July Overview

I didn’t read quite as much as in previous months, but hey, maybe I got a life! (Erm… not sure, but I went on a really nice holiday in Spain).

Books that stood out:


I loved The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney and also Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter. There were several more good books this month, although also a few disappointments.

This is what I read

The Invisible Ones by Stef PenneyInto the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth HaynesThe Tall Tale of Tommy Twice by Nathan LeslieBeautiful Ruins by Jess WalterThe Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso FalconesPrior Bad Acts by Tami HoagWhere the Bodies are Buried by Christopher Brookmyre
You Remind Me of Me by Dan ChaonRejection by Meagan BridgesRecipe for Love by Katie FfordeHow to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles YuBeloved by Toni MorrisonOne Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf

Click on the blue links to go to the review

The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney. 5 stars

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. 4.5 stars

The Tall Tale of Tommy Twice by Nathan Leslie. 4.5 stars

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter. 4.5 stars

The Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones. 4.5 stars

Prior Bad Acts by Tami Hoag. 4 stars

Where the Bodies are Buried by Christopher Brookmyre.  4 stars.

You Remind Me of Me by Dan Chaon.  4 stars

Rejection by Meagan Bridges. 4 stars

Recipe for Love by Katie Fforde. 4 stars

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu. 3.5 stars

Beloved by Toni Morrison. 3.5 stars

One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf. 3.5 stars

***

Dutch blog:
Vissen voeren by Fabio GenovesiTaal is zeg maar echt mijn ding by Paulien Cornelisse

Vissen voeren [Feeding the Fish] by Fabio Genovesi. 4 stars

Taal is zeg maar echt mijn ding [English translation: discussed HERE] by Paulien Cornelisse. 4 stars

.

What was YOUR favorite book in July?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to July Overview

  1. Mrs.B says:

    I’m curious about The Invisible Ones. I haven’t heard about it but if you gave it 5 stars then it must be something. Off to check it out in Amazon. And wow, you’ve read an impressive amount in just one month.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Normally I read a bit more, Mrs. B!🙂

      *The Invisible Ones* is by the same author as *The Tenderness of Wolves*, maybe you’ve heard of that book? That was a great favorite of mine a few years back. This new book is very good, too.

  2. harvee says:

    Some good books I’d like to find and read – Beautiful Ruins and The Invisible Ones,
    So many good books in July that I can’t choose! Several good mysteries included..

  3. You went on holiday and you still read soooo much? OMG!🙂 My favorite book has to be :a Delicatesse, read in French while in Paris, by this wonderful French writer, David Foenkinos🙂

  4. Again a good reading month, Judith! Hope August is the same or even better.

  5. Marie says:

    Looks like you got through a good bunch of books this month – several of these are ones I really want to read so I am looking forward to catching up on reading your reviews properly. I have seen several bloggers this month explaining that their summer holiday has meant they haven’t got through as many books. I don’t understand, my reading increases phenomenally when I’m on holiday! It’s all I do! Hope you had a lovely time in Spain🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I expected to read more during the holidays but I found sitting at the pool with a book just made me read very slowly. I was watching the people around me a lot, and I don’t know, just did very few pages per hour.🙂

  6. Johanna (theonlymrsJo) says:

    Ik heb Vissen voeren als een “vooruitboek” ontvangen. Het ligt klaar om gelezen te worden, maar een stapeltje bibiotheekboeken heeft nog even voorrang (in verband met de termijn dat alles weer ingeleverd moet worden). Ik vraag mij soms wel af hoe je het voor elkaar krijgt om zoveel te lezen ……..🙂 Werkt overigens wel heel inspirerend en motiverend!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Johanna, ik hoop dat je veel plezier beleeft aan Vissen voeren. Ik vond het mooi boek hopelijk jij ook.

      Blij dat ik je kan inspireren! Tja, hoe lees je zoveel? Gewoon elke dag een tijdje ervoor gaan zitten – gaat bij mij automatisch want lezen is (bijna) net zo belangrijk als eten voor mij.

  7. Rikki says:

    I am going to be off three weeks in August, we will see how many books I will get read. Not nearly as many, I would think,🙂

  8. Roxanne says:

    In July I have read the last 3 books of the Succubus/Georgina Kincaid series by Richelle Mead. Those were my favorites this month.

  9. Wow, well done on a great month of reading!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

