimmee, on a road from Chicago to Florida when I was in my 20s. So that made me laugh. Plenty of bars and guys, but also Disney World and families, too.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

