It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I was on holiday for the last two weeks so I have been rather quiet on my blog (except for the posts that I scheduled in advance). I went to Spain with my husband and sons and we had a wonderful time. We didn’t do much, but I guess that’s nice about a holiday, you don’t have to do anything. Anyway, after driving back 20 hours on Saturday/Sunday, here I am again. I’ll be visiting everyone’s blogs again, too!
.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 8

Where the Bodies are Buried by Christopher BrookmyreYou Remind Me of Me by Dan ChaonThe Tall Tale of Tommy Twice by Nathan LesliePrior Bad Acts by Tami HoagHow to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu
Rejection by Meagan BridgesBeautiful Ruins by Jess WalterRecipe for Love by Katie Fforde

Where the Bodies are Buried by Christopher Brookmyre. Mystery story, captivating, 4 stars.

You Remind Me of Me by Dan Chaon. Brother looking for half-brother who was adopted at birth. Not quite the happy-family book that you might expect. 4 stars

The Tall Tale of Tommy Twice by Nathan Leslie. After the death of his parents, a boy is sent to several different family members who all are strange in their own way. 4.5 stars

Prior Bad Acts by Tami Hoag. Good mystery. 4 stars

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu. For nerds. But even I found it too odd. 3.5 stars

Rejection by Meagan Bridges. Fun chicklit, realistic but not boring. 4 stars

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter. Beautiful story. 4.5 stars

Recipe for Love by Katie Fforde. Fun chicklit but a little unbelievable. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading

The Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones

I started this book on the way back from Spain. During the trip, I came across several of the places mentioned in the book. Good fun.

.

Reviews

Beloved by Toni MorrisonDe reddingsboot by Charlotte RoganBlood Lure by Nevada BarrOn the Road to Mr. Right by Belinda JonesThe Rose of Fire by Carlos Ruiz ZafónPOD by Stephen Wallenfels

Beloved by Toni Morrison. The ghost of a girl who dies as a toddler, and then haunts the house where her mother, a former slave, and younger sister live. 3.5 stars

The Life Boat by Charlotte Rogan. It’s 1914 and a cruise ship has sunk. Grace is one of 40 people in a life boat. There are too many people aboard and something needs to be done to decrease their numbers. 4.5 star

Blood Lure by Nevada Barr. A woman, Anna, is researching bears in a national park when a body is found. Anna investigates. 3.5 stars

On the Road to Mr. Right by Belinda Jones. A UK woman and her friend try to find Mr. Right in the USA and flirt and party their way through several states. 3.5 stars

Short story: Rose of Fire by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. A story about how the Cemetery of Forgotten Books was started.

On the Road to Mr. Right by Belinda Jones. A UK woman and her friend try to find Mr. Right in the USA and flirt and party their way through several states. 3.5 stars

POD by Stephen Wallenfels. Strange balls appear in the skies, killing everyone that appears out in the street. In California and in Washington, two teenagers are trying to survive under very different circumstances. 4 stars

Vissen voeren by Fabio GenovesiDirty Martini by Elizabeth Mollema

And on my Dutch blog….

Vissen voeren [Feeding the Fish] by Fabio Genovesi. A coming of age story about a teenager in a small town in Italy whose father isn’t interested in him after he loses a hand in a fireworks accident. He can now not compete in bicycle racing anymore, his father’s greatest hobby. 4 stars

Dirty Martini by Elisabeth Mollema. Two sisters who live together take in a man to cook for them. But along the way, someone is killed… 3.5 stars

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

36 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful holiday. Twenty hours? I guess I need to stop complaining about anything over four. HA! Did you stop overnight or drive straight through? I hope you enjoyed Spain. Time to recover, unpack, get settled… enjoy.

    Love the cover for ‘You remind me of me’

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, we had a great time. On the way there, we stopped off at the top of Spain and found a hotel for the night. On the way back, we drove all the way through (with a little sleep on a parking area off the motor way). I’m still a bit tired, but it was nice to be home early on Sunday so we had the whole rest of the day.

      Doing my 3rd wash for today (did 3 or 4 yesterday too).

      When are you going away? And where? I hope you’ll have another great time.

  2. bibliosue says:

    Welcome back! I’m glad to hear you had a nice time, but you were missed🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Suzanne! I saw all these great posts on my email, but couldn’t comment on any, as that would mean loading whole webpages, my internet holiday allowance didn’t reach that far. But I’ll comment again from now on.

  3. Very tempting books….it’s time for me to grab another Tami Hoag book. Prior Bad Acts looks promising. Enjoy! Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  4. Leslie says:

    I consider myself to be a rather geeky person at times but I just couldn’t get into How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe. I’m anxiously awaiting your review. I loved Beautiful Ruins, a favorite so far this year.

    Do nothing holidays are some of my favorite ones! Just relax and recharge. And best of all, for me, someone else cooks and cleans! Glad you had a good time.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, good to hear that I’m not the only one who had problems with How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe! I’m not sure my review of the book will be all that good, I find it hard to say something about it.

      Yes, Beautiful Ruins was great!

  5. i am reading Pascal Mercier’s “Night train to Lisbon”. it is such a great book, I love it!🙂

  6. Jennifer says:

    I remember hearing good things about You Remind Me of Me, thanks for the reminder! I need to put it on my list🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, You Remind Me of Me was a good read, but a bit less happy than I expected. I hope you’ll enjoy it when you get round to it. Have you read anything else by Chaon?

  7. Mystica says:

    Sounds a good week with a lot accomplished. Enjoy this weeks books as well.

  8. Wow! Such a wide variety of awesome covers and books.

    Happy reading this week🙂
    The Brunette Librarian Blog

  9. Lori Thomas says:

    I`m reading Royally BeSwitched By Molly Snow, won from a blog contest

  10. Welcome back…
    I too have read How to live safely…, and also had some problems with it. It wasn’t what I expected. I think I gave it 4 stars, but 3,5 would have been more accurate.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nadine, funny we agree on this book! I mean, not odd, but I always thought this book was popular by many people. Not so.

      • Yes, I heard a lot of people raving about this book, but it felt rather like a dissappointment to me. Exactly like The Visit of the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan; It also was not really what I expected.

      • Leeswammes says:

        I didn’t trust that I’d like Goon Squad so I skipped it. I did buy a different book by Egan, Look at Me, that sounds really good. Haven’t had time to read it yet…

  11. Wow! That is a whole lot of great looking reads!

  12. JoV says:

    Glad you have a great time in Spain. The best holidays are the ones where you do “absolutely” nothing! Go you reading machine, so many books read during the hols, it’s amazing!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, I didn’t actually read much more than normal. I read 8 books in 2 weeks, while normally it’s 3-4 books in a week. I found that reading in the car (long drive to Spain) or at the pool side actually went very slow. So many distractions.

  13. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Welcome back Judith – I am glad you had such a fabulous time and got to read as well!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Shelleyrae. There is nothing better than reading at the pool side. Except that it goes SO slow – it’s fun to people-watch, you see.

  14. Ooh, loads of good stuff here! I also read How to Live Safely in a Science-Fictional Universe and found it odd -but I liked the weirdness. I LOVE Katie Fforde – she’s probably my favourite chick-lit author (along with Sophie Kinsella). And The Lifeboat’s on my TBR too, hope it’s as good as it looks!🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sophia, for mee, How to Live Safely was a little too weird, not enough of a story. I have a number of chick-lit authors I love to read and Katie Fforde is indeed one of them.🙂

  15. Tesney Ap says:

    You always had great collections of books to rad, Judith. But I always wonder how you read them all so quickly! You’re really a super reader!

  16. Rikki says:

    Sounds like you had a fun time (and good reading, too).

  17. Chinoiseries says:

    You managed to read quite a lot during your holidays! Well done🙂 With a few posts scheduled, it felt like you were only slightly busy offline, not actually away😉 Hmm, Charles Yu’s book was only recently recommended to me. Will you write up a review?

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

